We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Would Definitely Stay Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Washington College Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Washington College Park to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10000 Baltimore Ave, College Park, MD 20740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great Location - Would Definitely Stay Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

We went down for business reasons because my husband attends the Uof Maryland in College Park. The location of the hotel was great in reference to the college. The hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly. There was easy parking and access to the entrances. The hotel restaurant was not that great - overcharged for just average food quality. The room itself was very clean and the bed was quite comfortable. The only glitch in our stay is that the cable TV was not receiving all channels all the time. After calling the desk to inquire about this, they said this was due to a recent storm and that they are still working to fix the problem. We stayed two nights and the problem was not fixed by the time we left. Despite this minor issue, we would definitely recommend this as one the best places to stay in the College Park area. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    71
    53
    28
    12
See reviews for
77
27
13
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

This was my second stay at the Holiday Inn in College Park. It wasn't my first choice to stay, but the Hampton Inn, down the street was much more expensive to stay. We stayed here because the rate was very good. Checking in was a little crazy for us. We had trouble finding our room, which was located in Tower 2, and spent ten minutes looking for it. We dragged ourselves back to the desk, got better directions and found our room. Even though our room was a non smoking room, it stank of cigarettes. We dragged ourselves back to the main desk. They apologized for all the problems we encountered. We were given another room, which was fine. The only thing I would have appreciated was if the desk clerk , who checked us in, gave us either an upgraded room or a free breakfast. for all the annoyances we encountered. That would have been good business.

To be honest, I would prefer the Hampton Inn over the Holiday Inn, but it depends on what rate you get. We don't spend too much time in our room,, so I don't know if I can rationalize spending more than $50 more to stay at the Hampton. I think the Hampton inflates their prices when they know there are events at University of Maryalnd.

,

  • Liked — The price of the room
  • Disliked — The public spaces and exterior could use an update
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

The Holiday Inn - College Park Maryland is not great, but its a decent hotel. The things that I liked:
1) Free shuttle which will take you within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. All the drivers were pretty nice as well. There really isn't to much directly around the hotel to go to besides a few places to eat (recommend Potbelly) & a furniture store (IKEA can be interesting if you have never been).
2) Front office staff was fairly nice & tried to be helpful.
3) The room was clean however the decorum was horrendeous. Who for the love of God thought yellow flower print comfortors/drapes looked good? By the way the carpeting needs to be updated. Also, the tv reception was kinda poor.

Things I didn't like:
1) Bathroom in the room -needed more counter space, bathtub drained terribly slow & the toilet makes a weird noise.
2) Laundry room - One small washer/dryer for guest laundry. Washer didnt work that great. I had to clean the dryer lint out of the dryer before I used it.
3)The quality of some of the guests. Second night staying here had the guest from Hell, who decided to play music and scream- sing all night keeping me up & I had to constantly call the front desk. The front desk called the police, so I think the psycho checked out early.
4)Booked room in advance, so I saved a little bit of money. However for the price I paid you still expect a liitle more (complimentary breakfasts, laundry rooms with working wash machines, etc).

Overall, this isn't one of the best hotels that you can stay at for your money, but it will do in a pinch for a 3-5 day stay in Baltimore or DC.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

We booked this hotel primarily because it was the only hotel available near the University of Maryland at which our children were attending a history competition. We really didn't expect much. The rooms were okay, but the service more than made up for it. We called about our TV not working and they had it fixed in no time. Their shuttle service was outstanding - anytime between 7 am and 11 pm they'll take you anywhere within 5 miles of the hotel. The staff was friendly as well. The only thing I wouldn't recommend is the restaurant. We had breakfast there one day. Food was just okay and took a long time to come.

  • Liked — The value and the free shuttle service
  • Disliked — Room needed updating
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

I chose to stay at this hotel based on the #1 rating on this site. Boy was I disappointed. My second night there, water leaked from the ceiling. I called for assistance, and maintenance promptly brought me a bucket! That's it. When I booked the hotel, I was promised and relied on a wheelchair so that my mother wouldn't have to walk all around D.C. Didn't notice until we got to DC that the wheelchair they provided had no foot rests, so it couldn't be used, unless she could hold her feet in the air all day. When I told the front desk, they said that's all they have. Also, maid was rude whenever we asked her for anything. Breakfast buffet is lousy, clam chowder is the worst I've ever had. Steak dinner wasn't hot. The bar was good, however. Drinks and food there was quite good and the bartender/waitresses nice.

  • Liked — shuttle to the metro
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2008

I suspect you've been at a hotel that hosts a lot of conferences. They all seem to have a pool, an exercise room, a restaurant and of course conference facilities. This is one of those hotels. The rooms were average and without any problems or flaws.

All in all this was a nice hotel. The hotel gets a lot (and I mean a lot) of traffic from schools, etc. using the hotel as a launch point to Washington. But the traffic wasn't problematic; the hotel staff seem to handle the traffic well.

While "sticker shock" may make you gasp, the price is on par with what you'd expect in the DC region. Spend less and you find yourself in what appears to be a low-end discount hotel. En route to this hotel from Michigan, I stayed at a hotel was as at least as nice for half the price. But of course, this hotel wasn't in the DC region.

While it is possible to get around via hotel shuttle, I would think you'd really want a car when staying at this hotel.

  • Liked — No complaints
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

I spent 2 nights at the Holiday Inn for UM Graduation. I wasn't expecting much, but got even less. The room that I requested be close to the lobby was some distance- and I was with someone who has difficulty walking far. The front desk attendant who checked me in was probably there for a week. She had to keep asking the other person there what to do about my reservation because there was a rate change from one night to the next. They even made us- and the rest of the group we were with -check out and in again on the second day. Our rate included breakfast which was convenient- but awful, unless you like cardboard eggs. The best thing were the waffles, but there was usually a line to get them. Then they charged us again for the breakfast and I had to wait forever for them to correct the situation. Had they simply suggested I go have breakfast and come back I would have been happier. As I stood waiting for the clerk to return I was "barked" at by the other attendant t hat it would be taken care of. They should have some customer service training. I expected more courtesy -even from a Holiday Inn. If I ever need to be in that area again I would rather drive farther than stay at The Holiday Inn.

  • Liked — It was close to University of Maryland
  • Disliked — They ran out of sheets and had a discourteous front desk
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Washington College Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington College Park

Address: 10000 Baltimore Ave, College Park, MD 20740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington College Park 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the Capital Beltway at the junctions of I-495 / I-95 and US 1, the Holiday Inn Hotel Washington-College Park is just minutes from the University of Maryland.This College Park hotel is in close proximity to Washington DC and its many attractions, the Greenbelt Metro station, USDA, the National Archives, and NASA Goddard Space Flight Center. Our complimentary shuttle service will get you where you need to go, including the Greenbelt Metro and train station.Our guest rooms feature complimentary, wireless high speed Internet, and a décor that will make you feel at home. The Holiday Inn Washington-College Park has 10,000 sq feet of flexible meeting space, an indoor pool and sauna, and fitness center. Our Moose Creek Steak House restaurant and lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner; and, Kids Eat Free! The Holiday Inn College Park has something for everyone. Whether traveling for business or leisure, please allow us to provide you with the service you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington College Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington College Park Hotel College Park
Holiday Inn College Park
College Park Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Washington College Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.