We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to metro and good price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7200 Baltimore Avenue, College Park, MD 20740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in College Park
Twin Cities, MN
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Close to metro and good price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is a typical Quality Inn for the most part in my opinion. They offer free breakfast with waffles in the morning. The best part of this hotel is it's price and the fact its about a 10 minute walk from the College Park Subway on the Green Line. If you want to save a little money instead of staying closer to all the sites, this is the place. Its about a 25 minute train ride to the sites of DC. This was the second time staying here. The rooms are (motel like meaning the doors open to the outside). It is an older hotel, so there are no bells and whistles. And that was fine for us as we were there for 3 nights mostly to take in all the sites and then also a Redskins game (about 50 minutes of subway rides to Fed Ex). For what we wanted to do, it works perfect. It is near the U of Maryland campus and thus we always felt safe walking to and from the subway regardless of what time it was. There is an outdoor pool that we didn't use due to our trip being in November.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    31
    40
    33
    36
See reviews for
45
13
23
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jyvaskyla
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Free parking, breakfast included, wi-fi, good location, quiet enough, table and bed. That's what I needed and that's what they had.
Ok, let's be frank, place has seen its best days, but it was clean enough, no dirt no pests. Sheets were clean and bathroom was ok. It had both air-conditioning and heating. In my room airconditioning was quite noisy, but I think the machine had seen its best days. It worked, though.
Hotel's location was good - I had a car, so easy access from Baltimore avenue both to highways and to Washington was important for me - those I had. Also, easy walk to train station and Washington metro was a bonus.
Restaurants were within an easy reach, but happily, hotel was at the edge of the restaurant area, which kept noisy student groups out of the area. That was good, too.
Breakfast was barebones, but they have it and it's complimentary. They even had morning papers.
Wi-fi worked well and that was important.
So, if you don't keep your exceptations too high, this place works well.
I was in the high-rise (5 floors), can't tell about the two-floor buildings. Some of the rooms apparently had kitchens, my room did not have, and there was no refridgerator neither, which I would always value myself.
I slept well, give a plus for that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was by myself on business, and had a small single room in the high rise portion of the hotel. A little stuffy maybe, but nothing to complain about. The exercise room was pretty good, but the pool was closed when I stayed there (early Oct). I was able to walk to my meetings, to the Metro, and to a couple of cheaper restaurants, which met my needs. The staff were mostly helpful, though it was sometimes hard to get their attention at the desk, as the lone employee tried to keep up with phone calls and guests. The van service is combined with another hotel up the road, so when you board the van you may drive around a while before getting where you want to go, which I wish they had let me know up front as I would have just walked.

The breakfast was typical motel fare -- lots of bread and spread, weak coffee, hard boiled eggs (which, despite the sign saying not to, people kept putting in the microwave to warm, which makes them explode) and DIY waffles with viscous corn sweetener masquerading as maple syrup.

Overall, pretty much what I expected, and was sufficient for what I needed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chalfont, pa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed one night while visiting our son at University of Maryland. It is convenient to campus. Our room was clean and the included breakfast was acceptable, although since it was parents' weekend, the hotel was very crowded and there was inadequate seating when everyone converged at 9:00 a.m. for breakfast. The good news is that is just across from Plato's Diner - excellent food but get there early or expect a ridiculous wait for Sunday morning breakfast. Unfortunately, I would not stay there again because at 3:30 a.m., we were awakened by someone attempting to enter our room with his key. Even after we shouted "wrong room!" he returned and tried to get in again. I called the front desk and asked them to deal with it or else I would call the police. Pretty disturbing. Guess it could happen anywhere but needless to say, it was a while before I was able to fall back asleep. There are a number of hotels of this type in the area and next time I'll choose a different one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I booked this trip using Priceline. I booked for 2 nights. When we arrived it was late (after 10pm), and we were not very pleased with the room, but being too tired to ask to change it, we stayed. It was an outside ground floor room. There was a gap under the door. I put a towel down so no critters could come in during the night (hoping there weren't any already there). The shower head needed to be replaced, you could pull the pipe right out of the wall in the shower. The next day we asked for a different room. We were put on the second floor and it was a much better room. I wonder if Priceline rooms are the ones they don't take care of very well since it is much cheaper than the hotel rate. The free breakfast was ok. There were bagels, toast, muffins, waffle maker, juices and coffee. The staff was accommodating and pleasant when we asked for a different room, so that was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Good hotel stay. Good size room with all necessary amenities and reasonable cleaningness. The staffs were friendly and helpful. A nice perk is the computer at the lobby for checking email or looking up a point of interest and a map. Did not bring along a laptop for the family trip, so this is especially convenient. The hot breakfast has a good selection of choices, but the couple nights we stayed there, there was a big group of people staying at the hotel for some kind of convention, so the lobby was extremely crowded during breakfast time.

Chose the hotel for the proximity to Washington DC and its price. Just a 10 to 15 minute walk to the subway station, not even need to utilize the free shuttle service. Get to see all the DC attractions by subway, avoiding the traffic and parking headache, while paying reasonable cost for hotel stay. Various restaurants within a short driving distance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My family and I stayeda t this hotel for 4 nights recently and were very pleased. The location is great (just down the street from the University of Maryland), it's 3 blocks from the Metro Station and they offer a shuttle service to and from the station, the staff is efficient, friendly and very knowledgeable of the area. Our room was a good size (there were three of us) and we were able to spread out comfortably. My favorite part of the room was probably the shower. the water pressure was wonderful (better than any hotel I've even been to and better thanmy home shower!). No matter what time of day someone took a shower, there was never a probelm with the water pressure or getting hotel water.

The hotel is about 9 miles from Washington DC so it's easy to take the Metro into the city.

The hotel pool is great - very large and there was hardly anyone using it when we were there so it was like we had it to ourselves.

We will definitely stay in this hotel again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 7200 Baltimore Avenue, College Park, MD 20740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 min drive to Washington DC. We are 3 blocks away from metro station. FREE SHUTTLE to metro. 1 block away from UMD. Grand deluxe complimentary breakfast. Free Wireless Internet. Grand Pool and fitness center. Non - smoking Single rooms in TOWER BUILDING with elevator. Also available, Quads with Microwave and Fridge and Upgraded Suite with Kitchenette. We have banquet space for 50 -250 people.BWI, Dulles, Reagan. All accessible through Metro station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel College Park
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn College Park
College Park Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.