We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Fantastic Rates” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Columbia to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gas and Go Package!
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place, Fantastic Rates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Clean and fantastic service. Great Continental Breakfast. Very pleasant staff, especially Rhonda, and the Manager. I like the setup. We celebrated our 35th family Reunion here, it was just like being back home.

Room Tip: very private rooms
See more room tips
Green Features: Green practices Linen reuse program Non-toxic pest control Energy-saving lighting controls Water-efficient bathroom fixtures Education for guests on green practices Temperature set to save energy
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Raymond W.,

Thank you ofr taking te time to review our hotel! Thanks also for the positive comments regarding your stay and the Green practices we incorporate into our operation.

We are very proud of Rhonda and the service team and the great job they do in taking care of our guests. The SpringHill Suites Columbia is a great, central location to host events like Family Reunions.

Central To DC, Baltimore and Columbia, the Suites we have are over sized guestrooms that are great for hosting families. SpringHill has worked very hard on improving the Breakfast offerings and I am glad that you and your family were able to enjoy it.

You are always welcomed back to you "home away from home!" Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Chuck Chandler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    45
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
56
25
9
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This hotel is your average Marriott. They provide good service at a good price.
Typical but good breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff. It provides a inexpensive alternative to Washington hotels. We drove to the Greenbelt Metro station, parked and took the train to DC

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
wcszen,

Thanks for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites Columbia.

I am glad to here that your stay was as expected. One thing I have learned through the years is that as you state, Marriott's can be predicable! I think this is good in many ways.

However, in our case, though we enjoy being consistent and predictable, we want to be exceptional for our Brand. With that in mind, we are always trying ask ourselves and our guests, what one more thing could we have done to make your stay exceptional?

What else could we have done to make your stay better. We love being convenient to Washington DC, Baltimore, Annapolis and Columbia! We are proud of our service! We are proud of our Breakfast team and the offerings they provide everyday, though what one thing could we have done to make a good stay, a great stay....?

Just a question to help us get better. Thanks for staying with us and we hope you come back!

Chuck Chandler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We booked our stay through Hotels.com and received a fantastic rate, $101, for a king suite. (we called the hotel and they couldn't match or beat the rate.) The hotel appears to be very new. The room was extremely well laid out with a small frig in a very out-of-the-way location, a large screen tv that could be seen from anywhere in the room, a separate toilet with a sink, a large shower and sink, a desk with tall sliding glass windows separating the bed from the living area with a couch. The doors to the bathroom and toilet were pocket sliding doors that were very quiet to open and close. The staff were very friendly and helpful, including offering candy from a bowl on the desk and providing recommendations to eating establishments. Overall, it was one of the best rooms for the money I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
lgjacob,

Thanks so much for the wonderful review!

I am glad you found such great value in what we were able to offer. As many of our reveiwers comment, the layout of the rooms is unique to the brand and offers a lot for both families and business travelers alike.

The bowl of candy at a SpringHill Suites is a signature item for the Brand. The candy is called Chupa Chups. They are a fun little welcome item for guests.

Thanks for staying with us. If your travels bring you back to the area, please look us up again.

Chuck Chandler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was a wonderful place to stay. The room was a wonderful surprise. The pictures on here don't do it justice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good. We will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Michael D,

I am so glad that we were able to surprise you with the furnishings and layout of the suites! The layout is tough to emmulate in pictures.

Complimentary Breakfast is a big part of the experience weoffer and I am glad you and your family were able to enjoy it. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Chuck Chandler, General Manager

The SpringHill Suites Columbia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My family loves Springhill suites! Mr. Singh gave us instant directions to all the local restaurants and attractions. The hotel is beautiful and so well maintained!!! The staff is wonderful and takes care of every need. The extras at Springhill Suites are fabulous! !

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Sherri T,

Thanks for your loyalty and for your enthusiasm of the SpringHill Brand.

Parminder has been a great addition to the team here at the SprinHill Suites Columbia and brings a great love for what he does to the team! Our team takes great pride in the maintenance and clealiness of the hotel! They appreciate when their efforts are acknowledged by our guests!

Thanks for taking the time to complete the review and please come back again when your travels bring you back to the Columbia/Baltimore area.

Chuck Chandler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My family loved our room. I had to change rooms twice because of our toddler's. The assistant general manager Mr. Singh was soo understanding. Very courteous and showed patients. I will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Know if there a groups, such a basketball team or any group that may be noisy on you floor. If there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
6910 FunSun,

Glad you had a nice stay and Mr. Singh was able to take good care of you. He is absolutely terrific with our guest (little ones too).

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. When your travels bring you back to the area, we would love to have you back at the SpringHill Suites Columbia.

Chuck Chandler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I never write reviews of ANYTHING. After staying at the Springhill Suites on my way through the Baltimore area, I realized that I really had to let people know about the staff at this extended stay hotel.

As others might have indicated, the location is great. You're as close to Baltimore as you'd ever want to be and about a mile from a Starbucks and Wegmans.... so there's that.

The room was fine. Nothing remarkable; but exactly what you expect for the price. No complaints here.

But the draw here is the kind, hardworking staff. You'll notice that everyone working there is professional and friendly. I actually lost a piece of luggage while I was packing up to leave one morning and the property manager (Parminder Singh... I may have first name wrong) was a huge help. I was pleasantly shocked at the amount of time and attention he paid to help a former guest recover some very important property.

If you're in need of a place to stay near Columbia, you won't do any better than SprinHill Suites. I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Timothy W,

Thanks for the great review! Convenience to Baltimore, DC and Annapolis continue to be a common thread with recent reviews. I had really never appreciated how convenient we are until now.

Starbucks, Wegman's and the plethora of restaurants nearby only add to the convenience.

Parminder and the team are great as well! I appreciate you acknowledging the extra effort that they put forth. Everyone loves a litle recognition and I appreciate you recognizing them.

We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Chuck Chandler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbia

Address: 7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Columbia
#1 Business Hotel in Columbia
#1 Best Value Hotel in Columbia
#2 Family Hotel in Columbia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbia is located south of Baltimore, north of Washington DC and 15 miles from Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). Our spacious, stylish suites include luxurious bedding, microwave, mini-fridge, large desk, complimentary high speed Internet, and flat screen TV. Additional amenities include free parking, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness center and indoor pool. Enjoy quick access to Camden Yards, M&T Bank Stadium, Maryland Zoo, Maryland Science Center, Baltimore National Aquarium, Fort Meade and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.