We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn Columbia Md” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Columbia to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Columbia
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8880 Columbia 100 Parkway, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
“Hampton Inn Columbia Md”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is located conveniently to I-95, Route 100 and Route 29. The staff is pleasant and helpful. There is an excellent restaurant nearby where you get a discount if you show your hotel card. It is also convenient to destinations in Columbia and Ellicott City.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
What a pleasure to have you here and many of our guests have conveyed your exact sentiment, they love our location and the convenience to most everything. Our entire staff is committed to making sure you have a fantastic stay and if there is anything we can ever assist you with when you visit us again, just let us know and it will be our pleasure to oblige. Come back and see us again soon and again, thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    44
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
78
26
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stay at Hampton Inns on a very regular basis and this one was very nice. The staff was extremely helpful and I even received a room upgrade when checking in. The rooms were in GREAT shape and checking out was quick. But the fitness center is just tiny! If you're used to working out on a regular basis, I would suggest seeing if the hotel has a deal with any local fitness centers as this only had 1 treadmill and 1 elliptical machine. I was only there 1 night and luckily beat everyone else to the fitness center in the morning so I was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel and thank for your comment regarding our great staff. We love taking care of our guests and want to make sure everyone has a wonderful stay. We actually do have a partnership with our local YMCA which is huge and has a vast array of equipment and it is free to all of our guests so please enjoy that amenity when you return. We so much appreciate you allowing us to be of service and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I found this hotel to be an excellent value. Neat, clean, attentive staff, and convenient location. If all Hampton Inn's were of this quality, I would always choose them to stay in. It is clear that the management cares about the quality of its product.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
What a true pleasure to have you choose our hotel and we were so thrilled to hear you found our hotel to be an excellent value. We are committed as a team to making sure we provide our guests with the best service and product available and we just loved having you here. We look forward to your return and welcoming you back to Hampton Inn Columbia. Have a wonderful upcoming weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Illinois
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a good hotel with one glaring problem and one breakdown in service.

First the good:
1. The room was small but comfortable. The bed was good but the pillow was so nice I almost wanted to take it home with me.
2. Maintenance and housekeeping ewas good.
3. AC ande heat is one of the older style beneath the window units but it wasn't so loud it kept you awake.

The not so good;
1. Breakfast was hot but it was most definately not one of the better breakfasts I have ever had in a Hampton. It made no pretense whatsoever of being anything other than scrambled eggs or gravy out of a can.
2. The room doors need something to keep them from slamming. There is virtually no seal and every time someone let one go as they exited a room the entire hallway heard it slam. Moreover, the lack of a seal means you hear everything going on in the hallways.
3. The last day we were there we left at 4 AM and the coffee was stone cold. The attendant took a while to come to the desk when I called out and it appeared he had been sound asleep. No monitoring of the desk is a security issue beyond the fact there was no fresh coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We certainly appreciate you staying with us and it was just a priviledge to have you here. I am so glad you found the room comfortable and loved the pillows. I also wanted to let you know you can actually order those items through the Hampton Home Colleciton by calling 1-888-552-6442. I apologize the coffee was cold and that is not typical of our hotel as we make fresh coffee every four hours for the guest to enjoy. We all so much appreciate your feedback as this affords us the opprotunity to continually strive to provide the most ultimate service and best product available to our guests. We look forward to your return and welcoming you back to Hampton Inn Columbia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This weeks travels included A Tale of Two Hampton Inns. The one in Nashville - well, it kind of sucked. This location, on the other hand, was most definitely above average.

Rooms: mine was very large, with a separate alcove for a king bed, a good sized work area (desk chair was terrible, tho) and a nice couch/loveseat for relaxing. My bathroom was also good sized with an enormous Jacuzzi style tub, though the jets and tub part had been disabled and it was really just a giant shower stall. Everything was clean and smelled fresh.

Amenities: free wifi (worked well), a postage stamp sized pool that is right off the lobby and viewable from the breakfast room so everyone can see you doing laps while eating their oatmeal, free breakfast and a workout room.

Staff: really friendly. The guys who checked us in upon a late arrival hooked us up with good recommendations for delivery and some free bottled waters.

Location: best for business travelers or those with a car. There isn't much within walking distance other than a Bob Evans and maybe a Chick-Fil-A. Easy access to the highway though.

Sleep Quality: Great! The air con was not overly noisy and despite being close to a highway I really didn't hear road noise.

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and it was just our privilege to have you here at Hampton Columbia. We are all so delighted you found the hotel clean, quiet and friendly as we strive daily to make sure all of our guests feel at home and are provided with clean and comfortable accommodations so they can relax and enjoy their stay. Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon. We love having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I travel solo quite a bit and this Hampton was easy to find, very clean and comfy. The room was spacious including a full length mirror and nice size bathroom.Staff was really nice and took good care of me. Hot breakfast items and fruits were a plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
What a pleasure to have you choose our hotel and it was so nice to hear you found everything comfortable and pleasing. We strive everyday to make sure our guests have a wonderful stay and we all want to say Thank You and please come back and see us again soon. We so much appreciate you being here and allowing us the opportunity to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights while visiting family. The hotel is well located for access to BWI, Baltimore and surrounding areas. The room had an efficient and quiet A/C. Breakfast was the usual Hampton Inn fare- I would like to see gluten free options, as well as soy or almond milk as alternatives to cow's milk. Brian at the front desk was friendly and helpful at check in. I plan to stay at this hotel in the future when visiting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and allowing us to be of service. It was certainly our pleasure and I am so thrilled to hear we were able to provide everything you needed. I am so glad you found everything quick and convenienct and the location here is just one of the best. Please come back and see us again soon and if there is anything we can ever assist you with, just let us know and it will be our pleasure to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia

Address: 8880 Columbia 100 Parkway, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Columbia
#3 Business Hotel in Columbia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.