We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, new - the decorating seemed right out of Target” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Columbia to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gas and Go Package!
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“Nice, new - the decorating seemed right out of Target”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I had a pleasant stay here during our recent move. It was a little pricey for what you get. The breakfast was not bad - but not great either. A few times they ran out of things (like orange juice, then coffee, then bagels) long before breakfast was over.

The decorating scheme was seriously similar to what you would see in Target. Hard to explain, but suffice to say that the styling was not "classic" - rather a "today's trend of the month". In 6 months it will be totally outdated (it already seems to me to be on it's last legs - that teal and brown color scheme).

There is a really nice pool and a good exercise room. Plenty of parking. In the rooms I really liked to toilet and the shower being in separate rooms. What I thought was cheesy is that 170 a night they could put better cups in the hotel rooms. They give you two cheapo Styrofoam cups that are wrapped. Those two cups serve you for the bathroom and coffee. Also, although these are billed as suites - my room had a microwave and a fridge, but that was it. See the pictures.

If I had to stay in the area again - I am not sure I would stay here- not because it was bad, but because it was non-descript and expensive for the area. The space available to sit outside was disappointing.

Room Tip: Avoid the side that looks out on the new Hampton that is being built. The workmen are annoying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    51
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
62
26
9
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The business I work for had put me up in this hotel for 5 nites and it was free for me but I seen what the company paid and it was priced right at 169 a nite. Before I got here I checked the hotel out online and I need to say the pictures of the rooms looked bigger then they really were. The rooms were clean and was the rest of the hotel. Staff was nice and answred all my questions so no complaints there. Plenty of free parking also. I also wanna add there is a LOT of traffic around this place and there is also construction going on right next door (another hotel being built) there was no noise from it but a lot of work trucks going all day long. Overall I would rate this place as a good stay for the money...but be warned don't drink the bottles of water in the lobby unless you wanna pay 4.50 for it....

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed here one night in mid-June on business. Arrived at around 8 p.m. and was pleased to see ample parking. The lobby is well done and ultra-modern, which seems to be the style for most SpringHill Suites. Check-in took, in all seriousness, 90 seconds. The room was spacious, clean, and very modern as well (the website pictures do not do it justice). The bathroom included a stand-up, glass-door shower and a granite counter top. The actual commode was in another room next to the bathroom; the separation didn't make much of a difference for a solo traveler but could definitely come in handy for families. (Families with small children: there is no bathtub in the room). The room itself was separated into the sleeping/bathroom area and the couch/business/mini-bar area. The bed was comfortable and very clean with an Ipod-compatible radio and mood lighting built into the headboard. The partition separating the two halves of the room was a frosted glass design, again very modern and sleek. There was ample desk space, free in-room wifi (and wired internet) as well as an ergonomic adjustable chair. The couches were comfortable and clean and there were two small dining/rolling tables, very convenient- a great touch. There was a mini-fridge and microwave complete with plastic plates and utensils, something I seldom see anymore. The TV was a good size, flat screen, with HBO and Cinemax. In terms of the rest of the hotel, the fitness room includes two treadmills, an elliptical machine, and a stationary bike. It also has some free weights and yoga mats. Again, nothing groundbreaking but enough to get a good workout in. I didn't try the pool but by the looks of it, it was clean and maintained very well. Breakfast was a standard hotel spread with eggs and sausage patties comprising the "hot" portion. All in all, a terrific stay and a hassle-free, pleasant experience. I expect to be back in the Columbia area quite often and will most definitely stay at this hotel. Job well done, SpringHill suites Columbia!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We had no idea what to expect from this hotel. We have stayed at another Springhill Marriott in Maryland a few years back and thought it was OK. It was easy to find the hotel, parking was more than adequate and at first look the Lobby was very modern stylistically. Check in was a breeze even at 10AM in the morning, and our room was first rate (also ultra modern) with private toilet room and a second private room for the shower and dressing table. There was a sofa and chair in the room as well, large flat screen TV, room darkening shades over a large window, European room locking (a master switch turns everything off when leaving), and of course a small refrig, microwave and coffee pot. All very nice. The daily free breakfast was not quite up to Marriott standards as it opened late, and the the serving area was along one wall causing a long line to form (unlike U shaped areas of the Fairfield Inn by Marriott where the congestion is far less with multiple simultaneous users). But overall, a great hotel and an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I don't usually stay at a Spring Hill Suites when traveling but I thought I would give this location a try. I will continue to use this location for my future business travel to Columbia. The rooms are clean and spacious. Plenty of room to spread out. Each room has a microwave and refrigerator. I happen to be on a special diet so these conveniences worked very well for me. Staff is very nice. Breakfast is average but included in the price so it makes it a nice extra. Ii have stayed in a couple of other locations in Columbia and I think this is definitely the best option.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, CT
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed overnight weekend of 4/14/12, very clean hotel, room was great, two queen beds with a sofabed. also included workstation, frig, microwave, two sinks, seperate tub and tolet, so one of us could use the bathroom, while someone else took a shower. The people at the front desk were friendly and the breakfast was great. Will definately write this hotel down for our next trip down south.

Room Tip: Ask for a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Stayed here in March for kids soccer tournament. Great hotel for families. The hotel is very comfortable, good size rooms, feels new. The staff were very friendly and tried to help with everything we needed. In the past I also stayed there for business and had a very good experience. Very good value, all that you need for a causal visit to the Columbia area. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbia

Address: 7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Columbia
#2 Business Hotel in Columbia
#2 Family Hotel in Columbia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbia is located south of Baltimore, north of Washington DC and 15 miles from Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). Our spacious, stylish suites include luxurious bedding, microwave, mini-fridge, large desk, complimentary high speed Internet, and flat screen TV. Additional amenities include free parking, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness center and indoor pool. Enjoy quick access to Camden Yards, M&T Bank Stadium, Maryland Zoo, Maryland Science Center, Baltimore National Aquarium, Fort Meade and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.