We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Sunday Brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Taj

Royal Taj
8874 McGaw Rd, Columbia, MD
410-381-1111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 222 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Loved the Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Their Sunday brunch is popular and we had to wait about 15 - 20 minutes but it was worth it. The host (probably the owner) was super friendly when seating us and stopped later to ensure we had a good meal. The buffet had a large number of options. I had Chicken Tikka Masala, which was excellent. I also enjoyed a seafood entree. My wife liked the vegetarian fare. Buffet included Naan.

Upon leaving, we noticed the restaurant next door had no customers while the Royal Taj had a line of people out the front door.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    137
    21
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great selection--great prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband, brother-in-law and I went to the Royal Taj last weekend for their lunch buffet, and we were pleasant surprised by the great variety of choices as well as the friendliness of the staff and the owner. The food was excellent, and the $12.95 price was so welcome in today's economy! The selections were continually replenished, and your empty plates were removed so you could go back and get more food without lots of used plates cluttering the table. The friendly employees asked if they could get you chai or another drink from the buffet so you didn't have to get up again. There is only one dessert, rice pudding, but it is very creamy and good, and hey, who has room for dessert anyway after eating all of that food?! Most of the selections were vegetarian, but there were three chicken dishes, chicken masala, tandoor chicken, and one other. The entire experience was very relaxed and pleasant, and the food was excellent. We'll be going there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Food, Amazing Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Royal Taj is the best place for Indian food in Columbia, hands down. From the moment you walk in until the time you leave (usually a few hours later because you are so comfortable....) you are completely taken care of. The food is always of the highest quality and the drinks are always refreshed. I'd highly recommend the tikka masala, lamb vindaloo, and the spicy dal. Be sure to get extra orders of naan because you'll need them! The owner will be there to greet you with a smile on his face, making sure you have the best dining experience there is to offer. Be sure to check out their weekend buffet as well... I'd highly recommend reservations as the weekend comes because it fills up quickly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Hot Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The place is usually packed. The tables are small. But hey...i am there for the food right? Well, the food is very delicious, seasoned well, and very good portions. If you try the buffet guess what...it comes with Hot chai!! What a treat. The desserts are not much to brag about...usually kheer, halva.

The staff is attentive, the table service is clean and water is chilled. We will visit again soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Another excellent dinner of fine Indian cuisine at the Royal Taj restaurant in Columbia, MD. My wife and I were greeted and seated immediately. We browsed the menu for a few minutes, enjoyed some delicious Papadam (thin pieces of crisp lentil bread with a variety of 3 sauces), and then placed our orders. My wife ordered Vegetable Korma, a combination of mildly spiced mixed vegetable curry cooked with yogurt sauce and spices. Perfectly prepared and delicious. I ordered Lamb Roganjosh, tender morsels of lamb [they almost melted in my mouth] with saffron and spices. The Roganjosh normally comes mild, but I ordered it with medium spices and it was excellent. Both dishes were served with Basmati rice. As always, the service was impeccable and the food delicious. This is a 5-star dining experience!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Taj also viewed

 

Been to Royal Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Taj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.