We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay clouded by billing issues; resolved professionally” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Columbia to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gas and Go Package!
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good stay clouded by billing issues; resolved professionally”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

A decent suite - colleagues were turned off by the modern decor, but I appreciated it. The furniture and appointments are definitely "IKEA chic."

Front desk staff was extremely helpful upon check in, patiently providing multiple options and ensuring my comfort. Room was spacious, with more than adequate work surface areas and outlets, and reasonable wifi. Bed was average for comfort; housekeeping was invisible but did their work (a great compliment).

Unfortunately, even though our group was block-billed to our corporation, a hold was placed against my credit card for "incidentals." The amount of that hold was $530 - an astronomical figure for a credit card hold that does not include room rates. When I discovered this and called the property, they handled it wonderfully, apologizing for what they described as their mistake and calling my credit card company to resolve it sooner, rather than just wait for the hold to lapse. I truly appreciate that.

However, looking at the other reviews here, it seems that there are multiple mistakes made at the front desk, and that's just not acceptable at a property that is trying to cater to business travelers; we need to not spend time on sorting out errors.

Overall, a nice and clean property near to major roads but quiet for sleeping - we'll hope that they can tighten things up at the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    51
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
62
26
9
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, RI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Stayed here for one night in a double queen room. Large room, great sheets. One bathroom with a toilet and sink, and a separate one with a sink and shower, which was very nice. Helpful front desk. Buffet breakfast was fine, except for the revolting scrambled eggs, but hey. Beautiful lobby. Glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

We stopped over for one night drving down south and we found this hotel to be a great place to stay overnight. From the outside, it does look like it's still under construction for some reason but the inside was great. The room was spacious and comfortable. Has free internet and breakfast. Had a great night sleep, so I'd definitely stay again in my travels.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Booked a block of rooms at the Springhill for a Wedding. This hotel is fresh/clean and in a great location. That said, the service at the front desk is the worst I've experienced in years of traveling. They lost our reservation, gave us hard time about making a new reservation at the desk upon arrival, charged a 'no - show' fee for the reservation they lost, and then had an attitude when I called asking for an explanation.

This hotel could be great if they sorted out their serious lack of hospitality and organization. Sorry to say this place left a bad taste in our mouth.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Dear CrownedCapitol,

I apologize if you received less than courteous service during your stay. It is our goal to provide each guest with a warm and hospitable experience. I will ensure that the staff is made aware of your comments and uses your suggestions to improve the service that is provided. I appreicate your input and hope that you will return to the Springhill Suites Columbia in the near future.

Best regards,

Johnetta Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Beautiful hotel, very modern. Design is very attractive. Rooms were lovely, nice beds. Staff was nice, internet access was easy, indoor pool was a little too cold for my kids (ages 6 &13), complimentary breakfast was good & including eggs and breakfast meat. Hotel's surroundings had an "under construction" feel, but the hotel itself made up for that. Would definately stay again. *The pool is salt water.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Hi Samsmom3,

Thank you for your kind and encouraging words. I am happy that you and your children enjoyed your stay at the Springhill Suites Columbia. We try our best to be family friendly by providing amenities like free breakfast and an heated indoor pool. I hope you stay with us again on your next trip to Columbia.

Thank you again for your comments.

Johnetta Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

This is a 5 star hotel!! Hotel is beautiful & not just in the lobby, room was just as great! Staff was very friendly & helpful, above & beyond!! We have already book a room to stay again, HIGHLY RECOMENDED!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Dear ndvamp,

Wow, what a great review. I am so pleased that you had a great time at the Springhill Suites Columbia. I hope that you will come back soon and bring lots of your friends and family too. I will share your input with my staff so that they can see what excellent service means to a 5 Star guest. Please feel free to stop by the front desk to say hi, so I can thank you in person for your awesome comments.

Thank you,

Johnetta Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I'm a big fan of Springhill Suites. This one seems a bit newer, and a pretty good location, at least for Columbia. :) Easy access to 95, close by a few things to do and some good restaurants. The only problems I had with the hotel were minor things specific to the room. Sometimes its the little details that bug you, but overall it was a good experience.

If you care, the little things were the remote batteries were low so it wouldn't work from the bed. The door was crooked, so it was tight to close (although it closed and locked fine), and the light by the desk was plugged into the wrong outlet (non-switched) so a previous tenant unscrewed the bulb.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbia

Address: 7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Columbia
#2 Business Hotel in Columbia
#3 Family Hotel in Columbia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbia is located south of Baltimore, north of Washington DC and 15 miles from Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). Our spacious, stylish suites include luxurious bedding, microwave, mini-fridge, large desk, complimentary high speed Internet, and flat screen TV. Additional amenities include free parking, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness center and indoor pool. Enjoy quick access to Camden Yards, M&T Bank Stadium, Maryland Zoo, Maryland Science Center, Baltimore National Aquarium, Fort Meade and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.