We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cherry Hill Park Campground

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cherry Hill Park Campground to your Saves list
Cherry Hill Park Campground
2.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   9800 Cherry Hill Road, College Park, MD 20740-1210   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very nice and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent 2 full weeks here in June 2011. Like other reviewers said, I do remember hearing the highway noise. Fortunately, we have a travel trailer and run the air conditioning all the time, so it wasn't really too much of an issue for us.

I felt AT HOME while here. The campground was really big, and really had pretty much everything you can think of...and more. The pool area was great, the laundry facilities were great, they had computers/internet access, a nice store, movies, television viewing area, putt putt golf, etc., etc., etc.

The campground didn't have a problem with us bringing 3 dogs along. There was lots of room to walk them, and they also had 2 fenced dog runs.

This campground was convenient to the DC area too. Tour buses will even pick you up right at the campground.

We had a great time, and I would definitely recommend Cherry Hill RV to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    59
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
87
35
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Travelled here in May 2013 as part of group camping; was relatively short drive outside of DC, but as a result the campground was loud as it wasn't far from the main highway.

That said, the little shop had great facilities and array of things to purchase.

Showers and toilets were always clean - no quarters required. Bit of a walk over to the toilet block which is largely unlit.

Also has a pool, arcade games in the cafe, free wi-fi (average quality) if you're into your mod cons.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowhere, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a great place to stay for visiting the DC area. That being said, this is city camping. Expect tight spaces and traffic noise. Most people here "camp" in huge motor homes and never sit outside around the fire so the noise probably isn't an issue. We enjoyed the pool, metro, nice laundry room, clean shower houses, cheap firewood and ice (only $5 for 3 big bundles of wood and $2 for a bag of ice), and friendly staff. Our only complaint was the bad smell coming from the sewer hookup. We weren't using it and finally decided to cover it with a bag on the last day of our stay. That really helped a lot. The campground was easy to get to and there is a nice grocery store and Home Depot nearby.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs if traffic noise will bother you when sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in the Abigail Adams cottage. Very spacious especially with a large group. Beds were very firm and comfortable if you like firm. There was plenty of towels and wash clothes provided. It was clean and had 6 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms with a huge deck out back with a grill. Great yard for family gatherings with plenty of chairs and running room for children. They also have a swimming pool and little putt-putt golf area. Seemed like a safe area and nice grocery store and shops close by.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had booked a premium site for our stay in the DC area thinking it would be like other premium sites. We informed them of the size of our rigg and the size of our tow vehicle. We ended up pushing the RV deeper than we had to into the back of the site and our tow vehicle was still in the
road. We parked our vehicle to the grassy side of the lot and the following day the campground put a picnic table next to our vehicle (?). Our RV took up ALL of the site and both our fire ring and our grill had the last RV'rs wood and ashes in it.
Bath houses were par, but floors quite slippery. There were fans to attempt to dry the floors but they failed miserably. Good strong showers tho.
Pool it self was nice........... BUT............ If you had children with you.....CAVEAT....... the lifeguards on duty would not put there Iphones down and occasionally stop texting to look in the pool to observe people in the water.
The hot tub that they offered was a token gesture and should have been swapped out for one to fit in the room that it was in. When filled to capacity the water over flowed to who knows where.
Campers..... let me tell you..... be ready to fork out some $$$$$ for the nations transit system.
The museums and such are all free.... it's getting to them that will hit your pockets. The campground offers the "CARD".... it costs $10.... but only comes with $5 on it... and should you stay there long enough you can get a $3 rebate (put back on the card) after a certain amount of time. This transit system will never ....ever.... go broke. Try not to go during "rush" hour times and you might not pay so much.... but it's kinda hard if you have set sights you want to see. Have good walking shoes on.... you'll need them.

The staff at this campground were friendly and the cafe to by food was good also.
Our only regret would be the lack of understanding on the staffs part to put us in a site that will "FIT" our rigg and vehicle...... especially when you convey all this info to them while making the
reservation. We should have gone to the site next to us which a 43 foot motorhome was on but there was no planning for that I guess.

The campground was doing some construction and it looks like it will be bigger and better because of it.

Overall... once again....it was OK.... has the options in place to see the nations capital and other sites, but to us....that's about it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

After staying at another camp ground in Gettysburg for a week it was a relief to come to a well-run campground. they are all about their camper here. two very nice pools. playground for the kids. they put on a movie every night. what a great atmosphere I will return

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Cherry hill is a great place to stay for visiting DC. The bus picks you up at the campground and the metro takes you downtown. It couldn't be easier. The campground is well kept. The bathhouse was clean. The pools are wonderful. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend cherry hill for campers or renters.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cherry Hill Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Hill Park Campground

Address: 9800 Cherry Hill Road, College Park, MD 20740-1210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Hill Park Campground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the closest RV park and campground to Washington, D.C., Cherry Hill Park is the perfect place to stay while camping and exploring our nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Cherry Hill Park Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Hill Park Campground Hotel College Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherry Hill Park Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.