We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful arena and surrounding park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Merriweather Post Pavilion

Merriweather Post Pavilion
10475 Little Patuxent Parkway, Columbia, MD 21044-3503
(410) 715-5550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 attractions in Columbia
Type: Concerts, Performances
Attraction Details
Hopewell, Virginia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful arena and surrounding park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

PROS>, good sound (imagine dragons),lots of trees, nice park grounds, VERY friendly and helpful staff, good parking system thats free

CONS> stupid concession prices (should almost be illegal), cheapest food product we could find was a 7$ hot dog, gimme a break... that is just plain gouging and if they truly care about their venue and fans they would adjust down a notch.

HP

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    52
    18
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Totally Bias”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I went to this venue to see one of my favorite bands, so this will be a totally bias review. There is not a bad seat in the entire venue. I had a lawn ticket and had probably more fun than the pavilion people. The quality of the sound again was outstanding. If you get an opportunity to check it out, I highly recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, NH
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Vigin Mobile Freefest 2013 Security Sucked”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Security sucks here. My kids have been to 4 Music Fests this summer and this security was the worst. Lazy. After getting there early to see Vampire Weekend and I mean early. They were only allowed to see the first act at that stage and then made to clear the floor for the next performers. The crowds were rough. We were told that hey man its a music fest what do you expect. People were hurting my daughter so bad she couldn't breath and the security just looked at her like it was nothing. She was shoved up against the rails so much her ribs are bruised and her chest is totally black and blue. Never Again. She was really afraid she was going be crushed. Its supposed to be fun but not out of control. Not sure what the deal is because the night before Imagine Dragons was great. I think they sold way to many tickets for the "FreeFest" that wasn't free at all. One more thing if you left to use a bathroom you couldn't go back in.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome place for a concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We sat in the Pavilion for Imagine Dragons. The show was spectacular. There are tons of concessions to choose from but are pricy. $5.50 for a soda, $12 for a 24 oz. Corona, $11 for a 24 oz. Bud Light Lime, $10 for a 16 oz. craft brew and smallish bag of kettle corn $7.00. Plenty of restrooms. Would definitely go back for another concert.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“getting better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I've been attending events at Merriweather since 1987 and in the last several years, I've noticed a significant decline in the facility overall ... until last night. There have been some upgrades! Some of the toilets have automatic flushers, some sinks now have automatic sensors as well. What I didn't like was the price hike from last year. A frozen margarita was $8 last year & $14 last night at the Imagine Dragons concert. Hotdogs were $8 and a bottle of water is still $4. A nice addition was the Scoops4u ice cream/sorbet food truck.

It would be nice if there was a way to provide dedicated paths across the lawn so that you can find your way back to your blanket in the dark. The paths wouldn't need to be overly large but one 12 inch path down the middle of the lawn and three off to each side that are about 6 inches wide.

Get there early if you want lawn seating. My daughter and I took Merriweather up on The Gatecrasher event and within 5 minutes of the interior gate opening allowing guests onto the lawn, the first 10 yards of the lawn was completely full.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merriweather Post Pavilion also viewed

 

Been to Merriweather Post Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merriweather Post Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Merriweather Post Pavilion to your Saves list