We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at Cherry Hill Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cherry Hill Park Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in College Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cherry Hill Park Campground
9800 Cherry Hill Road, College Park, MD 20740-1210   |  
Hotel amenities
Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice stay at Cherry Hill Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed at Cherry Hill Park with some friends for vacation. The location is convenient for traveling to the surrounding area. There is a metro bus stop on-site. You can get a metro pass right there (works for the bus as well as the subway). We took the bus to the metro subway station, and from there to the Mall in DC, and to the National Zoo with a transfer. It was also easy to drive to I-495 and down to Six Flags America.

We stayed in the tent camping area, which was a fairly small portion of the entire campground. The tent area was well shaded, with a cold-water tap and wash basin, and a bath house nearby. The bath house toilets and showers were always clean, and the bath house was not overly lit outside but amply lit inside. Never had a problem with sufficient hot water. Each camp site had a dimly lit light stand at the entrance (convenient for navigating your way at night) with a power outlet. We comfortably fit 3 tents in our site. The highway noise can be disturbing at night, but the helicopters and tree frogs were worse for me. Ear plugs come in very handy. There were also a few larger group tent areas scattered around the park grounds. There is construction near the entrance to the park grounds, but that isn't noticeable from the tent area. There is wireless internet throughout the campground, and it was sufficient for our needs.

The camp store (opens 7:00) was fairly well stocked, and there is a supermarket up the road (also a Home Depot and Best Buy). The cafe (opens 8:00) near the pools and theater is convenient for coffee and light breakfast (probably lunch, too). The outdoor theater was showing movies nightly while we were there.

Overall, a very convenient, economical option for staying in the DC area with most of our desired amenities.

Room Tip: Ear plugs come in handy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    36
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
17
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited in an RV. This site really has thought of everything. Tidy, clean, helpful staff. Good pool area. Public Transport to subway into Washington comes right on site. $1.80 each, each way to subway station. Buses regular. Laundry facilities good, even have change machines for quarters. Site was busy but expected during summer. Wi-fi free but didn't really work. Would stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We rented a trailer at Cherry Hill Campground in College Park, MD during our visit to Washington DC in August. Cherry Hill had many good reviews and it did not disappoint. The campground was clean and well maintained, including playground equipment, pools, and public buildings. Our trailer had a few minor cosmetic blemishes, but was clean and had a fully equipped kitchen and bathroom. During the evening, they had wagon rides around the property and nightly movies. The only negative was the construction noise near our trailer, but it encouraged us to get moving in the morning. We will definitely stay there again when we come back to the Washington area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I took our three grandchildren and their parents on a family vacation to Washington, D.C. in late July 2013. We rented the Abigail Adams lodge for a week. It was an excellent venue for all of us--six bedrooms and four baths. The place was clean and had everything we needed for a minimal amount of housekeeping, sleeping and fixing breakfasts. We were able to board a Metro bus each morning and withing ten to twenty minutes were were at the College Park Metro Station. With the WiFI everyone was able to connect to the web and everyone's electronic devices.

The park has two pools and a nearby snack bar with very good food. There is a small playground and a rustic miniature golf course.

On our last night we were able to have a bonfire behind our lodge with the kids.

The staff was very helpful with things such as Metro and tour bus tickets. Their is amble grocery shopping and restaurants nearby.

We had a great time in DC. I suggest that you purchase the Metro tickets ahead of time online. We also thought the "hop on and hop off" DC bus tour to be worth the money for one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Closest RV park to Washington DC. Staff friendly, but I was not happy to hear that our reservation for a pull-through was not honored. Bathrooms were clean but no air moving through them (ceiling fans were on low) so during the day they were very hot and muggy. Pool was very nice but the two boys on lifeguard duty were more interested in their phones then the kids in the water. Family in the site near ours left their fire going when they went to bed. The bus takes you to the metro, all the drivers were very friendly. There is also a bus stop at Shopper's, the grocery store, about a mile up the road. All in all, I would definitely recommend this park. Mini golf, mining (overpriced), video games, large tv room, nice laundry room. The park is kept up nicely, but they should let their visitors know there will be construction starting at 7am each morning; we are early birds but others were not. Store on site is well stocked.

Room Tip: stay at the far end of the park away from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great location if you are in a RV. However tent camping is a different story. We took a road trip this summer and traveled 6660 miles. We stayed in several campgrounds throughout the US. This one had too many spiders. I expect to encounter bugs and spiders while camping but they are out of control here . Two people in our party were bitten by ticks. This campground needs some TLC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent 2 full weeks here in June 2011. Like other reviewers said, I do remember hearing the highway noise. Fortunately, we have a travel trailer and run the air conditioning all the time, so it wasn't really too much of an issue for us.

I felt AT HOME while here. The campground was really big, and really had pretty much everything you can think of...and more. The pool area was great, the laundry facilities were great, they had computers/internet access, a nice store, movies, television viewing area, putt putt golf, etc., etc., etc.

The campground didn't have a problem with us bringing 3 dogs along. There was lots of room to walk them, and they also had 2 fenced dog runs.

This campground was convenient to the DC area too. Tour buses will even pick you up right at the campground.

We had a great time, and I would definitely recommend Cherry Hill RV to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cherry Hill Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Hill Park Campground

Also Known As:
Cherry Hill Park Campground Hotel College Park
Cherry Hill Park Campground Hotel
Address: 9800 Cherry Hill Road, College Park, MD 20740-1210
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the closest RV park and campground to Washington, D.C., Cherry Hill Park is the perfect place to stay while camping and exploring our nation's capital. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherry Hill Park Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cherry Hill Park Campground to your Saves list