We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a nice hotel, loved the color scheme” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbia

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Columbia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ellenwood, GA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It was a nice hotel, loved the color scheme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed at the Springhill Suites in Columbia, MD. The hotel is one of the newer properties. The rooms were spacious and the hotel was very beautiful. The buffet breakfast was more than enough. Parking is free. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    41
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
39
17
4
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We took a random trip down to Baltimore and we try to stay at a different hotel each time. This time we chose Springhill Suites in Columbia, a little far from Baltimore but we drove and we saw great reviews for this hotel so we decided to give it a shot.

First of all, the hotel is so new that the address was not even available in our GPS and we have a 2010 model car! LOL. Anyways, when we arrived we found out why. It seems like it was recently built and there was even open land right next to it for more development. The hotel was brand new and the rooms were clean. The trendy design of the newer Springhill Suites is quite nice. The rooms are large with a separate living room area and sleeping area with a sliding glass panel/desk combination in between. The living are has a pull-out sofa bed. There are also separate showering and toilet rooms. The toilet and sink is in one tiny room and the tub and another sink is in another. I guess this allows someone to shower and someone to pee at the same time. The one thing that I am not too crazy about is the sliding doors for the bathrooms. They felt kinda cheap and doesn't really filter out noise. But besides that, the sheets are clean and there is a constant fragrant scent inside the room, could be the detergent used to clean the sheets.

The breakfast was good but the area got a little messy when we stayed but that could be due to all the kids. There are free computers next to te dining area to go online but when we were there they were slower than dial-up so they were pretty much useless. The gym has a weight set and two treadmills and ellipticals i believe. Overall, the hotel is sparkling clean and the food is decent and the rooms are modern.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

SpringHill Suites was a perfect choice for an extended business trip. The rooms are large with plenty of space to spread out. The decor is modern and attractive. There is a couch and table and refrigerator and microwave to handle late night meals. (And a Trader Joe's not too far away for stocking up.) There is good-sized desk area and the large flat screen TV swivels for viewing from any area. Wireless internet functioned well. Breakfast buffet always had a hot entree in addition to standard cereals and breads. Staff was friendly. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

This is an extremely nice hotel with very spacious rooms and a relaxing commons area. Even though the staff isn't exactly the friendliest out there to say the least, and housekeeping completely skipped cleaning my room on a day when they were understaffed, for the most part it have been a pleasure staying here and I would dare to say that it is an ideal location for business travellers.

However, the biggest complaint I have about the hotel is the internet service. It disconnected me on multiple occassions which was only resolved by contacting the Lodgenet technical support, and having to get escalated to their tier 2 support (after 30 minutes of trying to explain the tier 1 support staff that I already performed all of the client-side troubleshooting steps and that it's not a problem on my end), just to have their tier 2 support reboot their "server" / AP to resolve the problem. This occurred 2 days in a row, and on the 3rd day, I could only access about 50% of the sites that I attempted to access. EXTREMELY unreliable internet!

Room Tip: Priceline.com - NYOP - $80/night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

The hotel was chosen due to the proximity to the new location of 2011 Baltimore half-marathon race. The hotel is new, and looks like a converted former office building or a prison, but the interior designer leaves much to be desired. SO it looks like it looks. The furniture is the cheapest kind you can get, the room layout is unpractical. No sauna or steam room. The minuscule token gym is combined with the bath tub pool. The staff was unfriendly. The hotel has a non-smoking policy. They also refused to deal with smoking the next door. The staff admitted that there was smoking happening somewhere, but did nothing to fix the problem. The lobby and our room was full of smoke all night, even with fully opened windows. We were not moved to another room. The breakfast was served too late for runners to take advantage of, so the hotel was profiteering. The star rating was exaggerated, it hardly deserves 2 stars. DId anyone from the management ever tried to watch TV from any spot in the room without twisting their neck off completely. And those 60's formica colors and patterns all over! Never again we are staying there! One night too many! Still waiting for the response to my complaint to Marriott. And I am a member!

Room Tip: Just do not stay there. Full stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Dear Nickie 2011,

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Springhill Suites Columbia. Our hotel is quite unusual with a very modern and trendy interior design. Some of our features including the dual bathrooms, transitional living/work space and brightly colored lobby decor is very different than the more traditonal hotel experience.

All Marriott hotels have a non smoking policy. Unfortunately we do occasionally have guests that violate the policy and make other people's stay uncomofortable. It is unfortunate when it happens but I assure that we do everything that we can to address and remedy the situation.

Thank you for your comments. I assure you this experience is not typical and I hope it does not deter you from continuing to use Springhill Suites by Marriott for your lodging needs.

Thank you,

Johnetta Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

A decent suite - colleagues were turned off by the modern decor, but I appreciated it. The furniture and appointments are definitely "IKEA chic."

Front desk staff was extremely helpful upon check in, patiently providing multiple options and ensuring my comfort. Room was spacious, with more than adequate work surface areas and outlets, and reasonable wifi. Bed was average for comfort; housekeeping was invisible but did their work (a great compliment).

Unfortunately, even though our group was block-billed to our corporation, a hold was placed against my credit card for "incidentals." The amount of that hold was $530 - an astronomical figure for a credit card hold that does not include room rates. When I discovered this and called the property, they handled it wonderfully, apologizing for what they described as their mistake and calling my credit card company to resolve it sooner, rather than just wait for the hold to lapse. I truly appreciate that.

However, looking at the other reviews here, it seems that there are multiple mistakes made at the front desk, and that's just not acceptable at a property that is trying to cater to business travelers; we need to not spend time on sorting out errors.

Overall, a nice and clean property near to major roads but quiet for sleeping - we'll hope that they can tighten things up at the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Stayed here for one night in a double queen room. Large room, great sheets. One bathroom with a toilet and sink, and a separate one with a sink and shower, which was very nice. Helpful front desk. Buffet breakfast was fine, except for the revolting scrambled eggs, but hey. Beautiful lobby. Glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbia

Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia
Springhill Suites Columbia Hotel
Address: 7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Columbia
#5 Family Hotel in Columbia
#5 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbia is located south of Baltimore, north of Washington DC and 15 miles from Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). Our spacious, stylish suites include luxurious bedding, microwave, mini-fridge, large desk, complimentary high speed Internet, and flat screen TV. Additional amenities include free parking, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness center and indoor pool. Enjoy quick access to Camden Yards, M&T Bank Stadium, Maryland Zoo, Maryland Science Center, Baltimore National Aquarium, Fort Meade and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Columbia to your Saves list