We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the pho!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Dat Thanh

Pho Dat Thanh
9400 Snowden River Pkwy, Ste 125, Columbia, MD 21045-5332
410-381-3839
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 203 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Love the pho!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

My favorite for pho....lots of veggies, good base stock, wide variety of meats.....flavor that with some extra "chicken" red sauce and it's enough for dinner and lunch the next day. Other good choices: chicken salad, summer rolls, spring rolls, and dinner special. We do carryout from here a LOT!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    25
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DAYTON
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Viet food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I love Vietnamese food because it's fresh,simple, filling and low fat. You can't go wrong here if you want healthy, reasonably priced, tasty food with a bottle of Sriracha sauce on your table.
Service was fine. Decor is very very basic. Don't go if your looking for upscale romantic dinner out! This place is great if you want a quick bite for lunch, or low key dinner with company cause you don't feel like cooking.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
701 reviews 701 reviews
490 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“Good non-pho food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I've been here once, stopping by on the way to D.C., but I probably need to come back and try Pho Dat Thanh's pho noodles and/or vermicelli bowls to yield a complete review.

It's funny that I came here with three other friends and none of us ordered the typical Vietnamese staples. Instead, we opted for sharing a couple of dishes that were not necessarily straight-up Vietnamese per say. They looked and tasted more like Chinese. But in that sense, kudos to Pho Dat Thanh for having a massive and diverse menu. I daresay it's bigger than most Vietnamese restaurants.

That being said, the pork pot and crispy beef dishes were memorable. Though the portions were somewhat small, they tasted good. Lunch on a Saturday is pretty busy. As such service was slower than we'd have hoped for. But busyness is a good sign. I'll definitely need to stop by again for some pho.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect example of really poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I used to go to this restaraunt 2 to 3 times per week. I'd take my family and friens there, clients, and business partners as well. I brought lots of business to this place and have experienced thr decline in service. I went there this past Friday and walked in to find six people in the place and 5 women ignoring them. I waited to be seated for several minutes until yhe bus boy asked them to seat me. The treatment was insulting to the the bus boy apologized to me. These five women never said a word to me and I mean not a word like, "Can I take your order?" My daughter lives out of state and the last time she came home, she wanted to eat here. She is a chef with a degree from the Culinary Institue of America and her dining experience was so bad that she said she doesn't want to reward their poor service with more business.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia MD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I really like Vietnamese and Pho Dat Thanh is always good. I wanted a light dinner so went for my frequent lunch dish - the Chicken Salad (listed with appetizers). It is a large plate of cabbage, onions and shredded chicken in a very light sauce similar to fish sauce - no mayo in this one. The soup we shared was very good as well.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Dat Thanh also viewed

 

Been to Pho Dat Thanh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Dat Thanh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.