We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sandwich Shop -- ANYWHERE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bon Fresco

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bon Fresco
6945 Oakland Mills Road, Columbia, MD
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 223 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Description: twitter: @bonfresco
Restaurant details
Description: twitter: @bonfresco
Columbia, Maryland, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Sandwich Shop -- ANYWHERE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Bon Fresco is our #1 quick casual restaurant by a wide margin. Our family goes there about once a week so we've established a great relationship with the owner, Gerald. We're always greeted personally and he's quick to throw in freebies to reward our frequent patronage.

As for the food, well the homemade soups and sandwiches are all terrific. London Broil sandwiches, the amazing saffron tomato soup, and the chicken curry salad are all definite favorites. But you really go for the sourdough bread that comes with all the sandwiches and soups. It's often still warm -- right out of the oven. Gerald knows that I often ask to buy a couple of extra rolls of the sourdough.

Be careful visiting BF for a weekday lunch however. It's grown so popular that it can be tricky getting in the door some days. So I'd recommend an evening or Saturday visit (they are never open on Sundays).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    8
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I have mixed feelings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We go here alot-- most often we get the london broil -- Sides are too limited and other options off to the right are stale with little taste. I love the sandwich's and service is ehhhh... theres only a couple of employees and I have not found any of them very cheerful or attentive. They are very fresh as multiple reviewers have noted -- the only thing I have noticed is that they lack flavoring.... alot of the options I have tasted apart from the london broil come off to me as being bland

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great little sandwich joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The fresh-baked bread and veggie toppings/condiments alone were worth the search to find this out-of-the way little cafe. You order at the counter, and they call your number when ready. They didn't seem to have a printed menu, except on the wall. They offer sandwiches, salads, soups, a veggy platter, and desserts. Drinks are self-service. My chicken breast sandwich was served on a perfect ciabatta with caramelized onions and a wonderful sun-dried tomato pesto--delicious! I spent an extra $0.50 for a side of couscous salad and was disappointed -- it was really bland. Still. It's worth the trip. Go, enjoy a sandwich, soup, and/or salad.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I tell everyone that they sell gourmet sandwiches at non-gourmet prices. After trying the chicken breast sandwich on the picante menu, I can't seem to try anything else. Excellent!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a new definition of fresh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Fresh baked breads, and sandwiches made to order on those fresh breads. This place stays very busy. They have organic soups made fresh daily, and these are delicious. They even have extras like banana peppers and they are happy to cater to the customer. Limited seating in a very plain lunchroom setting, so you might want to carry out.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon Fresco also viewed

 

Been to Bon Fresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bon Fresco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.