We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican Food in an Unlikely Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azul 17

Azul 17
9400 Snowden River Parkway, Suite 127, Columbia Market Place, Columbia, MD 21045
410.309.9717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 229 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food in an Unlikely Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Located in an unpretentious strip shopping mall, our expectations upon entry weren't particularly high. But the food was good and the service outstanding. I plan to go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    38
    18
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great tequila bar- we chose the prickly pear infusion. Bartender was very knowledgeable about the menu, service fast. Appeared to be kitchen guys bringing the food out. Tableside Guacamole was the best ever. Entrees were imaginative and similar to food we had while in Mexico City. I chose the flank steak- delicious and perfectly cooked. Served on a bed of very tender cactus. The side dish was extremely hot- I found myself gravitating to the blander parts of the meal to take the edge off. Rich and delicious flan for dessert

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Still working out the kinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

It was 10 minutes after we were sat by the hostess that a server came to our table to tell us that another server would be right with us. After taking our drink order, drinks were another 10 minutes behind. So, 20+ minutes to get a bottled beer.

The guacamole was prepared table side and was good. The fish tacos were fair and fajitas were good. Overall the food was OK, the service just needs to speed up. They had lots of staff but everyone appeared as if they were in the weeds. Twice I saw two staff members break out into a run in the restaurant. Sorry to say, we probably won't be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Upscale Mexican, GREAT atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

From the Tequila bar to the ridiculously good guacomole made tableside, this is not anywhere close to your typical Mexican-American restaurant. The menu is innovative, and we have loved everything we've tried there. The Margaritas are teh best I've ever had, hands down. Clearly, this will be a regular stop for us. The only caveat I would put on this is that if you are going to bring your kids, they had better be open minded about new foods and not picky eaters.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“THE Best margaritas in Maryland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food is very good, but the true find is the bar. If you go there, order the golden margarita with Avion Reposado tequila, it will blow you away. And no, it ain't cheap! The care in which they prep each day for the drinks, well, it is something you must ask the bartenders about to hear the real deal. That alone is "sexy" and will make your mouth water.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azul 17 also viewed

 

Been to Azul 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azul 17, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.