We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hampton Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Columbia

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8880 Columbia 100 Parkway, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Columbia
United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very good Hampton Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

It is not the newest Hampton Inn i've been in but it was very good. Easy to find off the exit. Stayed here for a lacrosse tournament for the weekend. Beds very comfortable. Pretty quiet. You can hear the trucks on the highway very very slightly in the morning. The air conditioning and heating system is pretty quiet. Breakfast area seems new and remodeled. Scrambled eggs could have been a little better, Saturday, a little dry, maybe mix in some cheese? Sunday, Western Omelet was not bad. Good rate if you book in advance and select the prepaid option. I think I paid $98 booking 4 months in prepaid advance. Then I looked back a couple months later and the same room was eighty-something dollars a night prepaid, i called hilton honors ; I could not change my reservation since it was an advance purchase and get the lower rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
It was wonderful to have you here and we are all so thrilled you enjoyed your stay and the service and accommodations. Please come back and see us again soon as we all look forward to your return. We hope you have a wonderful upcoming holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    36
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
64
20
14
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woodstown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Hotel is clean, breakfast is great, beds are comfortable- but the front desk staff is the best! All of them are courteous and helpful, especially Brian, from the evening shift, who kindly 'went the extra mile' by driving to a nearby shopping center to lead my friend to the hotel- her GPS had failed and she was hopelessly lost.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
What wonderful news to hear you loved your stay and we were able to assist you. Whether it's helping folks with directions or even driving out to guide them in, that's what we do here at Hampton Inn Columbia and it was our pleasure to do so. We love saying "Yes we Can" to our guests and we all wanted to thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you soon and welcome you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is located conveniently to I-95, Route 100 and Route 29. The staff is pleasant and helpful. There is an excellent restaurant nearby where you get a discount if you show your hotel card. It is also convenient to destinations in Columbia and Ellicott City.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
What a pleasure to have you here and many of our guests have conveyed your exact sentiment, they love our location and the convenience to most everything. Our entire staff is committed to making sure you have a fantastic stay and if there is anything we can ever assist you with when you visit us again, just let us know and it will be our pleasure to oblige. Come back and see us again soon and again, thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stay at Hampton Inns on a very regular basis and this one was very nice. The staff was extremely helpful and I even received a room upgrade when checking in. The rooms were in GREAT shape and checking out was quick. But the fitness center is just tiny! If you're used to working out on a regular basis, I would suggest seeing if the hotel has a deal with any local fitness centers as this only had 1 treadmill and 1 elliptical machine. I was only there 1 night and luckily beat everyone else to the fitness center in the morning so I was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel and thank for your comment regarding our great staff. We love taking care of our guests and want to make sure everyone has a wonderful stay. We actually do have a partnership with our local YMCA which is huge and has a vast array of equipment and it is free to all of our guests so please enjoy that amenity when you return. We so much appreciate you allowing us to be of service and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I found this hotel to be an excellent value. Neat, clean, attentive staff, and convenient location. If all Hampton Inn's were of this quality, I would always choose them to stay in. It is clear that the management cares about the quality of its product.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
What a true pleasure to have you choose our hotel and we were so thrilled to hear you found our hotel to be an excellent value. We are committed as a team to making sure we provide our guests with the best service and product available and we just loved having you here. We look forward to your return and welcoming you back to Hampton Inn Columbia. Have a wonderful upcoming weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Illinois
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a good hotel with one glaring problem and one breakdown in service.

First the good:
1. The room was small but comfortable. The bed was good but the pillow was so nice I almost wanted to take it home with me.
2. Maintenance and housekeeping ewas good.
3. AC ande heat is one of the older style beneath the window units but it wasn't so loud it kept you awake.

The not so good;
1. Breakfast was hot but it was most definately not one of the better breakfasts I have ever had in a Hampton. It made no pretense whatsoever of being anything other than scrambled eggs or gravy out of a can.
2. The room doors need something to keep them from slamming. There is virtually no seal and every time someone let one go as they exited a room the entire hallway heard it slam. Moreover, the lack of a seal means you hear everything going on in the hallways.
3. The last day we were there we left at 4 AM and the coffee was stone cold. The attendant took a while to come to the desk when I called out and it appeared he had been sound asleep. No monitoring of the desk is a security issue beyond the fact there was no fresh coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We certainly appreciate you staying with us and it was just a priviledge to have you here. I am so glad you found the room comfortable and loved the pillows. I also wanted to let you know you can actually order those items through the Hampton Home Colleciton by calling 1-888-552-6442. I apologize the coffee was cold and that is not typical of our hotel as we make fresh coffee every four hours for the guest to enjoy. We all so much appreciate your feedback as this affords us the opprotunity to continually strive to provide the most ultimate service and best product available to our guests. We look forward to your return and welcoming you back to Hampton Inn Columbia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This weeks travels included A Tale of Two Hampton Inns. The one in Nashville - well, it kind of sucked. This location, on the other hand, was most definitely above average.

Rooms: mine was very large, with a separate alcove for a king bed, a good sized work area (desk chair was terrible, tho) and a nice couch/loveseat for relaxing. My bathroom was also good sized with an enormous Jacuzzi style tub, though the jets and tub part had been disabled and it was really just a giant shower stall. Everything was clean and smelled fresh.

Amenities: free wifi (worked well), a postage stamp sized pool that is right off the lobby and viewable from the breakfast room so everyone can see you doing laps while eating their oatmeal, free breakfast and a workout room.

Staff: really friendly. The guys who checked us in upon a late arrival hooked us up with good recommendations for delivery and some free bottled waters.

Location: best for business travelers or those with a car. There isn't much within walking distance other than a Bob Evans and maybe a Chick-Fil-A. Easy access to the highway though.

Sleep Quality: Great! The air con was not overly noisy and despite being close to a highway I really didn't hear road noise.

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and it was just our privilege to have you here at Hampton Columbia. We are all so delighted you found the hotel clean, quiet and friendly as we strive daily to make sure all of our guests feel at home and are provided with clean and comfortable accommodations so they can relax and enjoy their stay. Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon. We love having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia

Address: 8880 Columbia 100 Parkway, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Columbia
#3 Business Hotel in Columbia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.