We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, clean hotel, friendly staff. . .numerous careless spelling errors on bill.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbia

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gas and Go Package!
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Columbia
GreenLeadersSilver level
US
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great value, clean hotel, friendly staff. . .numerous careless spelling errors on bill.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

This was a nice hotel in an area that felt secure and safe. The staff was very friendly and professional. They responded to questions quickly and were very helpful overall. The room was clean and well equipped - keeping in mind Spring Hill Suites generally only have a microwave and refrigerator and not full mini-kitchens. The breakfast spread was adequate though vegetarian options could have been better.

The issues that causes me to give them four stars instead of five were the numerous problems on my bill and difficulty I had signing up for Marriot Rewards. My address and contact information contained more than one error and my name was spelled incorrectly. I met face to face with a different person than the one who initially took down my information and slowly dictated the needed changes line for line. When I received the new bill there was another error in my name. It is not an overly complex name to spell.

I also signed up for a new Marriot Rewards account when I was there. They initially messed up the account and a different person issued a different card. When I left I was still unsure which card was the correct one.

These were minor, but irksome, repeated errors that may have been due to new, nervous employees or insufficient training. Whatever the reason, they were consistently friendly and helpful. It was overall a great stay and I strongly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    45
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
54
23
8
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

The hotel is new, they tried a trendy up-scare design, but they just cant pull it off. The lobby has large curtains which seemed like more of what you would expect in a little girls bed-room. The rooms are small, very cold and very uncomfortable. The staff while not rude, are as cold as the surroundings (no smiles, very little talk). My rooms carpet was already stained in several places (an indicator that this place is just a few short years will be a dump). The beds are hard, pillows flat. I told them when I booked the hotel (through expedia) that I needed late checkout (4pm). I reconfirmed this when I checked in (everyone said fine). Suddently on the day of checkout my spouse gets a call in the room from the manager that there would be an additional charge. The hotel was empty - this charge was unnecessary- plus the un-smiling person who checked me in should have told me this (even though I reminded her of the late check out time). Finally this hotel is not in a great section of town. All in all a mistake.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

I am a very picky hotel guest - this was a perfect stay. The hotel is about a year old, but looks brand-spanking new. Check-in by Ryan was personable and professional. I appreciated being thanks for my loyalty to Marriott - as a gold elite member of their rewards program, I am disappointed when I am greeted with "Your rewards number is on file" whereas here I felt warmly welcomed. The lobby was attractive and inviting. My corner room, while technically not exactly a suite, was spacious and airy. I definitely appreciated the refrig and microwave, and I loved the separate toilet area with the tiniest sink I've ever seen, and the spacious shower room with a sink area large enough to spread out my toiletries. The shower pressure could have been better, but that's about my only nit. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and I got a great night's sleep.

I'm sure I'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

The hotel is very nice with an excellent staff, but transportation to Baltimore & Washington D.C. is costly & difficult without a car. Jose Pintado, went above & beyond to resolve the issue & save our vacation from being uneventful. He transferred us to another Spring Hill Suites where the staff was just as wonderful as he was. Spring Hill Suites is on the top of my list for future trips. Thank you Jose, for being so caring & helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

This is one of the nicer rooms I've stayed in - definitely the nicest for under $100. The room is divided into the sleeping area with a king bed and a living room area with a small sectional sofa and a work desk. There was a mini-fridge and microwave as well as free wired and wireless internet. There was one 32" hi-def TV that could swivel to be scene in either part of the room. The complimentary breakfast consisted of cheese omelets, sausage, a waffle maker and various cereals and pastries. We did not use the smallish pool or fitness center.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

A Ultra modern decor, Reminded us of the Jetson's decor on the tv show! This is a new hotel and it was very clean and quiet

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

After one very disappointing night at Columbia Hilton I cancelled the remainder of my booking there and spent 2 nights at the Springhill Suites. Recently built on modern lines it offers very clean, spacious and well-designed bedrooms, a friendly staff and good complimentary breakfast. Well located just off Route 32 it's ideal for shops, restaurants and trips into Baltimore and Washington. The only drawback was that the pool was closed for maintenance. Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbia

Address: 7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Columbia
#1 Business Hotel in Columbia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#4 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbia is located south of Baltimore, north of Washington DC and 15 miles from Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). Our spacious, stylish suites include luxurious bedding, microwave, mini-fridge, large desk, complimentary high speed Internet, and flat screen TV. Additional amenities include free parking, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness center and indoor pool. Enjoy quick access to Camden Yards, M&T Bank Stadium, Maryland Zoo, Maryland Science Center, Baltimore National Aquarium, Fort Meade and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.