We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience, but Perhaps not as great as it once was.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Inn at Peralynna

Save Saved
You added Columbia Inn at Peralynna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Columbia Inn at Peralynna
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   10605 Route 108, Columbia, MD 21044 (Formerly Columbia Suites at Peralynna)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Columbia B&B and Inns
1 review
“Good experience, but Perhaps not as great as it once was.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the O suite for our wedding anniversary. The suite was great - quiet, spacious and very comfortable with the king size tempurpedic bed. The linens were also very clean and comfortable.

The jacuzzi didn't work which was a pretty big disappointment, initially at least. The maintenance guy fixed it in a reasonable amount of time.

One feature I was excited about was the complimentary wine and snacks in the afternoon. We were both highly disappointed with the quality of wine served, as they only featured white wine at room temperature, not exactly refreshing.

The cooked to order breakfast was great. Everything on the menu looked good, and our omelets did not disappoint.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. I would recommend the O suite because it is so spacious and quiet: you really get the sense of what it must be like to stay in a countryside carriage house.

However, it seems the property is a little run down and in need of renovation, especially with the rates they charge.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards that day, and for that I sincerely apologize. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our entire team to work on improving the appearance of the Inn as well as repairing and inspecting all of our jacuzzis. We hope that you will give us a second chance soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    17
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
10
67
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
JOHNSTOWN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

They substitute out reserved turret suite with a crackerjack box sized room suite R. They said it was an upgrade and that they were booked and couldn't do anything about it. Even though we made our reservations well in advance and it was prepaid for the Turret suite. The jacuzzi in our suite had not been cleaned in quite a while. When we turned it on, black algae chunks about the size of a dime filled the tub. They then gave us the O suite for that first night, but we were told that we would have to return to the R suite for the second night because they had the O suite reserved.
The O suite had drains that didn't drain. the air conditioning didn't work in the bedroom. and the shower had steam jets that would not turn on. Night two, pack up our stuff and moved back to R suite. The Jacuzzi was better but still emitted black specks, So we just showered. I informed them on the that the toilet seat was very loose that morning, but it was still loose the night they moved us back in. I will say that the breakfast was good.
All in all, not a good experience. The place is fancy but needs kept up better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
On behalf of the entire team here, allow me to apologize for the ways we failed to meet your expectations. We are making a strong effort to work on each point of your review. I would love to speak with you further about your stay and invite you back to prove to you we are better than your recent experience. Please contact me at 410-715-4600 to discuss your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Peralynna at the end of May 2012 to the second week of June 2012. We traveled with our 11 year old daughter and 8 month old son, and we stayed in one of the basement apartments. The apartment itself was huge, much more like a large one bedroom apartment than a room available in a bed and breakfast. We had a full kitchen, living room, master bedroom area, and second bedroom area with 2 beds and its own exit outside. We were also situated outside of the game room that had a large television, comfy squishy couches, and pool table. It was great, quiet and plenty of freedom. I had no problem letting my 11 year old hang out around the inn, and everyone loved our baby. Breakfast every morning was great, the choices were excellent, and of the 2 weeks we stayed there, I think my husband had a different meal every day. There were also snacks available in the afternoon, like cheese, crackers,and fruit, with a different sweet under the cake glass every day. Unlimited wine available all day went great with the cheese and crackers. :) In the afternoons we explored the "countryside" and went to the petting zoo down the road, and in the evenings, we caught fireflies in the large backyard, or grabbed a dvd from their large selection and had the option of sitting in our own living room or in the game room with the giant television. It was great. Definitely a spoiling experience!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that we could accommodate your family, and we look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a great trip up to Columbia, MD from Washington, DC on a beautiful fall weekend. The location of the Columbia Inn is great if you are looking to get away for a short trip or are heading to the legendary music venue - the Merriweather Pavillion - and need a close-by place to stay. We were impressed with the main house and the intimacy of the decor. Creative nooks designed by the hosts created for relaxing places to read, relax and even watch the game with free sodas (a nice touch!). However, we could not overlook the disparity between the lack of wow factor of our room and what was available online as a description. The price point of this inn is that of a five star hotel in Manhattan but what you get is more of a quaint comfortable somewhat quirky country inn. We had a great night of sleep on a more than comfortable bed with clean sheets, towels and the like. But that added touch, a jacuzzi tub, was a big disappointment when it was the size of an undersized regular tub which we already had at our own place. If you do stay here, save up your money and go big with the honeymoon suite. They showed us this room and it looked like what we had hoped ours would be. Nice weekend but a bit overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologize that your room did not meet your expectations, and we hope that you will give us a second chance soon. We are pleased to hear you were able to relax during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We didn't want to drive too far for a short weekend getaway and this was the perfect location. It was only about 50 min out for us but felt a world away (there were sheep across the street from the property). We stayed in Suite A which was amazing! The shower had so many jets there was no where in the shower you could stand and not get wet. The jet tub in the room was also fun! And the tempurpedic mattress on the king bed has convinced me to buy one for my house.

