We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and accomodating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbia

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Columbia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Zionsville, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly and accomodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed at the SpringHill in Columbia multiple times. Every employee I've interacted with has been warm and friendly, and they make it a point to say hello or "Have a nice day!". The facility is always clean, the breakfast is well above average, and the pantry items for sale near the front desk are fantastic. There are endless choices for restaurants within a 5 minute drive of the hotel, including nearly every possible ethnic restaurant you could want.

I gave the facility a rating of four out of five because I find the beds extremely hard, and the exercise equipment is in terrible shape. Also, the pool is very small and not as well kept as the rest of the facility. Knowing all this, I have stayed here probably 10 times in the last year. I can overlook a few minor inconveniences to avoid a 30+ minute drive to other similarly appointed hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    44
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
50
21
8
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I (along with another couple and two single guys) stayed here as part of a college reunion gathering 20 minutes away.
The hotel was decorated in what I can only describe as "Jetsonian" (for those who remember the cartoon, "The Jetsons," of the 1960s). The front lobby sitting area was very futuristic looking, partially encircled by gauzy fabric backed up by metal beads - all hanging sort of like hippie beads. It looked comfy if just a bit strange.
Our room was divided in half by a partial wall of glass that could be slid back. On one side was the sleeping area and the other was a small sectional couch and a desk. Someone could sleep on the coach I suppose. There was also a small microwave and frig. There were two "bathrooms" - one with shower and large sink, the other with toliet and tiny sink. It worked fine. Easy to regulate the room temp, nice large flat screen tv. Breakfast was better than most continental offerings, with choice of eggs or waffles, plus bagels, cereal, etc.
The hotel itself is located in what was probably a field only a couple of years ago. All in all, convenient, clean, and comfy. Not high end but for the price, a good deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Had to stay for a night due to hurricane Sandy knocking out our power. The room was clean and had a pleasing aesthetics. Modern contemporary furniture with clean lines. Quiet rooms without a lot of noise or sounds bleeding in from other rooms or the hallway. Check in was fast and friendly. Had both hot and cold foods for breakfast in the morning. Felt it was well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here while visiting family. We checked in during the evening (around 8:30pm or so). The front staff was very friendly. Every day we stayed they welcomed us as we entered and told us to have a good day when we left. The room was good (very modern) and spacious. Parking was ample.

During our last night there was several kids that kept carrying on late into the night (screaming, laughing loudly) either a floor below or down the hall. We called the front desk and the walked the floors trying to find it (it was periodic so the front staff never did actually find it, but the noise did stop).

My only main complaint is that the air conditioner/heater unit was rather loud.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This weekend, we traveled to Maryland with the Tuscola Marching Band. We had the pleasure to stay at the Springhill Suites in Columbia Maryland. This motel is absolutely beautiful! The rooms were gorgeous and very tastefully decorated. The beds were very comfortable and provided a very travel weary band mom with some much needed R&R. The staff was very helpful and courteous. If I ever visit the area again, I will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: My room number was 329. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at SpringHill Suites on a recent trip to see Washington, DC. The rooms were spacious and nicely decorated, the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast buffet kept us all fed with daily changing choices; scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, bacon, cold foods, waffles. The most pleasing aspect of our stay was the warmth and friendliness of the staff. Never a scowl, always an easy smile and a hello, from the manager to the breakfast attendants, the front desk staff and housekeepers. I work in the hospitality industry and know 'fake friendly' vs 'real friendly', unhappy workers vs happy ones. They really seem to have a great vibe here. We felt very well taken care of and actually stayed an extra night because of it. Thanks to all there for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted F, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you so much for the opportinuty to serve you. We are very honored that you've made our hotel your home away from home. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Hotel is ok, but when you get back to hotel at 330PM, and sometimes even 4PM they are still cleaning the rooms - mine in particular every time. Not sure why Housekeeping isn't finished earlier, this is not a large hotel.

Agree with the previous guest, the hotel is quickly losing its luster. There is a Hampton Inn being built right by it, but it is owned by the same franchise group that runs this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted F, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experienced. Service and taking care of our guests is our top priority on a daily basis. We take pride on being a customer friendly hotel 24/7. Our overall guest satisfaction scores are top in the industry. We are deeply sorry that we did not delivered the type of service that we've known for. We are looking to your next trip. We are determined to win your trust and the opporutinity to serve you in the near future.

We thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbia

Address: 7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Columbia
#1 Green Hotel in Columbia
#4 Family Hotel in Columbia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbia is located south of Baltimore, north of Washington DC and 15 miles from Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). Our spacious, stylish suites include luxurious bedding, microwave, mini-fridge, large desk, complimentary high speed Internet, and flat screen TV. Additional amenities include free parking, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness center and indoor pool. Enjoy quick access to Camden Yards, M&T Bank Stadium, Maryland Zoo, Maryland Science Center, Baltimore National Aquarium, Fort Meade and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.