We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbia

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
SpringHill Suites Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Columbia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Barrington, RI
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clean and Modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Went here on business and was very impressed with the size of the room and the cleanliness of the hotel. There are restaurants in a plaza across the street and plenty of other eating establishments near by. There is a complimentary breakfast from 6-9:30am and a pool. The only negative I saw was that none of the fitness equipment was in working order and I like to exercise. If that doesn't matter than I would highly recommend this hotel for business travel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    41
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
38
17
4
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed one night for Christmas Eve. The hotel was very contemporary and was tucked away with a Hampton Inn next to it. Rhonda welcomed us at the desk when myself and my family of 4 arrived. She was very upbeat and nice! The room was well appointed and spacious. The breakfast was fantastic, with everything you could want. I cannot wait to come back for another visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very nice 3 year old facility. Decor is very contemporary And very clean but walls were pretty thin. Only real negative was the breakfast area. It was not done well here. There was no spray for the waffle maker so the waffles stick to the iron and guests struggled to remove them. They also ran out of batter. No hot chocolate with the hot drinks (it's December). The attendant was unable to keep up with cleaning the tables as the guests left. That said I'd recommend for a one or two night stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Top Contributor
585 reviews 585 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 189 cities Reviews in 189 cities
649 helpful votes 649 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our family of four stayed in a suite while visiting Baltimore and before continuing on to Annapolis. The hotel is very modern and our room was spacious and clean. A ‘living area” with desk, couch, chairs, desk, TV, microwave, etc was separated enough from the rest of the room to allow some to rest comfortably while others stayed-up. The morning complimentary breakfast was excellent with many choices, very popular and quite crowded as a result but the staff kept it well stocked. Hotels in the area tend to be quite expensive but this hotel is lower in cost than many of the other options and proved to be a great value. The location was excellent for easy day trips to Baltimore and convenient for continuing on to Annapolis when traveling from the west by car. We would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I've stayed here probably a half dozen times in the last year. It's clean, the breakfast is easy and the wifi is free. I like the modern style of the rooms, free popcorn in the afternoon/evening and the cooler in the lobby. Not a high end property, but great for me as a business traveller.

Room Tip: I like the first floor because the elevators are a bit slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, WA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed two nights at the SpringHill Suites in Columbia and were impressed with the spaciousness and comfort of our room. We appreciated the quiet and a great night's sleep after a cross-country flight. We also liked the desk area and the numerous outlets for charging laptops and other devices. The only downside was the breakfast buffet. Items were pretty standard but didn't seem to be fresh at all. We've always found Marriott coffee to be somewhat undrinkable and this was no exception. There is a Starbucks about a half-mile away, however, and a Dunkin Donuts even closer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is the second time we stayed at this hotel. The physical hotel is beautiful and very clean. However, the majority of the staff is very unwelcoming. Many did not even look us in the eye. There was a young man when we were checking in who was very nice and friendly. He was the only staff member who was truly hospitable.

At one point, there were about eight of us sitting in the lobby, it was between 6 PM and 6:30 PM. We were not loud or bothering anyone; in fact, there was no one to bother. We were the only people in the lobby. My 22 year old daughter, on her way to use the treadmill, heard the unfriendly staffer behind the desk calling the police. She didn't mention it to us since there was no reason to think they were calling about us. Sure enough the police came in the lobby and came over to us to find out if we were drinking. We were not, but the police treated us as if we had committed a crime. At that point we decided to go into one of our rooms to chat. At approximately 11:30 PM, I had already gone back to my room, my friend received a nasty phone call stating they needed to be quiet or get out. Well, what hospitality establishment speaks to you that way!? My friend said they were not being loud and asked what the problem was. He was told there had been complaints about doors slamming. His response was that the hotel needed to speak with the construction company since when you open the extremely heavy doors, they do make a noise when they shut. We found out that same evening, one of our friends went out to his vehicle to get something and forgot his room key and did not have his phone with him. When he tried to get back into the hotel, the automatic doors were shut off and there was no one behind the desk to let him back in. No one returned to the desk for 20 minutes. The following evening, a few of us went out to pick up pizza and one of the men sat in the lobby and was watching TV. There were about 3 other people, who he did not know, also in the lobby. They were just sitting there talking. It was about 10:30 PM. They were all told they had to leave the lobby...the lobby was closed. I have never heard of such a thing. There were several other incidents; however, you get the point. I felt like we were in the twilight zone. It was all very bizarre.

I read a few other reviews and am shocked others were treated respectfully and warmly. I felt as if the staff did not want us there. I have been traveling with a group for 10 years and have never been mistreated nor have I ever felt unwelcome before. In fact, we stayed at the Courtyard in or near Virginia Beach a few months prior and the staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. The power went out in that hotel and they calmly and professionally made arrangements for all of us to stay at nearby hotels.

Despite the fact the hotel is beautiful, I will never stay there again, nor will I recommend anyone else stay there. By the way, I have never written a review of a hotel before let alone a bad review.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted F, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear valued Guest,


Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel and for mentioning our great reviews and cleanliness. We are actually one of the top ranked Springhill Suites hotels in the nation for guest satisfaction. Something that our team takes great pride in.

We of course want all guests to enjoy their stay here at the Springhill Suites Columbia but in order to accomplish this, we cannot let one guest or group of guests disrupt our other customers or violate the laws of this country.
Several members of your group who were in the lobby were asked to leave multiple times due to their noise level and the presence of alcohol. After the fourth ignored request we called the local police department for assistance.

Our hotel locks all our exterior doors at 11 PM as noted on all exterior doors and as required by Marriott International. We understand a member of your group was frustrated after locking himself out of the hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience this caused.

We are disappointed that your stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations. Our hotel team was a bit over stressed by the demands of the group in-house. We have learned a valuable lesson from this incident and will be better prepared for these events in the future.

Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbia

Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia
Springhill Suites Columbia Hotel
Address: 7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Columbia
#5 Family Hotel in Columbia
#5 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbia is located south of Baltimore, north of Washington DC and 15 miles from Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). Our spacious, stylish suites include luxurious bedding, microwave, mini-fridge, large desk, complimentary high speed Internet, and flat screen TV. Additional amenities include free parking, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness center and indoor pool. Enjoy quick access to Camden Yards, M&T Bank Stadium, Maryland Zoo, Maryland Science Center, Baltimore National Aquarium, Fort Meade and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.