We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but service and appearance is slipping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Columbia to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel but service and appearance is slipping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the last few years with great experiences. However, this last stay I noticed a few things I hope are addressed. Upon check in I waited at the front desk for about 5 minutes before anyone came out to greet me. I had done the mobile check in so it should have been a quick and painless experience. I experienced the same lack of attention to a waiting customer when I went down to purchase some water later in the evening. I also noticed the cleanliness of the facility seems to be lacking a bit. The room was nice and slept well, but these two things I hope don't indicate new management or operator not caring completely for the customer.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    53
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
63
28
10
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Statesville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The room has separate bathroom and shower rooms. They are separated from the bedroom by sliding doors. This allows someone to use the toilet and wash their hands while another person uses the shower and sink. Awesome. It has a full couch that is good for sleeping folded up. We did not try it open. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I checked in late (after midnight) and was greeted very nicely by the assistant manager. I knew I was in good hands.

After entering my very clean and new room, I fell asleep quickly in my warm and soft bed, blanket and sheets.

The breakfast they had prepared in the morning was plentiful and of good quality: great oatmeal, eggs with various toppings, juice and cereal.

The fitness room and pool were more than adequate and had what I wanted.

You will not be disappointed staying here. Not too far away from College Park if you are here for a University of Maryland sporting event!

Room Tip: Get a higher-level room to get more sunlight in room
See more room tips
Green Features: Towel re-use program, Energy Star windows are great
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, 1 week ago
MichiganTonyabbott,

Thanks for staying with us and posting a terrific review.

The SpringHill Suites Columbia has a great team who care about taking good care of our guests.

Clean clean comfortable accommodations, close to many things (College Park included), a nice breakfast to get your day started and a fitness center that has virtually all new equipment - and good people.

Glad you enjoyed your time here, [please come back to visit again.

Thanks.

Chuck Chandler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Very nice and plesant stay. Everyone was very helpful, especially the assistant general manager Parminder Singh who was helpful and friendly with great positive attitude.

I was able to use the workout place and the swimming pool.

Room Tip: I like the higher floor. The rooms on the front side of the hotel was nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
A S,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am thrilled you had an enjoyable stay and Parminder was able to make to pleasant for you.

He does have a great, customer focused attitude and is well liked by our guests. I am glad you were able to enjoy the pool and fitness center as well.

Hope to see you again soon.

Chuck Chandler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We stopped here when our trip was disrupted by horrible road conditions from a heavy snow. The room was spacious, comfortable, and clean. Their real strength is service. This appears to be a well managed hotel that really cares about their guests. Everyone we dealt with from the front desk to the woman staffing the breakfast bar was friendly and helpful. With the snowstorm, the property was crowded. Giselle at the front desk gave outstanding, friendly, professional service. It's not the service you'd expect in the chaos of a snowstorm. She checked us in on the Saturday and happily greeted us at checkout on Sunday because she had stayed through the night to ensure good service because of the snow. Her associate Jessica even went the extra mile to clear snow from behind cars so guests would have access to their vehicles. I live in New York where life doesn't stop from snow because we have plenty of plows and salt. That's not the case in this part of Maryland where people abandon their vehicles right on a snowy interstate. So while the driving was stressful, this SpringHill Suites was a comfortable and pleasant refuge from the storm. I'll be back the next time we're in the area. Highly recommend.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
MaineCampers,

Awesome! I am so proud of our team for taking what otherwise was a very stressful time for you and making it pleasant!!! Jisselle and Jessica are great Team Members and I am glad that they have been recognized for their efforts. Thank you.

The housekeeping team does a wonderful job with keep the hotel clean and well maintained.

Glad that everything worked out like it did and you made it home safely.

When you are back in the area, I hope you look us up and stay again.

Thanks for staying at the SpringHill Suites Columbia.

Chuck Chandler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

A great location, good room space , comfortable bed and a nice breakfast that was included in the price. This was my second stay and i wasn't disappointed. My one minor issue was that the complimentary coffee in the lobby was cold

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
John T,

Thanks for the post. I am sorry for the coffee. I am glad we did not disappoint you, though I am disappointed that we did not catch the detail of the coffee....

Location, comfort and space - all are features that we try to highlight! Thanks for choosing us again. I hope you come back to the SpringHill Suites Columbia and see us again.

Chuck Chandler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Good location about 5 minutes off 95. Interesting room design with the bathroom divided into two rooms - one with a sink and toilet, one with sink and shower. The bathroom pocket doors were more like a privacy screen than actual doors, which was a little odd. Beds were comfortable, but the sofa bed was quite uncomfortable.

Very nice breakfast with plenty of choices. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
jillatin,

Thanks for the nice comments about the team, breakfast and the convenience of the SpringHill Suites Columbia off of I-95.

We are pretty fortunate that our hotel is one of the newer generation builds of the Springhill Brand. Most guests love the separation between the toilet and the shower. I have to admit, it has taken a little adjustment for me too.

I am pleased to let you and others know that we will be going through a renovation later this year and the sofas will be replaced. I anticipate that the new ones will be more comfortable.

Thanks for staying with us. We look forward to having you stay again when you are back in the area.

Chuck Chandler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbia

Address: 7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Columbia
#2 Family Hotel in Columbia
#2 Business Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbia is located south of Baltimore, north of Washington DC and 15 miles from Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). Our spacious, stylish suites include luxurious bedding, microwave, mini-fridge, large desk, complimentary high speed Internet, and flat screen TV. Additional amenities include free parking, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness center and indoor pool. Enjoy quick access to Camden Yards, M&T Bank Stadium, Maryland Zoo, Maryland Science Center, Baltimore National Aquarium, Fort Meade and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.