We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're on a budget, this hotel is doable!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Motel

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Motel to your Saves list
Super 8 Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9150 Baltimore Ave., College Park, MD 20740   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 hotels in College Park
Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“If you're on a budget, this hotel is doable!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights for an event at UM. We booked last minute and there was not much availability. I got it for less than 75 a night with taxes includes on Priceline. We usually stay at mariotts so I was a little Leary however the mariott in the area was more for 1 night than what I was paying for a week!
Upon check in we were told we had a king smoking for 3 of us due to Priceline. I could handle the king but not the smoking. I checked out the room and it smelled so badly of smoke. No way could I stay there 4 nights. We checked several rooms and ended up with a handicap non smoking with a queen bed. The front desk was extremely accommodating. His hands were tied as they were sold out. The queen would no way sleep all 3 of us. We went and got a cot at the store. The hotel gave us sheets.
The hotel was older. It had newer paint and carpet. The tile in bath was old. It was pretty clean. There was a hair in the shower. But we saw no bugs and there were no other complaints. We didn't try the complimentary breakfast. It was a very small setup and they didn't have room for much.
The hotel was quiet and I felt safe. Front desk man super nice! He is the only reason I stayed! I was ready to take a loss and look for another hotel when we ended up with the queen. Glad I stayed.
Next time I will probably plan in advance and stay elsewhere however in a pinch this hotel is not too bad.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    30
    11
    16
See reviews for
21
17
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

Just run down and dirty. Do yourself a favor and move along.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed long enough to gag from the smell, notice the dead bugs hanging from the cob webs and getting my jeans damp from the wet spot on the lazy boy. I am still grossed out a week later.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bessemer, PA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

This had to be the nastiest place I ever stayed. The chair had some kind of stains on it, it was totally filthy something that should of been thrown in the dumpster, The one bed had urine stains all through the sheets and comforter. Totally filthy. Had the do not disturb card in the door went in the room the maid was in there with the door shut doing who knows what, probably rooting through our belongings. Avoid this place at all cost, you would be better off sleeping in your car.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

We booked a room here for 2 nights this week because we were having work done on our place and couldn't stay there. The room was so disgusting we turned around and left before we even unpacked. The place is dingy and musty, the smoke alarm was hanging by wires from the ceiling, the easy chair in the room was stained and greasy. The furniture was visibly dirty. We lifted the sheets to check for bedbugs and there was a HUGE yellow stain on the mattress. The carpet was ratty and dirty looking. This place is dodgy and gross - don't bother trying to stay here! It is not worth it!! I do have to give the front desk credit, they allowed us to check back out and did not charge us for the room even though we had made a "non-refundable" reservation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We booked two rooms in this hotel as we were travelling with extended family and our young daughter at the time. The walls in rooms were stained with some kind of brown substance, the ceilings were cracked and brown, the room smelled of urine, which came from the air conditioning unit. Needless to say, we got out of there asap. We had to loose some cash due to hotel policy, but I could not live with myself if I had my family stay there. When you get to this hotel, stand in front of it, look across the street at the Ramada that is there, and run to it do not walk as you may get sucked into the hell of Super 8.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We stayed three nights at this hotel in College Park while spending the Independence Day holiday in Washington D.C. No frills hotel... just a spot to rest, sleep, and that's about it.

The hotel is located off of Baltimore Avenue, which was always busy with traffic, so it was a little noisy in the room with the window open. A/C worked just fine. Bed was comfortable with nice pillows. Lots of tv channels to chose from. The bathroom was a bit warn as well as the carpet in our room. The shower drained very slowly. We skipped the available (yet very small) breakfast and went to Dunkin Donuts up the road every morning. The hotel overall could use a makeover. The hotel's location was convenient as we could just hop onto the interstate and drive a few miles to the Greenbelt Metro station parking lot and park free (on weekends) to ride the Metro into D.C.

I'd recommend this hotel if you aren't staying long and just need a place to sleep. If you want a 4-star hotel, find somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Motel

Address: 9150 Baltimore Ave., College Park, MD 20740
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 hotels in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Super 8 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hotel College Park
Super 8 College Park
Super Eight College Park
College Park Super 8
College Park Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.