Breakfast was really good too. They make it to order, I highly recommend the potatoes.

The property itself is a huge mansion with many common areas to sit around and chat or have a cup of tea.

Overall a great stay and we will definitely be back to check out some of the other suites!

Room Tip: Get the suites and not the econ rooms in the basement if you want to treat yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
We truly appreciate your kind review. Please call us anytime you need another relaxing weekend away. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

First let me say that me and my girlfriend stayed at this b&b for the first time in september of 2011, we had the best room in the hotel the first nite and the second nite we moved to an averge one. Since we were so happy with the "romance suite" or Suite "C" last year, we decided to go again this year but this time 3 nites on the best suite. Neadless to say, the whole stay cost close to 1,000 bucks so, based on that, we expected a good service. I dont know what happened to this place in a year, but let me tell you that the service was really relaxed and poor, the jacuzzi tub was dirty in a unfixeabke way, everytime we would turn on the bubble maker, pieces of rust will come out, the outdated and old tv/dvd set had no control for the dvd, breakfast was terrible compare to the previous year and it can only be compare to a breakfast from a dive gas station in the middle of the evergaldes with a one arm one eye cook.....ok im rambling but im pretty upset, this place has ruined it for us in columbia, and they would defenetly not het our money ever again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
On behalf of the entire team here, allow me to apologize for the ways we failed to meet your expectations. I am saddened to hear your stay was not perfect at our Inn. We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better. We are working hard to resolve the issues with the jacuzzi tub. We ask that you give us another chance to prove our award winning service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Columbia Suites at Peralynna for my birthday weekend. We stayed in the C Suite, which is the Presidential Suite and the largest suite at the B&B. The room included a wet bar with microwave and mini-fridge; 2 fireplaces (sitting area and bathroom); a huge dressing room with walk-in closet and vanity; a circular Jacuzzi tub and rain shower; and a comfortable king-sized bed.

We enjoyed the following about our stay:

+ Complimentary tasting at the Elk Run Winery;
+ Friendly inn staff;
+ Evening snacks (cookies, cake, fruit, and crackers) and wine;
+ Cooked-to-order-breakfast (French toast, pancakes, omelettes);
+ Comfortable community areas (great room, library, game room);
+ Convenient location to Columbia Mall and Arundel Mills; and
+ Good selection of cable channels.

We noted the following areas for improvement:

- A little more shabby than chic (worn furniture, scuffed paint);
- Random hairs in bathroom (noticed upon check-in); and
- Private balconies did not appear safe to access.

Room Tip: The C Suite, which is the Presidential Suite, is the largest suite at the B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience. We are glad our hard working staff provided you with a relaxing night away. We will definitely look into the areas of improvement you wrote about. We appreciate you sharing these items so we can continue to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbia Inn at Peralynna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Inn at Peralynna

Address: 10605 Route 108, Columbia, MD 21044 (Formerly Columbia Suites at Peralynna)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbia Inn at Peralynna 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Columbia Inn at Peralynna is a boutique hotel unlike any other, featuring 9 Elegant Jacuzzi Suites and a total of 19 Suites overall. Our inn features a unique blend of chic and elegant style, exceptional world-class amenities and gracious hospitality. The Columbia Inn has so much to offer: intimate weddings, family, corporate and private retreats, bridal and baby showers- all the events are top notch! The Columbia Inn at Peralynna is a place you feel comfortable staying for a night or three months. Our Inn is the home away from home to politicians, dignitaries, military personnel, notable musicians, government contractors, and more. We offer luxury, corporate, moderate, and economy suites to suit any budget. Most of our suites feature Tempurpedic mattresses, flat screen TV's, DVD players, electric fireplaces and luxurious bathrooms. All guests receive a complimentary gourmet breakfast, evening appetizers, deserts and beverages and complimentary wireless internet throughout our inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Columbia Inn at Peralynna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Suites At Peralynna Hotel Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Inn at Peralynna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.