We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Columbia to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Very nice room - spacious, good working desk, nice shower, good lighting.
My only complaint is the Ridiculously thin "comforter" that feels more like a bed sheet! Feels Cheap and skimpy. Terrible! Asked for a second comforter and that changed everything.
Very friendly staff! Would stay again - with second comforter on the bed!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    54
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
63
28
10
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This hotel has one of the best continental breakfasts ever: while the scrambled eggs were okay, the ham was excellent. They also served a nice variety of cheese and fruit; and excellent (not instant) oatmeal with all the fixin's, i.e. brown sugar, raisins, dried cranberries, coconut, and walnuts. One morning, they served home fries, but it might have been a St. Patrick's Day special, I'm not sure. Staff was unbelievably helpful. For example, we had gotten snowed in, and both the hotel manager, Mr. Singh, and Rhonda at the front desk offered to clear off our van and to offload and transport our luggage. This is exceptional!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
James L.,

Thanks for your wonderful review. We have a great team and your remarks about Rhonda and Mr. Singh are appreciated and will be shared with them.

The new Breakfast program has been incredibly well recieved by our guests and you are one that really enjoyed some of the new aspects. The Ham and fresh Oatmeal are very popular! I am glad you enjoyed them.

Thank you for coosing to stay with us. We hope you come back soon Chuck Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at this location for a soccer tournament. The hotel was clean. Rooms were a great size.
I did think the actual breakfast area where the food was displayed was very confined. Because everything is in one long line when it's busy there is just a clump of people bouncing off each other. Even the breakfast staff spent time just kind of standing in the walkway because of the tight area. There are plenty of areas to sit.
The hotel windows open. This is not a common feature. I didn't notice until the morning. We were on the ground floor. Our window was unlocked. This was definitely a safety concern to me. I would not have wanted an uninvited guest. Of course on a higher floor this could be an issue if traveling with kids. So check your window.
The nicest thing about the hotel was the staff. Each and every person I came in contact with was so nice, helpful, and genuine.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Laura O.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. Your comments are appreciated and will be addressed with our team. Particularly, we are concerned regarding the guest safety implications of the windows missing the safety stops. You are absolutley correct with the first floor and the higher floor concerns. Our Engineering team has re-installed the stops that were missing.

The scramble set-up for the breakfast line can be a lttle difficult when we have large groups of individuals come down at the same time, though we try to accomodate for that with ensuring the food is refilled often.

As your travels bring you back to the area, we would love to have you stay with us again. Thank you for choosing the SpringHill Suites! Chuck Chandler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Although 90% of the time I stay and prefer full-service brands. I booked a Saturday night stay at this SpringHill because my conference hotel had no availability for my first night in town. I was so impressed with the friendly check-in person who happened to be the AGM. He was very friendly, organized and so professional when asked questions about the area. He was leaving to manage the hotel next door with the same company. It must have been a promotion because he was very astute and professional. The room lay-out was outstanding, the housekeeping was great and the "market" for food purchases and other incidentals was well stocked, fairly priced and has useful items to purchase. Great hotel and experience.

Room Tip: The hotel does not really have any "Views", but I liked my first floor unit on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff, and Alex, our former AGM. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I was surprised by how cheerful and spotlessly clean the hotel is. Very efficient staff and great breakfast. Conveniently located. The bed was super comfy. Attention to small details makes this hotel stand out. Will definitely stay again.

The only downside is the AC - it revs up every hour or so and makes a lot of noise. Can be a problem with light sleepers.

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the odd-numbered rooms in the left wing as you enter the hallway from the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan S, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience, so thank you for your feedback, as it is extremely valuable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawlings, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I needed a hotel for one night, close to the location of a training conference I was leading the next day, & found this one. It's my new favorite in the Columbia area. I was sharing the room with another conference leader & we loved the fact that the bathroom area was split in two & there was a sink & mirror in each areas. Made it so much easier to get ready the next morning. The staff was very friendly & the breakfast was excellent. The only negative was that the bed was a little hard for my tastes. But overall, an excellent experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randallstown
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We are from Maryland but we like to stay at random hotels for fun. Well I must say this place was very immaculate. The staff was amazing and even took time to call cooperate to find out where they bought the chandeliers. I love that the toilet is separated from the shower. The only thing I did not like was that the sausage taste like they weren't fully cooked. Other than that we will randomly visit again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbia

Address: 7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Columbia
#2 Business Hotel in Columbia
#2 Family Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbia is located south of Baltimore, north of Washington DC and 15 miles from Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). Our spacious, stylish suites include luxurious bedding, microwave, mini-fridge, large desk, complimentary high speed Internet, and flat screen TV. Additional amenities include free parking, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness center and indoor pool. Enjoy quick access to Camden Yards, M&T Bank Stadium, Maryland Zoo, Maryland Science Center, Baltimore National Aquarium, Fort Meade and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.