We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sandwiches In Columbia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bon Fresco

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bon Fresco
6945 Oakland Mills Road, Columbia, MD
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 220 restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Description: twitter: @bonfresco
Restaurant details
Description: twitter: @bonfresco
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Sandwiches In Columbia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I'm a native of Columbia and I can't believe I hadn't heard about this place until recently. This is absolutely the best place to get a quick sandwich in all of Columbia. The ingredients are all fresh, sandwiches are inventive, original, and delicious, and prices are very reasonable. Most sandwiches come on ciabatta bread which they bake fresh on site, it's crunchy on the outside and soft in the middle. I try to force myself to try different sandwiches but I keep going back to the London Broil, which is the best roast beef sandwich I've ever had anywhere. The brownies are equally impressive. They also make challah bread in time for the weekend, which is some of the best I've ever had. This is a family owned place, the staff is friendly, and in the 2 years or so I've been going here I always see the same employees, which I feel speaks well for a restaurant. The only drawback is that it's a small place that gets very crowded, and while service is always quick it is sometimes impossible to find a seat during peak hours.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    34
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best sandwiches ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We eat here regularly. Gerald bakes the bread fresh daily and the ingredients are more interesting than the typical sandwich shop (ie: London Broil, Brie with caramelized onions...). They also have spicy style if that is your speed. The pastry is delicious (also made fresh daily) especially the chocolate-filled croissants! Sides are inventive and tasty. Very popular place and no wonder!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches....fresh baked bread!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I had gone here once the first month they opened & hadn't been back since until recently with my husband. His coworkers introduced him to it and we went for dinner one day. Not quite an ideal "sit down" place....but definitely a great grab-and-go sandwich spot. Food is fresh and yummy!! Definite potential to take their menu to the next level.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Incredible bread is just the beginning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

There's a world-class baker at work here, turning out some of the best ciabattas and focaccias you'll ever taste. Then he uses them as the foundation for a delightful array of creative and reasonably priced sandwiches. We've never been disappointed in our many visits. Also, there are tasty soups and salads made fresh every day. You like pastries? Try his ... and smile!

If you've lived in Howard County a long time, you might remember an amazing sandwich restaurant called Roy's Place Too. It's been gone for some time, but for my money, Bon Fresco takes its crown as the best maker of sandwiches around.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“good, inexpensive, local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The bread is great and made in-house, the prices reasonable (6-7 bucks per sandwich), and it's an independent-- what's to not like?

The london broil (served warm) on ciabatta is outstanding. The pork loin was decent but could have used spice/heat rather than the saltiness of olive tapenade.

Parking area is smallish. Interior is larger/nicer than I expected for a "sandwich shop".

This is a decent spot for a casual meal (thanks HowChow blog for mentioning it!), good enough to add to my rotation. I really enjoy this sort of small, local restaurant...eat local!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon Fresco also viewed

 

Been to Bon Fresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bon Fresco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.