We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just don't leave your room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Inn at Peralynna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Columbia Inn at Peralynna to your Saves list
Columbia Inn at Peralynna
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   10605 Route 108, Columbia, MD 21044 (Formerly Columbia Suites at Peralynna)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Amenity
Ranked #1 of 1 Columbia B&B and Inns
Thurmont, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“just don't leave your room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The place seems like it used to be nice but now it's run down. We stayed to celebrate our five year wedding anniversary in the O suite which was beautiful, quiet and cozy but a little worn. The room is above average but the staff and facilities are way below. Breakfast was terrible. Terrible. All the food was stale or over cooked pre-frozen yuck. Fruit flies covered the rotting fruit that was served next to the yogurts. If you go, stay in your room and go out for breakfast or bring your own.

Room Tip: suite O, it's on the top floor, massive tub with a small tv in front, balcony, sitting room (but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We have to own this one! Our chef was missing that morning due to a sudden, unexpected death in her family, our Sous Chef was on medical leave and I was rushed to the hospital for an emergency procedure just as breakfast was ending ... All this on top of a very full house from the Phish Concert the night before!

We apologize to everyone for not being on our game that morning. We don't take your patronage lightly. We know how difficult and expensive it can be to get away. Please feel free to call me directly at peralynna@aol.com if anyone has any questions or concerns.

And we do appreciate everyone's patience for working with us that morning and for those kind souls that helped us out.

Lesson learned from that situation - we now have a back up chef on retainer for emergencies such as this.

Your friends at Peralynna,

David and Cynthia Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    19
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
12
72
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middle River, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband and I were searching for a Bed and Breakfast to stay at for our 1 year anniversary. We had a lengthy checklist for what we expected out of our anniversary stay and could not find one place that had even half of what we wanted. Finally after days of searching online, we found Peralynna! They had everything we wanted and more! Just to let you know one important item on our list... We wanted a bed and breakfast that actually served breakfast and didn't just offer a basket of muffins! I was stunned at how many places do this. And more? The breakfast was made to order with all free range and organic ingredients!! WOW! They also offer free wine and cheese and fruits and desserts during the day into the evening. They gave us menu's for all the restaurants nearby when we asked what was close and went above and beyond anything I have ever seen to accommodate us. More of our list included a king size bed, a tub big enough for two, fireplace, and a tv. Our room had it all. The bed was not only king but also a tempurpedic mattress!! And the Jacuzzi tub in the marble bathroom was amazing! They also have bathrobes and offer all the bathroom amenities that a hotel would with shampoo, conditioner, lotion, even make up remover cloths! This place is beautiful and so is everything in it and I have recommended it to everyone. In two months, my husband and I will be having our wedding reception here since we never had one when we first married. We are so excited and can not wait for our family and friends to see gorgeous Peralynna!

Room Tip: Suite O is the room we stayed in. It is very quiet and far from all the other rooms. We have also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for this amazing review. We could not be any more excited for your wedding reception at our home. We truly loved having you as our guests, and we cannot wait to meet your family and friends. We wish you a very happy anniversary and so many more to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This "bed & breakfast" has neither a timly bed, nor a breakfast. I paid $288 for a night and wish I stayed at the bates motel. At least Norman bates knew where the keys to the room were. And NO breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us.

We rarely have anyone miss our wonderful breakfasts, but we are distressed when it happens, usually due to a late night out and/or oversleeping in our amazing Tempurpedic beds!

Our made to order breakfast is served from 7-10 am on weekends and 6-9 am on weekdays, which is also stated on the confirmations and the registration form that we have our guest sign when checking in.

We know that doesn't help when you are late for breakfast and are hungry- but we do try our best to accommodate our late arriving guests if they arrive during the hour after closing when the kitchen is being cleaned and shut down for the day, and our chef is still on duty.

We welcome suggestions from anyone that can help us solve this dilemma- a bagel and piece of fruit isn't the same as a wonderful, fresh, hot smorgasbord of choices, but it is important to us that our guests leave Peralynna feeling cared for and satisfied.

Thank you all and we look forward to hearing your suggestions!

Your friends at Peralynna,

David and Cynthia Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Dirty carpets, wrinkled table cloths, just run down. Could be great with general upkeep and less clutter. Just felt dirty. Holes in sheets, dresser missing knobs. The only good thing was breakfast. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was our first experience at this inn and it was a wonderful one! The suite we had was extremely comfortable and lovely - especially the huge shower stall with the three sets of shower heads and the jets! We had not one but two porches on which to enjoy the outdoors and the breakfasts were "down home" and absolutely delicious. The staff could not have been more helpful or nicer - felt like I had known them for years! We would return in a heartbeat to this place. Loved it - well worth the prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your beautiful review! We take great pride in your kind words, and we will be sure to share this review with the entire team. Please stay with us again soon as we truly enjoyed your company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This was our second visit to the Inn. I found it more relaxing and enchanting than my first experience. I will plan on returning next June when we head north again to visit family and friends. The bedding and linen were outstanding as was the mattress on our king size bed. My breakfast was delicious, the PM snacks were just great. The only problem I experienced, was that I could not figure out how to work the TV set, and could find no one to instruct me on this issue.

Room Tip: learn how to get the TV up and running. Bring your cell phone, as there are no phones in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We truly love having you as our guest, and we look forward to your return next June. We sincerely apologize that you were unable to figure out the TV. We promise to look into this and don't hesitate to ask next year on your return visit. Thank you again for your beautiful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shippensburg,pa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The staff at the inn were very kind and welcoming. Our room was very spacious and clean! The bed and furniture were very comfortable. We came back from a concert late in the evening and enjoyed cupcakes and cookies. Princess was kind enough to print out directions to our next destination. Our breakfast needed a little improvement though. The pancakes were burnt and the cream of wheat was lacking. The cook did make good eggs over easy though and there were lots of other things to choose from!

Room Tip: We had the V suite on the second floor. It was spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of our bed and breakfast. We truly appreciate you sharing your experience with others. We take great pride in providing amazing service to all of our guests. We will be sure to evaluate our breakfast, and we hope to improve upon this for your next visit. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbia Inn at Peralynna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Inn at Peralynna

Address: 10605 Route 108, Columbia, MD 21044 (Formerly Columbia Suites at Peralynna)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbia Inn at Peralynna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Columbia Inn at Peralynna is a boutique hotel unlike any other, featuring 9 Elegant Jacuzzi Suites and a total of 19 Suites overall. Our inn features a unique blend of chic and elegant style, exceptional world-class amenities and gracious hospitality. The Columbia Inn has so much to offer: intimate weddings, family, corporate and private retreats, bridal and baby showers- all the events are top notch! The Columbia Inn at Peralynna is a place you feel comfortable staying for a night or three months. Our Inn is the home away from home to politicians, dignitaries, military personnel, notable musicians, government contractors, and more. We offer luxury, corporate, moderate, and economy suites to suit any budget. Most of our suites feature Tempurpedic mattresses, flat screen TV's, DVD players, electric fireplaces and luxurious bathrooms. All guests receive a complimentary gourmet breakfast, evening appetizers, deserts and beverages and complimentary wireless internet throughout our inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Columbia Inn at Peralynna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Suites At Peralynna Hotel Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Inn at Peralynna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.