We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice accommodations in a good location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta ES Suites Columbia

Save Saved
You added Sonesta ES Suites Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8844 Columbia 100 Parkway, Columbia, MD 21045   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Salina, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice accommodations in a good location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had reserved a queen studio and were upgraded to a two-bedroom suite. It was wonderful. The suite was very clean, comfortable and very attractively appointed. The hotel was quiet and the staff was very professional. Would very definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    42
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
39
21
12
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel is in a great location for Columbia, MD. However, the furniture, carpet and beds need to be replaced due to just general wear and tear.
Nice size living room and kitchenette. The breakfast served each morning was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

we had a wonderful stay here! loved the hotel, the staff couldn't have been nicer and breakfast was delicious!! it was a very convenient location to reach. when we checked in - fairly late on a saturday evening - the front desk staff was extremely friendly - very funny ladies covering the desk that evening! i would definitely recommend this hotel to others!! we didn't stay long, but throughly enjoyed our visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed at the Sonesta ES Suites in Columbia MD after using Hotwire and got a rate under $100. I never heard of this place but it is a former Staybridge Suite Hotel. Room was clean, bed comfortable, shower worked great. Also the price included free hot breakfast which was good and free wifi Internet . Only gripe was older style tube TV, no flat screen in my room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed here for several weeks recently. Some of the amenities were good (free laundry, fitness center, in-room kitchenette, complimentary USA today), but there were too many downsides of this hotel to consider staying again. Now for the down-sides:

Breakfast. There were a lot of choices, but most tasted bland and watered down, especially the eggs. Cheese slices were put out nearly daily, but they sat out in the open and looked like the same stale slices each day. There was the option of fresh waffles, but the batter made them bland and inedible. The only upside amongst the fresh items was the muffins and cinnamon rolls, but unfortunately I only saw the cinnamon rolls once in my three weeks.

Housekeeping. Usually we'd take the "do not disturb" sign off the door around 9am, but there were many days that no one came to clean the room. After about a week without the sheets being changed, it took a conversation with the housekeeper and two separate phone calls to the front desk to get the sheets changed. Far too much effort for a basic service.

Construction. There was construction and loud tour buses that lined up right outside our windows throughout our stay, waking us up some mornings by 7am. The hotel did nothing to inform us of the work, or try to minimize the disruption.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, ontario
Top Contributor
412 reviews 412 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Have been coming to this hotel for years but the change in ownership has not seen any recent upgrades. The only thing that I have seen is the painting of the exterior and one of the painters told me that the owners of this property told them not use up of the line good paint. I just hope that this doesn't apply when the new manaagement manage to do other upgrades as they need to be addressed. Other this the above stated concerns the place is great from their morning breakfast, hotel staff and fully equiped rooms for long term stays.

I would have given an excellent rating but from what one of the painters told me I have some concerns on the attitude of the new owners. Just hope they aren't trying to save a few penniees here and there thus effecting the good reputation of this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

There was roof construction blocking about 25% of the already severely limited parking. The rooms clearly used to be smoking rooms as the smell still lingers. The second floor hallways also constantly had a very weird smell, enhanced by the lack of air conditioning in the halls.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Columbia

Address: 8844 Columbia 100 Parkway, Columbia, MD 21045
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Columbia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta ES Suites Columbia near Baltimore is your home away from home. Conveniently located within the Washington, DC / Baltimore corridor, our Sonesta ES Suites Columbia is located within a residential area with easy access to Interstate I95 and I70 and Gateway Business Park home to several major business such as Johns Hopkins APL, Sun Microsystems, Magellan Health, MICROS, Sears Logistic, Peak Technologies, Corvis, SAIC, and Hitachi Data Systems. The hotel is convenient to Baltimore Orioles baseball, Baltimore Ravens football, FedEx Field home to the Washington Redskins, the Inner Harbor, historic Annapolis, the U.S. Naval Academy, Reginald F. Lewis Museum of African American History & Culture, Washington, DC, the Smithsonian Museums. The Sonesta ES Suites Columbia offers a choice of three spacious suite accommodations. Our guests enjoy a complimentary breakfast buffet unwind at end of their day with our evening receptions Tuesday to Thursday. We are a pet friendly hotel. Pet fee applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Baltimore Columbia Hotel Columbia
Staybridge Suites Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta ES Suites Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.