We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Camping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cherry Hill Park Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in College Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Cherry Hill Park Campground
Save Saved
You added Cherry Hill Park Campground to your Saves list
9800 Cherry Hill Road, College Park, MD 20740-1210   |  
Hotel amenities
Nowhere, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“City Camping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a great place to stay for visiting the DC area. That being said, this is city camping. Expect tight spaces and traffic noise. Most people here "camp" in huge motor homes and never sit outside around the fire so the noise probably isn't an issue. We enjoyed the pool, metro, nice laundry room, clean shower houses, cheap firewood and ice (only $5 for 3 big bundles of wood and $2 for a bag of ice), and friendly staff. Our only complaint was the bad smell coming from the sewer hookup. We weren't using it and finally decided to cover it with a bag on the last day of our stay. That really helped a lot. The campground was easy to get to and there is a nice grocery store and Home Depot nearby.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs if traffic noise will bother you when sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    55
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
79
30
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
arkansas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in the Abigail Adams cottage. Very spacious especially with a large group. Beds were very firm and comfortable if you like firm. There was plenty of towels and wash clothes provided. It was clean and had 6 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms with a huge deck out back with a grill. Great yard for family gatherings with plenty of chairs and running room for children. They also have a swimming pool and little putt-putt golf area. Seemed like a safe area and nice grocery store and shops close by.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had booked a premium site for our stay in the DC area thinking it would be like other premium sites. We informed them of the size of our rigg and the size of our tow vehicle. We ended up pushing the RV deeper than we had to into the back of the site and our tow vehicle was still in the
road. We parked our vehicle to the grassy side of the lot and the following day the campground put a picnic table next to our vehicle (?). Our RV took up ALL of the site and both our fire ring and our grill had the last RV'rs wood and ashes in it.
Bath houses were par, but floors quite slippery. There were fans to attempt to dry the floors but they failed miserably. Good strong showers tho.
Pool it self was nice........... BUT............ If you had children with you.....CAVEAT....... the lifeguards on duty would not put there Iphones down and occasionally stop texting to look in the pool to observe people in the water.
The hot tub that they offered was a token gesture and should have been swapped out for one to fit in the room that it was in. When filled to capacity the water over flowed to who knows where.
Campers..... let me tell you..... be ready to fork out some $$$$$ for the nations transit system.
The museums and such are all free.... it's getting to them that will hit your pockets. The campground offers the "CARD".... it costs $10.... but only comes with $5 on it... and should you stay there long enough you can get a $3 rebate (put back on the card) after a certain amount of time. This transit system will never ....ever.... go broke. Try not to go during "rush" hour times and you might not pay so much.... but it's kinda hard if you have set sights you want to see. Have good walking shoes on.... you'll need them.

The staff at this campground were friendly and the cafe to by food was good also.
Our only regret would be the lack of understanding on the staffs part to put us in a site that will "FIT" our rigg and vehicle...... especially when you convey all this info to them while making the
reservation. We should have gone to the site next to us which a 43 foot motorhome was on but there was no planning for that I guess.

The campground was doing some construction and it looks like it will be bigger and better because of it.

Overall... once again....it was OK.... has the options in place to see the nations capital and other sites, but to us....that's about it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

After staying at another camp ground in Gettysburg for a week it was a relief to come to a well-run campground. they are all about their camper here. two very nice pools. playground for the kids. they put on a movie every night. what a great atmosphere I will return

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Cherry hill is a great place to stay for visiting DC. The bus picks you up at the campground and the metro takes you downtown. It couldn't be easier. The campground is well kept. The bathhouse was clean. The pools are wonderful. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend cherry hill for campers or renters.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location close to Washington DC is great with public transportation (bus) coming right to the campground. I had to go into DC 5 days of our stay for a conference so the bus connection to the subway station was great! You can ( and should) buy the transportation pass at the camp office. Just more convenient and then if you get the Smartcard you can load money to the card on the bus. There are also other tour buses that I believe depart from the campground. Our dogs appreciate the dog park. My family used the laundry, pool, and other facilities. Bath house was clean and had plenty of room in the shower areas. Our site could have used more shade in the sun most of the day, but other sites were more shaded. Level gravel site.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This campground is large and clean. There are two pools, playground, and putt putt golf. There is a store near by fir groceries. They have a bus station in the campground. The laundry room could use more ventilation. It was hot and muggy in there during the summer. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cherry Hill Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Hill Park Campground

Address: 9800 Cherry Hill Road, College Park, MD 20740-1210
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the closest RV park and campground to Washington, D.C., Cherry Hill Park is the perfect place to stay while camping and exploring our nation's capital. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cherry Hill Park Campground Hotel College Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherry Hill Park Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.