We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place for lunch or dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Houlihan's

Houlihan's
8240 Gateway Overlook Drive, Columbia, MD
+1 410-782-6016
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 224 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Forget 'casual dining.' That's an industry term so out of touch with how consumers eat and drink today. For premium quality and style; fare that's at times familiar and other times adventurous and a laid-back modern setting, Houlihan's is a true original.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fun place for lunch or dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I usually meet friends here for lunch and we have never had a meal we didn't rave about. The burgers are great and salads huge. Efficient, friendly staff. My only complaint, and the reason I refuse to give this deserving places 5 stars, is that they continue to charge for rolls with meals.I like to have something to munch on when drinking wine before the meal comes and after paying for wine, and a meal, I refuse to pay for a few rolls to go along with them!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts, USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“I wish their were a Houlihan's in my town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a great place and I typically avoid chains. The service was great, the menu extensive and the food delicious. It really did not have a "chain" feel to it. Great wine and martini selections. If you haven't been to Houlihan's your missing something.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can be loud, but the food was surprisingly good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Was expecting Chili's type experience, but the food was much better - a few dollars more expensive, but worth it. Food took a while to arrive even when the restaurant wasn't crowded, but still worth the wait.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Music too loud. Lackluster customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Went for a quick lunch on Monday. Hostess was away but woman got twos us and waited for hostess to return. This woman, no idea what her function was, told her the table number. We got to table and light was flickering like it was a ceiling fan spinning. We requested a new table from woman at front. Staring at 20 menus she wanted the ones on the table. She then said we would have to wait for hostess again. People in restaurant were yelling to be heard over loud music. Not an enjoyable experience.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“What a nice surpriseI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I know now that this is a national chain but didn't know it when I arrived. The greeting was friendly, the wait to be seated short (even though the restaurant was very busy) and the service was fast, friendly and very accommodating (trust me, to find this kind of service any where in the DC-Baltimore corridor is a miracle!). The food was excellent. I had the stuffed chicken breast which was filled with an herb, cream cheese filling and accompanied by very fresh vegetables. Wonderful. Another factor you may like;in addition to the entrees they have small plates that you can choose: three or four of these make for a full meal.
I'l be back!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houlihan's also viewed

 

Been to Houlihan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houlihan's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.