We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel - Awful Front Desk” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbia

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Columbia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Columbia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hotel - Awful Front Desk”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Booked a block of rooms at the Springhill for a Wedding. This hotel is fresh/clean and in a great location. That said, the service at the front desk is the worst I've experienced in years of traveling. They lost our reservation, gave us hard time about making a new reservation at the desk upon arrival, charged a 'no - show' fee for the reservation they lost, and then had an attitude when I called asking for an explanation.

This hotel could be great if they sorted out their serious lack of hospitality and organization. Sorry to say this place left a bad taste in our mouth.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Dear CrownedCapitol,

I apologize if you received less than courteous service during your stay. It is our goal to provide each guest with a warm and hospitable experience. I will ensure that the staff is made aware of your comments and uses your suggestions to improve the service that is provided. I appreicate your input and hope that you will return to the Springhill Suites Columbia in the near future.

Best regards,

Johnetta Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    44
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
50
21
8
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Beautiful hotel, very modern. Design is very attractive. Rooms were lovely, nice beds. Staff was nice, internet access was easy, indoor pool was a little too cold for my kids (ages 6 &13), complimentary breakfast was good & including eggs and breakfast meat. Hotel's surroundings had an "under construction" feel, but the hotel itself made up for that. Would definately stay again. *The pool is salt water.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Hi Samsmom3,

Thank you for your kind and encouraging words. I am happy that you and your children enjoyed your stay at the Springhill Suites Columbia. We try our best to be family friendly by providing amenities like free breakfast and an heated indoor pool. I hope you stay with us again on your next trip to Columbia.

Thank you again for your comments.

Johnetta Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

This is a 5 star hotel!! Hotel is beautiful & not just in the lobby, room was just as great! Staff was very friendly & helpful, above & beyond!! We have already book a room to stay again, HIGHLY RECOMENDED!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Dear ndvamp,

Wow, what a great review. I am so pleased that you had a great time at the Springhill Suites Columbia. I hope that you will come back soon and bring lots of your friends and family too. I will share your input with my staff so that they can see what excellent service means to a 5 Star guest. Please feel free to stop by the front desk to say hi, so I can thank you in person for your awesome comments.

Thank you,

Johnetta Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I'm a big fan of Springhill Suites. This one seems a bit newer, and a pretty good location, at least for Columbia. :) Easy access to 95, close by a few things to do and some good restaurants. The only problems I had with the hotel were minor things specific to the room. Sometimes its the little details that bug you, but overall it was a good experience.

If you care, the little things were the remote batteries were low so it wouldn't work from the bed. The door was crooked, so it was tight to close (although it closed and locked fine), and the light by the desk was plugged into the wrong outlet (non-switched) so a previous tenant unscrewed the bulb.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusby, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Very clean, staff was friendly,breakfast was good. Not very sound proof in the rooms. Coffee was very strong.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

This was a nice hotel in an area that felt secure and safe. The staff was very friendly and professional. They responded to questions quickly and were very helpful overall. The room was clean and well equipped - keeping in mind Spring Hill Suites generally only have a microwave and refrigerator and not full mini-kitchens. The breakfast spread was adequate though vegetarian options could have been better.

The issues that causes me to give them four stars instead of five were the numerous problems on my bill and difficulty I had signing up for Marriot Rewards. My address and contact information contained more than one error and my name was spelled incorrectly. I met face to face with a different person than the one who initially took down my information and slowly dictated the needed changes line for line. When I received the new bill there was another error in my name. It is not an overly complex name to spell.

I also signed up for a new Marriot Rewards account when I was there. They initially messed up the account and a different person issued a different card. When I left I was still unsure which card was the correct one.

These were minor, but irksome, repeated errors that may have been due to new, nervous employees or insufficient training. Whatever the reason, they were consistently friendly and helpful. It was overall a great stay and I strongly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

The hotel is new, they tried a trendy up-scare design, but they just cant pull it off. The lobby has large curtains which seemed like more of what you would expect in a little girls bed-room. The rooms are small, very cold and very uncomfortable. The staff while not rude, are as cold as the surroundings (no smiles, very little talk). My rooms carpet was already stained in several places (an indicator that this place is just a few short years will be a dump). The beds are hard, pillows flat. I told them when I booked the hotel (through expedia) that I needed late checkout (4pm). I reconfirmed this when I checked in (everyone said fine). Suddently on the day of checkout my spouse gets a call in the room from the manager that there would be an additional charge. The hotel was empty - this charge was unnecessary- plus the un-smiling person who checked me in should have told me this (even though I reminded her of the late check out time). Finally this hotel is not in a great section of town. All in all a mistake.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbia

Address: 7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Columbia
#1 Business Hotel in Columbia
#4 Family Hotel in Columbia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbia 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbia is located south of Baltimore, north of Washington DC and 15 miles from Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). Our spacious, stylish suites include luxurious bedding, microwave, mini-fridge, large desk, complimentary high speed Internet, and flat screen TV. Additional amenities include free parking, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness center and indoor pool. Enjoy quick access to Camden Yards, M&T Bank Stadium, Maryland Zoo, Maryland Science Center, Baltimore National Aquarium, Fort Meade and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.