We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still working out the kinks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Azul 17

Azul 17
9400 Snowden River Parkway, Suite 127, Columbia Market Place, Columbia, MD 21045
410.309.9717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 224 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Still working out the kinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

It was 10 minutes after we were sat by the hostess that a server came to our table to tell us that another server would be right with us. After taking our drink order, drinks were another 10 minutes behind. So, 20+ minutes to get a bottled beer.

The guacamole was prepared table side and was good. The fish tacos were fair and fajitas were good. Overall the food was OK, the service just needs to speed up. They had lots of staff but everyone appeared as if they were in the weeds. Twice I saw two staff members break out into a run in the restaurant. Sorry to say, we probably won't be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    33
    18
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Upscale Mexican, GREAT atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

From the Tequila bar to the ridiculously good guacomole made tableside, this is not anywhere close to your typical Mexican-American restaurant. The menu is innovative, and we have loved everything we've tried there. The Margaritas are teh best I've ever had, hands down. Clearly, this will be a regular stop for us. The only caveat I would put on this is that if you are going to bring your kids, they had better be open minded about new foods and not picky eaters.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“THE Best margaritas in Maryland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food is very good, but the true find is the bar. If you go there, order the golden margarita with Avion Reposado tequila, it will blow you away. And no, it ain't cheap! The care in which they prep each day for the drinks, well, it is something you must ask the bartenders about to hear the real deal. That alone is "sexy" and will make your mouth water.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cool bar & decor, authentic margaritas, food less of an impact”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Love Azul 17 as a bar. Margaritas are made traditionally with no cheap & nasty pre mix. Wide range on offer & delicious.

Cool decor, friendly service & nice atmosphere. Popular so can get v busy.

Guacamole appetiser made at your table = divine- a must eat!
Unfortunately entrees not hugely impressed us.

Best for drinks & appetisers

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent tequilas, food sounded more exciting than it was”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We sat in the bar once before and tried some tequila flights and appetizers, which was quite nice. This time we tried dinner in the dining room. The decor is ok, but uninspired. It would be better if it reflected the upscale menus.

The margaritas here are lovely, with real ingredients and none of that hideous sweet and sour syrup most places use. The Classico will be as good as you want it to be (they'll let you select your choice of tequila and orange liquor with or without salt rim). The La Diabla was stellar: tangy instead of sweet, with a nice heat that dissipated quickly. We also tried the serrano chile one whose name escapes me (something with an R), which had a "greener" flavor and more lingering heat. It was excellent but eclipsed by La Diabla.

Table-side guacamole roja (chipotle adding the color) was non-red, non-spicy at first, but was promptly remedied. The smoked chile adds a deeper flavor and some heat but no need to fear burning out your tastebuds if you ask fore medium. Hubby had tacos al pastor. I had enchiladas norteñas. Both were tasty, filling, and authentic (go elsewhere for overstuffed tortillas with lots of melted cheese and sauce).

The menu leans toward Mexican, rather than chain restaurant Tex-Mex. But I wasn't wowed by the menu and wanted to see some more exciting choices. Entrees were well prepared and large enough that we both took some home, but feel too high for the strip-mall decor. However, as others have said, keep your eyes open for frequent groupon deals which make it a very good value.

Food is good but I rarely dine out in Columbia, so I am unlikely to return before hitting other excellent restaurants (Akbar offers really good Indian a few doors away) and the Tex-Mex/Mexican/Cuban/Peruvian options at Sol Azteca in Olney are more convenient to my home/commute.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azul 17 also viewed

 

Been to Azul 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azul 17, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.