We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbia

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
SpringHill Suites Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Columbia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Had to stay for a night due to hurricane Sandy knocking out our power. The room was clean and had a pleasing aesthetics. Modern contemporary furniture with clean lines. Quiet rooms without a lot of noise or sounds bleeding in from other rooms or the hallway. Check in was fast and friendly. Had both hot and cold foods for breakfast in the morning. Felt it was well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    41
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
38
17
4
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here while visiting family. We checked in during the evening (around 8:30pm or so). The front staff was very friendly. Every day we stayed they welcomed us as we entered and told us to have a good day when we left. The room was good (very modern) and spacious. Parking was ample.

During our last night there was several kids that kept carrying on late into the night (screaming, laughing loudly) either a floor below or down the hall. We called the front desk and the walked the floors trying to find it (it was periodic so the front staff never did actually find it, but the noise did stop).

My only main complaint is that the air conditioner/heater unit was rather loud.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This weekend, we traveled to Maryland with the Tuscola Marching Band. We had the pleasure to stay at the Springhill Suites in Columbia Maryland. This motel is absolutely beautiful! The rooms were gorgeous and very tastefully decorated. The beds were very comfortable and provided a very travel weary band mom with some much needed R&R. The staff was very helpful and courteous. If I ever visit the area again, I will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: My room number was 329. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at SpringHill Suites on a recent trip to see Washington, DC. The rooms were spacious and nicely decorated, the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast buffet kept us all fed with daily changing choices; scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, bacon, cold foods, waffles. The most pleasing aspect of our stay was the warmth and friendliness of the staff. Never a scowl, always an easy smile and a hello, from the manager to the breakfast attendants, the front desk staff and housekeepers. I work in the hospitality industry and know 'fake friendly' vs 'real friendly', unhappy workers vs happy ones. They really seem to have a great vibe here. We felt very well taken care of and actually stayed an extra night because of it. Thanks to all there for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted F, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you so much for the opportinuty to serve you. We are very honored that you've made our hotel your home away from home. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Hotel is ok, but when you get back to hotel at 330PM, and sometimes even 4PM they are still cleaning the rooms - mine in particular every time. Not sure why Housekeeping isn't finished earlier, this is not a large hotel.

Agree with the previous guest, the hotel is quickly losing its luster. There is a Hampton Inn being built right by it, but it is owned by the same franchise group that runs this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted F, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experienced. Service and taking care of our guests is our top priority on a daily basis. We take pride on being a customer friendly hotel 24/7. Our overall guest satisfaction scores are top in the industry. We are deeply sorry that we did not delivered the type of service that we've known for. We are looking to your next trip. We are determined to win your trust and the opporutinity to serve you in the near future.

We thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stay at this hotel a few days a month, every month, and its quickly losing its "newness." The rooms are not as well kept as they used to be, some small dings and dents on walls and furniture, and the lobby isn't as clean as it used to be. At this point its just...average. I am considering switching to the Courtyard (about 2 miles away) but the free breakfast here is a nice perk- always warm, plenty of choice, and a long buffet table so you're not crammed next to other people as I've found in some hotels. Average (small) gym and not too sure about the pool. Read the other reviews and look at pictures if you like the "style" of the Springhill. If you're not 100% sold, try the Courtyard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted F, Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,


We thank you for being loyal to our hotel. We are disappointed that we failed to exceed your expectation. Your comments are very important to us. We have corrected the issues you mentioned. Our team takes great pride on being a service and people driven hotel. We love and appreciate the fact that you have enjoyed our hotel and are pleased to hear that you want to stay with us. Thank you!!! We want to make our hotel your home away from home.

We thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayre, PA
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is only 3 years old and the decor is very modern, from the lobby to the rooms. Check-in desk reminds me of control station on Star Wars and the filmy curtains around the sitting area in the frigid lobby are different. Breakfast was good although lay-out of serving area is not set up the best for crowds and seating is all open with lobby. Again, very
strange set-up. Rooms are the same way. Open modern concept, very light and airy but again very strange. Separate toilet and wash bowl room with no mirror and a sliding door. Walk-in shower and vanity in another room but no lighting over the huge mirror. Door to bathroom was all filmy glass but whoever is sleeping in bed directly across is going to be subjected to the light and it was annoying when rest if room dark. Should have regular door instead. I was very happy with the thermostat on the wall controlling heat and air but there is no air citculating in the sofa bed area and gets stuffy there. Sofa bed mattress is very thin with coils popping through so I would not suggest for anyone with back problems. All in all a good stay but different.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbia

Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia
Springhill Suites Columbia Hotel
Address: 7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Columbia
#5 Business Hotel in Columbia
#5 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbia is located south of Baltimore, north of Washington DC and 15 miles from Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). Our spacious, stylish suites include luxurious bedding, microwave, mini-fridge, large desk, complimentary high speed Internet, and flat screen TV. Additional amenities include free parking, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness center and indoor pool. Enjoy quick access to Camden Yards, M&T Bank Stadium, Maryland Zoo, Maryland Science Center, Baltimore National Aquarium, Fort Meade and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.