We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cherry Hill Park Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in College Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cherry Hill Park Campground
9800 Cherry Hill Road, College Park, MD 20740-1210   |  
Hotel amenities
Aurora, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A different place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We rented a trailer at Cherry Hill Campground in College Park, MD during our visit to Washington DC in August. Cherry Hill had many good reviews and it did not disappoint. The campground was clean and well maintained, including playground equipment, pools, and public buildings. Our trailer had a few minor cosmetic blemishes, but was clean and had a fully equipped kitchen and bathroom. During the evening, they had wagon rides around the property and nightly movies. The only negative was the construction noise near our trailer, but it encouraged us to get moving in the morning. We will definitely stay there again when we come back to the Washington area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    43
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
24
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Warren
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I took our three grandchildren and their parents on a family vacation to Washington, D.C. in late July 2013. We rented the Abigail Adams lodge for a week. It was an excellent venue for all of us--six bedrooms and four baths. The place was clean and had everything we needed for a minimal amount of housekeeping, sleeping and fixing breakfasts. We were able to board a Metro bus each morning and withing ten to twenty minutes were were at the College Park Metro Station. With the WiFI everyone was able to connect to the web and everyone's electronic devices.

The park has two pools and a nearby snack bar with very good food. There is a small playground and a rustic miniature golf course.

On our last night we were able to have a bonfire behind our lodge with the kids.

The staff was very helpful with things such as Metro and tour bus tickets. Their is amble grocery shopping and restaurants nearby.

We had a great time in DC. I suggest that you purchase the Metro tickets ahead of time online. We also thought the "hop on and hop off" DC bus tour to be worth the money for one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Closest RV park to Washington DC. Staff friendly, but I was not happy to hear that our reservation for a pull-through was not honored. Bathrooms were clean but no air moving through them (ceiling fans were on low) so during the day they were very hot and muggy. Pool was very nice but the two boys on lifeguard duty were more interested in their phones then the kids in the water. Family in the site near ours left their fire going when they went to bed. The bus takes you to the metro, all the drivers were very friendly. There is also a bus stop at Shopper's, the grocery store, about a mile up the road. All in all, I would definitely recommend this park. Mini golf, mining (overpriced), video games, large tv room, nice laundry room. The park is kept up nicely, but they should let their visitors know there will be construction starting at 7am each morning; we are early birds but others were not. Store on site is well stocked.

Room Tip: stay at the far end of the park away from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great location if you are in a RV. However tent camping is a different story. We took a road trip this summer and traveled 6660 miles. We stayed in several campgrounds throughout the US. This one had too many spiders. I expect to encounter bugs and spiders while camping but they are out of control here . Two people in our party were bitten by ticks. This campground needs some TLC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent 2 full weeks here in June 2011. Like other reviewers said, I do remember hearing the highway noise. Fortunately, we have a travel trailer and run the air conditioning all the time, so it wasn't really too much of an issue for us.

I felt AT HOME while here. The campground was really big, and really had pretty much everything you can think of...and more. The pool area was great, the laundry facilities were great, they had computers/internet access, a nice store, movies, television viewing area, putt putt golf, etc., etc., etc.

The campground didn't have a problem with us bringing 3 dogs along. There was lots of room to walk them, and they also had 2 fenced dog runs.

This campground was convenient to the DC area too. Tour buses will even pick you up right at the campground.

We had a great time, and I would definitely recommend Cherry Hill RV to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Travelled here in May 2013 as part of group camping; was relatively short drive outside of DC, but as a result the campground was loud as it wasn't far from the main highway.

That said, the little shop had great facilities and array of things to purchase.

Showers and toilets were always clean - no quarters required. Bit of a walk over to the toilet block which is largely unlit.

Also has a pool, arcade games in the cafe, free wi-fi (average quality) if you're into your mod cons.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowhere, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a great place to stay for visiting the DC area. That being said, this is city camping. Expect tight spaces and traffic noise. Most people here "camp" in huge motor homes and never sit outside around the fire so the noise probably isn't an issue. We enjoyed the pool, metro, nice laundry room, clean shower houses, cheap firewood and ice (only $5 for 3 big bundles of wood and $2 for a bag of ice), and friendly staff. Our only complaint was the bad smell coming from the sewer hookup. We weren't using it and finally decided to cover it with a bag on the last day of our stay. That really helped a lot. The campground was easy to get to and there is a nice grocery store and Home Depot nearby.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs if traffic noise will bother you when sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cherry Hill Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Hill Park Campground

Address: 9800 Cherry Hill Road, College Park, MD 20740-1210
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the closest RV park and campground to Washington, D.C., Cherry Hill Park is the perfect place to stay while camping and exploring our nation's capital. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cherry Hill Park Campground Hotel College Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherry Hill Park Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cherry Hill Park Campground to your Saves list