We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Motel

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Motel to your Saves list
Super 8 Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9150 Baltimore Ave., College Park, MD 20740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 hotels in College Park
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    30
    11
    16
See reviews for
21
16
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

While it's not the Ritz, I didn't expect it to be. For the price, and for what I needed, it was fine. The bed was surprisingly comfortable. The room was huge, for which I was grateful. We were traveling with a cat, which made it difficult to find a hotel that would let us in without charging an arm and a leg. I was grateful for the very reasonable pet fee and the allowance for pets. I would suggest doing away with the breakfast as there isn't enough room at this location to make it really worth the effort. A back way out of the parking lot sure would be nice. This particular location is on a very busy street. Forget about turning left! Turn right, then go around the block. I've never seen so much traffic. That said, I never heard it inside the room. The room itself had a smell when we first arrived (smoke, I think, or something stale). The windows were open but that hadn't helped air it out any. I sprayed room freshener which did help. The internet was completely worthless. The TV not much better. I ended up using the iPad with 3G which streamed a lot faster than the internet in the hotel and provided a better picture than the tv. However, for the money, this hotel was fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Overall okay. A few minor issues. Most annoying was the odor from the ac/heat pump. It went away eventually, but odor was strong when first entering room. Not a good first impression.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights for an event at UM. We booked last minute and there was not much availability. I got it for less than 75 a night with taxes includes on Priceline. We usually stay at mariotts so I was a little Leary however the mariott in the area was more for 1 night than what I was paying for a week!
Upon check in we were told we had a king smoking for 3 of us due to Priceline. I could handle the king but not the smoking. I checked out the room and it smelled so badly of smoke. No way could I stay there 4 nights. We checked several rooms and ended up with a handicap non smoking with a queen bed. The front desk was extremely accommodating. His hands were tied as they were sold out. The queen would no way sleep all 3 of us. We went and got a cot at the store. The hotel gave us sheets.
The hotel was older. It had newer paint and carpet. The tile in bath was old. It was pretty clean. There was a hair in the shower. But we saw no bugs and there were no other complaints. We didn't try the complimentary breakfast. It was a very small setup and they didn't have room for much.
The hotel was quiet and I felt safe. Front desk man super nice! He is the only reason I stayed! I was ready to take a loss and look for another hotel when we ended up with the queen. Glad I stayed.
Next time I will probably plan in advance and stay elsewhere however in a pinch this hotel is not too bad.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

Just run down and dirty. Do yourself a favor and move along.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed long enough to gag from the smell, notice the dead bugs hanging from the cob webs and getting my jeans damp from the wet spot on the lazy boy. I am still grossed out a week later.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Motel

Address: 9150 Baltimore Ave., College Park, MD 20740
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 hotels in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Super 8 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hotel College Park
Super 8 College Park
Super Eight College Park
College Park Super 8
College Park Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.