We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for visiting DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cherry Hill Park Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in College Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cherry Hill Park Campground
Save
You added Cherry Hill Park Campground to your Saves list
9800 Cherry Hill Road, College Park, MD 20740-1210   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great choice for visiting DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This park is a great and economical alternative to staying closer to the capital. My family rented a trailer and it was nice and clean( and air conditioned!). We ate once at the small restaurant, which was nothing special but nice. The College Park metro stop is a short car ride away for a 25-30 minute ride to the Mall. Be aware that the highway is quite close to the campsite, so it's not the quietest spot.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    57
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
79
35
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Girard, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This park was GREAT! We stayed here in July of 2012, we rented a trailer in the park. The Trailer was beautiful. It was a two bed room, with a pull out couch. The completely furnished, linens, dishes, grill. There is a bus stop right in the park, although we didn't use it, it was very convenient. There is also a grocery store right down the street, which saved us a TON of money instead of eating out the whole time we were there. It was located next to the expressway, however we never heard the traffic. There are two pools for the kids to play in, lots of play ground equipment for them to play on. There was ALWAYS something planned at the park for the kids/family to do. There is a laundry room on site, a small cafe, game room, tv room, a small library, C-Store, putt putt and i know i'm forgetting some other things. we had more fun just staying at the campground then going into DC :). I would highly recommend this campground and if we go back to DC we will more then likely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The park is wonderful! Close to DC, ample space, great amenities, hiking trail, and very reasonably priced. The only thing lacking is a little friendlier staff. The younger staff was wonderful, but some of the old times could be a bit nicer to you as you ask questions about the DC area. Other than that small nuisance, the park was awesome. The price is right, you can't beat the location, and the park is spotlessly clean! A five star rating would come with a friendlier staff.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed at Cherry Hill Park with some friends for vacation. The location is convenient for traveling to the surrounding area. There is a metro bus stop on-site. You can get a metro pass right there (works for the bus as well as the subway). We took the bus to the metro subway station, and from there to the Mall in DC, and to the National Zoo with a transfer. It was also easy to drive to I-495 and down to Six Flags America.

We stayed in the tent camping area, which was a fairly small portion of the entire campground. The tent area was well shaded, with a cold-water tap and wash basin, and a bath house nearby. The bath house toilets and showers were always clean, and the bath house was not overly lit outside but amply lit inside. Never had a problem with sufficient hot water. Each camp site had a dimly lit light stand at the entrance (convenient for navigating your way at night) with a power outlet. We comfortably fit 3 tents in our site. The highway noise can be disturbing at night, but the helicopters and tree frogs were worse for me. Ear plugs come in very handy. There were also a few larger group tent areas scattered around the park grounds. There is construction near the entrance to the park grounds, but that isn't noticeable from the tent area. There is wireless internet throughout the campground, and it was sufficient for our needs.

The camp store (opens 7:00) was fairly well stocked, and there is a supermarket up the road (also a Home Depot and Best Buy). The cafe (opens 8:00) near the pools and theater is convenient for coffee and light breakfast (probably lunch, too). The outdoor theater was showing movies nightly while we were there.

Overall, a very convenient, economical option for staying in the DC area with most of our desired amenities.

Room Tip: Ear plugs come in handy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited in an RV. This site really has thought of everything. Tidy, clean, helpful staff. Good pool area. Public Transport to subway into Washington comes right on site. $1.80 each, each way to subway station. Buses regular. Laundry facilities good, even have change machines for quarters. Site was busy but expected during summer. Wi-fi free but didn't really work. Would stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We rented a trailer at Cherry Hill Campground in College Park, MD during our visit to Washington DC in August. Cherry Hill had many good reviews and it did not disappoint. The campground was clean and well maintained, including playground equipment, pools, and public buildings. Our trailer had a few minor cosmetic blemishes, but was clean and had a fully equipped kitchen and bathroom. During the evening, they had wagon rides around the property and nightly movies. The only negative was the construction noise near our trailer, but it encouraged us to get moving in the morning. We will definitely stay there again when we come back to the Washington area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I took our three grandchildren and their parents on a family vacation to Washington, D.C. in late July 2013. We rented the Abigail Adams lodge for a week. It was an excellent venue for all of us--six bedrooms and four baths. The place was clean and had everything we needed for a minimal amount of housekeeping, sleeping and fixing breakfasts. We were able to board a Metro bus each morning and withing ten to twenty minutes were were at the College Park Metro Station. With the WiFI everyone was able to connect to the web and everyone's electronic devices.

The park has two pools and a nearby snack bar with very good food. There is a small playground and a rustic miniature golf course.

On our last night we were able to have a bonfire behind our lodge with the kids.

The staff was very helpful with things such as Metro and tour bus tickets. Their is amble grocery shopping and restaurants nearby.

We had a great time in DC. I suggest that you purchase the Metro tickets ahead of time online. We also thought the "hop on and hop off" DC bus tour to be worth the money for one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cherry Hill Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Hill Park Campground

Address: 9800 Cherry Hill Road, College Park, MD 20740-1210
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the closest RV park and campground to Washington, D.C., Cherry Hill Park is the perfect place to stay while camping and exploring our nation's capital. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cherry Hill Park Campground Hotel College Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherry Hill Park Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.