We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Easy access to Washington DC.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cherry Hill Park Campground

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cherry Hill Park Campground to your Saves list
Cherry Hill Park Campground
2.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   9800 Cherry Hill Road, College Park, MD 20740-1210   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free parking
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location. Easy access to Washington DC.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This campground is large and clean. There are two pools, playground, and putt putt golf. There is a store near by fir groceries. They have a bus station in the campground. The laundry room could use more ventilation. It was hot and muggy in there during the summer. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ALDixieCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

You actually kind a feel like your at a Disney resort. There's transportation, outdoor movies, a small but cool water park and restaurants. Very close to DC, I highly recommend it. They even let us stay after check out so we could tour dc... How cool is that? Super cool!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice location, drive to the metro takes about 10 minutes or you can bus there if you wish. Quiet, nice clean showers, close to grocery and restaurants. Try the Sierra Grill nearby for a great meal. Buy your train pass at the camp office. Very helpful staff, good camp store.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Walter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Judging from the amount of RVs, this location is primarily for those folks but I thought I'd write a review from my perspective as a car camper. The campground is quite large and has a lot of amenities.

Pros:
- Bus service to DC Metro station (this was the main reason I chose this location. Never had to drive my car into DC once)

- Bath house was maintained well. It wasn't always super clean (typically water all over the floor most of the time), but I did see a crew headed in to clean on a regular basis.

- I liked that we had access to a well stocked camp store, two large swimming pools, a cafe, walking trails, hot tub, and the WiFi signal was typically pretty strong even at the tent site location.

- Lots of stores/restaurants within a short driving distance from the campground.

- Tent specific location was kept away from the RVs and was well shaded. The trees actually helped keep some of the rain away.

Cons:
- As others have noted, there are major roads all around the campground. From my tent location, it kind of created a white noise effect but I did eventually buy earplugs to help drown out the noise. I'm not sure if this noise is an issue if you're staying in an RV, but if you're in a tent, just be ready for it.

- In the designated tent location, the majority of the locations are on a slope. Not very steep, but you'll want to put up your tent accordingly.

- This isn't specific to the actual campground, but there are photo-enforced / speed traps on just about every road around the campground. You've got to be on constant alert for them.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ricky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bend,OR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in one of the cabins, very comfortable. We enjoyed the two pool areas and the family movie nights. The food at the café was great. Well priced and solid portions. The staff was very helpful. A great alternative to a hotel in this area, the Metro bus comes to the park, so you can get around the entire metro area from the campground, very easy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justthe4ofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our family stayed at this camp in 2012 over the 4th of July week. The park was clean and full of amenities. The camp sites for tents were shady and covered in mulch. The perfect place to stay for a DC trip. We toured the city all day and then came to home base for food a swim and a relaxing night sleep.

Room Tip: There were some cute yurt style cabins in the woods that we would have liked to try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dayna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at Cherry Hill in an RV during a slow week in May. We had 3 kids (ages 4, 6, and 7) with us. We asked for a spot close to the playground and they were able to accommodate our request. The playground was amazing! The bath house was always clean and large. And everyone was friendly. The bus is very easy to use and takes you to the Metro. Great place to stay when visiting DC!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near College Park
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 11 in College Park
4.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
2.1 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#5 of 11 in College Park
3.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Hill Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Hill Park Campground

Address: 9800 Cherry Hill Road, College Park, MD 20740-1210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Hill Park Campground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the closest RV park and campground to Washington, D.C., Cherry Hill Park is the perfect place to stay while camping and exploring our nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cherry Hill Park Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Hill Park Campground Hotel College Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing