We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hosts, great complimentary breakfast, Average accommodations for a high price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Inn at Peralynna

Save Saved
You added Columbia Inn at Peralynna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Columbia Inn at Peralynna
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   10605 Route 108, Columbia, MD 21044 (Formerly Columbia Suites at Peralynna)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Columbia B&B and Inns
Alabama, New York
1 review
“Friendly hosts, great complimentary breakfast, Average accommodations for a high price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a great trip up to Columbia, MD from Washington, DC on a beautiful fall weekend. The location of the Columbia Inn is great if you are looking to get away for a short trip or are heading to the legendary music venue - the Merriweather Pavillion - and need a close-by place to stay. We were impressed with the main house and the intimacy of the decor. Creative nooks designed by the hosts created for relaxing places to read, relax and even watch the game with free sodas (a nice touch!). However, we could not overlook the disparity between the lack of wow factor of our room and what was available online as a description. The price point of this inn is that of a five star hotel in Manhattan but what you get is more of a quaint comfortable somewhat quirky country inn. We had a great night of sleep on a more than comfortable bed with clean sheets, towels and the like. But that added touch, a jacuzzi tub, was a big disappointment when it was the size of an undersized regular tub which we already had at our own place. If you do stay here, save up your money and go big with the honeymoon suite. They showed us this room and it looked like what we had hoped ours would be. Nice weekend but a bit overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologize that your room did not meet your expectations, and we hope that you will give us a second chance soon. We are pleased to hear you were able to relax during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    17
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
10
68
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We didn't want to drive too far for a short weekend getaway and this was the perfect location. It was only about 50 min out for us but felt a world away (there were sheep across the street from the property). We stayed in Suite A which was amazing! The shower had so many jets there was no where in the shower you could stand and not get wet. The jet tub in the room was also fun! And the tempurpedic mattress on the king bed has convinced me to buy one for my house.

Breakfast was really good too. They make it to order, I highly recommend the potatoes.

The property itself is a huge mansion with many common areas to sit around and chat or have a cup of tea.

Overall a great stay and we will definitely be back to check out some of the other suites!

Room Tip: Get the suites and not the econ rooms in the basement if you want to treat yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
We truly appreciate your kind review. Please call us anytime you need another relaxing weekend away. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

First let me say that me and my girlfriend stayed at this b&b for the first time in september of 2011, we had the best room in the hotel the first nite and the second nite we moved to an averge one. Since we were so happy with the "romance suite" or Suite "C" last year, we decided to go again this year but this time 3 nites on the best suite. Neadless to say, the whole stay cost close to 1,000 bucks so, based on that, we expected a good service. I dont know what happened to this place in a year, but let me tell you that the service was really relaxed and poor, the jacuzzi tub was dirty in a unfixeabke way, everytime we would turn on the bubble maker, pieces of rust will come out, the outdated and old tv/dvd set had no control for the dvd, breakfast was terrible compare to the previous year and it can only be compare to a breakfast from a dive gas station in the middle of the evergaldes with a one arm one eye cook.....ok im rambling but im pretty upset, this place has ruined it for us in columbia, and they would defenetly not het our money ever again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
On behalf of the entire team here, allow me to apologize for the ways we failed to meet your expectations. I am saddened to hear your stay was not perfect at our Inn. We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better. We are working hard to resolve the issues with the jacuzzi tub. We ask that you give us another chance to prove our award winning service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Columbia Suites at Peralynna for my birthday weekend. We stayed in the C Suite, which is the Presidential Suite and the largest suite at the B&B. The room included a wet bar with microwave and mini-fridge; 2 fireplaces (sitting area and bathroom); a huge dressing room with walk-in closet and vanity; a circular Jacuzzi tub and rain shower; and a comfortable king-sized bed.

We enjoyed the following about our stay:

+ Complimentary tasting at the Elk Run Winery;
+ Friendly inn staff;
+ Evening snacks (cookies, cake, fruit, and crackers) and wine;
+ Cooked-to-order-breakfast (French toast, pancakes, omelettes);
+ Comfortable community areas (great room, library, game room);
+ Convenient location to Columbia Mall and Arundel Mills; and
+ Good selection of cable channels.

We noted the following areas for improvement:

- A little more shabby than chic (worn furniture, scuffed paint);
- Random hairs in bathroom (noticed upon check-in); and
- Private balconies did not appear safe to access.

Room Tip: The C Suite, which is the Presidential Suite, is the largest suite at the B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience. We are glad our hard working staff provided you with a relaxing night away. We will definitely look into the areas of improvement you wrote about. We appreciate you sharing these items so we can continue to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Although the inn has some charm, the owners have neglected to maintain it properly. The carpets were so stained and dirty, we did not take our shoes off. The walls throughout the hotel were dirty with scuff marks and patches of paint. Some of the doors in our suite did not fit the frames properly; thereby letting in noise and light and interfering with sleep. Although food was decent, we never saw anyone in the kitchen using gloves. The man putting out the snacks in the afternoon was popping some of the crackers in his mouth while doing so. The grounds have the potential to be beautiful, but are unkept. The orante frames on the mirrors are covered in dust. If this place was rennovated and management put money into maintaining it, it might live up to its potential - and the promises of its website.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
I sincerely apologize for all of these problems, and hope to be able meet you on a return visit to our Inn if you'll give us another opportunity to prove to you our award-winning service. I will be sure to share your experience with each staff member to resolve each one of your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

As a local, I recently took a tour of the facilities at Peralynna (with the intent of booking a special weekend for my wife's birthday), and was completely blown away! The owners were there and couldn't have been kinder, more helpful or more charming. They are very proud of Peralynna and with good reason. The structure, architecture, decorating reminded me of the great luury hotels and B&Bs of Europe. Everything was emaculate and they even invited me to dinner over the weekend, their treat! So without telling her what I planned, I took my wife to dinner on a weekend. We found the food fresh/seasonal, homecooked and very tasty and interesting, with a nice selection of wine. Again, the decor was completely charming. They also had entertainment that night and the "house-band" was fantastic, they really put the finishing touches on a perfect evening. I plan to book a suite shortly for my wife's birthday and have alerted out-of-town friends and family about this gem in the Maryland countryside

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. We take great proud in our beautiful Inn as well as our dedicated and hardworking staff. We look forward to your return, and we appreciate you letting your friends and family know all about us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I recently accepted a job in Columbia, MD and needed a place to stay for a couple weeks while I arranged permanent housing. I was fretting about living in Extended Stay USA for two weeks and almost didn’t check out The Inn at Peralynna because it was a B&B and would be too expensive. What a charming and heartwarming experience I would have missed.

The building is striking, the grounds are attractive, the rolling Maryland countryside is lovely, and nearby Centennial Park provides a peaceful, forested walk around a beautiful lake with rentable canoes. Owners Cynthia and David have designed an elegant yet thoroughly homey inn where this guest felt immediately relaxed, comfortable, and well, at home (David’s maxim: if the door’s unlocked, open it; and if you see food, eat it). The 20 or so rooms are uniquely and tastefully decorated and range from a large, inexpensive basement room to suites with huge bathrooms, fireplaces, spas, decks, and private entrances. I spent most nights in the basement room - - like most, it included a Tempur-Pedic mattress and kitchen area with fridge and microwave. It was pleasantly adjacent to the large game room with pool table, 70-inch TV plus 150 DVDs, full stove and fridge (and cooking privileges, if I wished), and washer/dryer.

Breakfasts are individually and deliciously prepared by Connie, who will cook any eggs, omelettes, pancakes, French toast, or bacon/sausage combo you can think of. There is hot and cold cereal, fresh fruit, muffins and bagels, and coffees and teas with which to stuff yourself or your backpack for lunch. All this is served in a sunny, two-story, expansive great room with skylights, windows, and 50’s rock and roll in the background. There is another dark wooded, overstuffed-couched sitting room for the more private morning or evening rendezvous as well as a charming Japanese tea room.

Did I mention the free dinner and dance nights that occur one weekend a month? Or the friendly, helpful staff (that’s you, Harry)? Or the abundant and eclectic pieces of art and statuary? Or the daily afternoon/evening buffet of wine, cheese, veggies, and munchies?

These wonderful people and their inn provided an experience I will never forget and for which I will always be grateful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review of our Inn. We take great pride in our home and customer service. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and providing you with the same great service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbia Inn at Peralynna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Inn at Peralynna

Address: 10605 Route 108, Columbia, MD 21044 (Formerly Columbia Suites at Peralynna)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbia Inn at Peralynna 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Columbia Inn at Peralynna is a boutique hotel unlike any other, featuring 9 Elegant Jacuzzi Suites and a total of 19 Suites overall. Our inn features a unique blend of chic and elegant style, exceptional world-class amenities and gracious hospitality. The Columbia Inn has so much to offer: intimate weddings, family, corporate and private retreats, bridal and baby showers- all the events are top notch! The Columbia Inn at Peralynna is a place you feel comfortable staying for a night or three months. Our Inn is the home away from home to politicians, dignitaries, military personnel, notable musicians, government contractors, and more. We offer luxury, corporate, moderate, and economy suites to suit any budget. Most of our suites feature Tempurpedic mattresses, flat screen TV's, DVD players, electric fireplaces and luxurious bathrooms. All guests receive a complimentary gourmet breakfast, evening appetizers, deserts and beverages and complimentary wireless internet throughout our inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Columbia Inn at Peralynna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Suites At Peralynna Hotel Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Inn at Peralynna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.