We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for a show at Merriweather Post” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta ES Suites Columbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta ES Suites Columbia to your Saves list
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8844 Columbia 100 Parkway, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Wheeling, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for a show at Merriweather Post”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Close to Merriweather Post Pavilion. Easy hotel to get to from the highway. They let me check in at noon without any issues. The deluxe continental breakfast was outstanding. Rooms were spacious and clean. It was a little loud staying on the ground floor because you could hear people upstairs. I didn't have an alarm clock in my room but I wondering if someone may have taken it or it was broken and removed. I didn't ask. The full size refrigerator and kitchen was a nice feature.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGreen8844, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Columbia, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank your for your time and rewiew of our Hotel. I hope you enjoyed the concert at Merriweather Post. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Mbelford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while seeing shows at Merriweather Post Pavillion and chose it strictly due to its proximity to the venue. We were pleasantly surprised to find this was a lovely hotel. First off , they are per friendly and thoughtfully provide bags for dogs. The next best aspects were the pool and free hot breakfast. They put a calendar of social events for people who stay long term (it's near a lot of corporate parks so I assume a lot of people stay here before finding an apartment). The room is big and the kitchen is well stocked (including salt and pepper which is a nice touch). All in all a lovely experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGreen8844, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Columbia, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hotel. We are happy that you were very pleased with your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you might be in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My daughter and I stayed her for another softball tournment. Conveniently located right of Rt. 100. Hotel was clean and inviting. The lobby was small and could get crowded around check-in time. Breakfast area and sitting area was very nice and fairly spacious. The pool area was very nice. Outdoor pool was great for the kids. Parents could sit and relax and have a few drinks. They had a very nice gazebo with two gas grills for guests to use. Nice basketball court for the kids. The hallways were fairly warm, as was the breakfast area. Breakfast was good and options varied each day. Our room was great. Two bedroom suite. One with two full beds and one with a Queen bed. There was also a sleeper sofa in the living room area. Each bedroom had it's own seperate bathroom. Kitchenette was nice, but no pots or pans to use and no silverware. Turn the ice machine on in the fridge as soon as you get there since the hotel does not have ice machines. Very comfortable beds. My daughter said she could live there as an apartment. I would definitely stay again. Friends stayed in another room. They got the room right next to the elevator. They did not enjoy their experience as much since they heard the elevator all night long.

Room Tip: Pull in front to check-in and unload your luggage. Once you get settled in your room park your car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGreen8844, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Columbia, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for yor time and review of the Sonesta ES Suites Columbia. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay while here for the softball tournament. I look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is nice, clean, and the room was more than I expected. They had complimentary breakfast that was amazing cooked with a huge variety of options. Everyone on staff was nice and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone because of its great service!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, but the room with a living room kitchen and then two separate bedrooms that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErrickR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGreen8844, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Columbia, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thanks for your time reviewing the Sonesta ES Suites Columbia. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your returning to the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were pleasantly surprise, the staff is professional and ready to help. The rooms are spacious and clean, the breakfast is amazing, it was a good deal for the price we paid. Definetely we go back there again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGreen8844, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Columbia, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Sonesta ES Suites Columbia. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This place is fantastic. We stayed here on our visit to Baltimore because the rooms were much cheaper than staying downtown. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite and it was perfect. We also enjoyed the free breakfast in the morning, which included waffles. The pool was nice and the kids also enjoyed using the basketball court.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OPELorain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Older hotel with very friendly, pleasant staff at front desk, evening reception and breakfast. Place is off the Main Road in somewhat of an Industrial/Office Building area. My stay was quiet and pleasant. An approximate 10 minute walk to a Shopping Center with Giant Supermarket, Baskin Robbins, Bakery, Dunkin Donuts and Convenience store. Parking is plentiful around the back of the hotel. Pool is small and closes at 9pm. Pool towels (mostly worn) are available in storage bin on side of pool. Oops! I almost forgot they DO allow smoking in the pool area. SOO my family and I solved that issue by moving to the other end from the smokers. Neither checked out nor used the gym facilities. Equipment for basketball and tennis are available at front desk. The "Sport area" appears to serve as a court for both sports(at least the time I was there). Evening reception offers beer, wine and a light dinner served on Tues thru Thurs (as many Suite type hotels do); with menu changing daily. Access to coffee and tea in common area most of the day/night. Ample selection of creamers, sweeteners etc. Room was older (needed to lift door to close) but clean, with comfortable and ample bedding for pullout bed and towels. Bathroom was also clean and toiletries were in larger sizes than most hotels offer. You actually had enough shampoo and conditioner to effectively "wash" your hair. Many television channels to choose from as: HBO, Discovery, Cartoon Network, Disney, Nickelodeon (if you travel with kids). The air conditioner in my 1 bedroom suite could not be adjusted and blew directly onto the bed (very cold). Then it would turn off and the room would become hot. That is the only real complaint I had. Bought Stay through online deal, and it was well worth it. Wish I was able to purchase another deal; but only allowed one. Family friendly setting. In any event; I would stay at the Sonesta ES Suites again........wonderful staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccm1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#2 of 12 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
4.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Columbia

Address: 8844 Columbia 100 Parkway, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#7 Family Hotel in Columbia
#7 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Sonesta ES Suites Columbia near Baltimore is your home away from home. Conveniently located within the Washington, DC / Baltimore corridor, our all new Sonesta ES Suites Columbia is located within a residential area with easy access to Interstate I95 and I70 and Gateway Business Park home to several major business such as Johns Hopkins APL, Sun Microsystems, Magellan Health, MICROS, Sears Logistic, Peak Technologies, Corvis, SAIC, and Hitachi Data Systems. The hotel is convenient to Baltimore Orioles baseball, Baltimore Ravens football, FedEx Field home to the Washington Redskins, the Inner Harbor, historic Annapolis, the U.S. Naval Academy, Reginald F. Lewis Museum of African American History & Culture, Washington, DC, the Smithsonian Museums. The Sonesta ES Suites Columbia offers a choice of three spacious suite accommodations. Our guests enjoy a complimentary breakfast buffet unwind at end of their day with our evening receptions Tuesday to Thursday. We are a pet friendly hotel. Pet fee applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Baltimore Columbia Hotel Columbia
Staybridge Suites Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing