We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Columbia to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Columbia
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8880 Columbia 100 Parkway, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
A TripAdvisor Member
“Revue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Good hotel for family get togethers. Excellent gathering space in breakfast area was great for family that visited during our stay. Pool caused our kids lots of itching and a rash with red dots. Great parking right out front. No running around with stickers and stuff. Breakfast was tops! Close to highways. Close to other eating places and gas station. Also, supermarket nearby was good and having a refrigerator and microwave. No on demand movies was a bummer for the kids tho!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to serve you and please come back and see us again soon! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and found everything convenient and close. We loved that you and your family were able to gather together and enjoy your time together in our breakfast area so when you return, please come back and see us again soon. There are many wonderful events in the Columbia and Ellicott City area so if you get a chance, log into www.visithowardcounty.com and check all the exciting events scheduled for the remainder of the year. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Hampton Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    44
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
78
26
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Everytime we travel to Columbia, MD to visit family, we ALWAYS stay at the Hampton Inn and have always been satisfied. This visit was no different. Check-in staff was extremely friendly and we were surprised to be handed four bottles of water to take up to our room. They offered us milk for our son and even some chocolate as a late-night dessert. Yummy! Complimentary breakfast was excellent and we definitely felt like we got more than our money's worth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
It is so great to hear you love Hampton Inn and we definitely look forward to your next visit. We are all so delighted you had a great stay and loved the chocolate we provided for your late night desert. We love surprising our guests with Unexpected Delights and we will definitely have another surprise for you the next time you visit us again. Please come back and see us again very soon. You are much appreciated here at Hampton Inn Columiba. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed there for only one night. This was a clean hotel with nice and friendly staff. Value is great. Breakfast is ok but do not expect whole lot, it was still good because you don't have to get out and look for breakfast. Overall very nice experience. 24 hour coffee/tea service was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hi Steve S:

It was wonderful to have you here and look forward to you visiting us again soon! We are delighted you enjoyed the coffee and tea bar and had a great stay at our hotel! We hope you come back and see us again soon as we all look forward to welcoming you back to Hampton Columbia! Myself and the entire staff wanted to shout out a BIG THANK YOU for choosing our hotel and let you know you are much appreciated here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milltown, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Staying at this Hampton Inn was an especially pleasant experience due to both the wonderful staff and the very comfortable and clean accommodations. The extra little things that the staff did showed that they truly care about their clients. The wonderful customer service here added a nice plus to our visit to Maryland. My wife and I would recommend this Hampton Inn to all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
It was certainly our pleasure to have you here and the entire staff wanted to say a BIG THANK you for choosing our hotel. We are all so delighted you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you come back and see us again soon when you are in the area. If there is anything we can ever do to enhance your stay even more when you return, just let us know. We are here to serve! Have a wonderful weekend and we all look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I normally do not write these reviews , but in all of my travels throught out the Northeast that i do .The Hampton Inn at 8880 columbia 100 parkway has the most profesional all around people .To name just 2 off hand (Joe chief engineer as well as Usamesh front desk)
The rooms have been neat and clean.This hotel is in a very central but quite location which gives a feel of home

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hi Jim S:

It was wonderful to have you stay with us and the entire staff wanted to say a BiG THANK you for choosing our hotel. Joseph and Usamah wanted me to convey to you they were so glad they could help in making you feel at home while you were here! We know traveling is not easy sometimes and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we will always strive to make Hampton Inn Columbia your home away from home the next time you visit us again. Please come back and see us again soon as we all look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The place was great! Spotless and very customer service oriented. Free breakfast was outstanding !!! Great pool (handicap accessible) and water was nice and warm. Well done center with TV. They gave us a free upgrade to a suite.

Room Tip: Ask for: Away from elevator and ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello Eyelikeibuy:

It was great to hear from you and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and you encountered a friendly and accommodating staff. We know a warm heated pool and hot breakfast is important to our guests and I am so glad you enjoyed both! That's what we work hard for every day and we love to hear when our guests love our hotel and the service we provide. We all here at Hampton Columbia want to say a big THANK YOU for staying with us and please come back and see us again soon! You are much apprecaited here and all of us look forward to welcoming you back to Hampton Inn Columbia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a very good experience here. This hotel is in a newer suburban setting with office buildings and condo and town homes in the direct vicinity. The grounds were nice and kept free of litter as we drove in and parked. Check in was easy and courteous.
We walked into the room and it was nicely furnished. We had a king sized bed with nightstands on each side. There was a sticky note posted on the headboard which read something to the effect that the sheets and comforter were clean for our arrival. The room was nicely decorated. Amenities included a coffee pot, refrigerator and microwave. It also had a 3 cushioned full couch which could be turned into a sleeper bed with a large comfortable foot/sitting stool in front of it in lieu of a coffee table. An LG flat screen (analog) was fairly large and had a good picture and sound.There was a desk and chair. The carpet seemed nice and up to date. The bathroom was nice as well. It had the rounded shower pole for more room and no ugly caulk around the shower/bath tub combo. The sink area was the open vanity type with a framed mirror. It was attractive and the bath overall was clean. They provided ample towels, washcloths and hand towels.
We only encountered a few employees. The desk clerks were nice and polite. The lady taking care of the breakfast room was nice, humorous and courteous as well.
The hotel provides free WiFi and it was easy enough to get on-line through their internet service.
The breakfast was complimentary for all guests staying there and they had a pleasant dining room with a myriad of sitting to eat options.They offered an extensive breakfast buffet which was slightly better than most and usually these are very nice. My partner took exception to the scrambled eggs which I was told were rubbery. I didn't have them so that is hearsay. I did have the potatoes and bacon which I thought were good. They had cut up fruit salad in a huge bowl along with fresh apples, oranges and bananas by themselves in bowls throughout the dining room and buffet table. There were cold cereals along with warm ones, 2% milk and fat free, and a plethora of breakfast breads you could toast and bakery items. I usually stay away from pancakes and waffles which you have to make in a somewhat automatic machine. They didn't offer pancakes here, but I saw many people with the waffles and they were large and looked good. Two kinds of yogurt were being kept cool in a bowl with ice. There were three juices and I think 4 different coffees. The coffee service is provided all day long. In addition to the coffees there was hot chocolate and teas as well. .
The only trouble we encountered were some noisy and boisterous guests in the hallway who didn't seem to want to close their door, but let it slam shut. We assumed these were several rooms/guests who were meeting outside of their rooms at the same time to leave the hotel. This was around 5-6PM and we were trying to nap. This seemed to be the only time we heard other guests outside of our room. Maybe the hotel needs to put some rubber stoppers along the door to "catch" it.
When we checked in the desk advised us of a grill restaurant within walking distance which turned out very well for us. (The Greystone Grill) We were told we could get 15% off by showing our hotel key card, and we did and got the 15% off of our food/bar bill. This isn't a "grill" like a diner but a more upscale restaurant. That's another review!
So the Hampton Inn Columbia was a very nice stay for us overall and we would stay there again if the opportunity arose.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators and vending machines which are in open hallways or alcoves. The desk actuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear GreenWrangler:

It was wonderful to have you here and we are all so delighted you enjoyed your stay! I am so glad you found the accommodations pleasing and the staff friendly and courteous. The Grey Stone Grill is a great place to dine and very convenient as well so it was great to hear you had a good meal and with a discount as well! Please come back and see us again soon. If there is anything we can ever assist you with to enhance your stay even more, just let us know. We are here to serve! You are much appreciated here at Hampton Columbia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia

Address: 8880 Columbia 100 Parkway, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Columbia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#3 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.