We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Rooms, pleasant staff, better location than other hotels.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8419 Baltimore Ave, College Park, MD 20740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very Nice Rooms, pleasant staff, better location than other hotels.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

It seemed like everything in my room was brand new, the whole place was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is within a 5-10 minute walk of the pubs/ restaurants that surround a major campus. This is one of the nices BW properties I stayed at in some time.

The hotel does face a busy street. turning left out of the parking lot was a challenge at rush hour.

In terms of closeness to campus, the lower the address on Baltimore Avenue, the better. There are lots of hotels with addresses above 10000. I would not try to walk to campus from any of them because of the neighborhood.

This hotel is about 5-6 minutes from the CP Metro station. If you want to save a hundred a night over a downtown DC hotel, you could do much worse than this as a lower cost alternative.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an odd numbered room, these face away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    47
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
80
25
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wonderful convenient place to stay to visit Granddaughter at U of Md. and Grandson working in Washington D.C. Also made 2 trips to Baltimore same weekend. The hotel was spotless, rooms were large , TV. was large and electronically friendly. More convenient outlets to plug in breathing machine, telephones, Kindle , etc. than any 4 or5 star hotel I have stayed in. The free buffet breakfast was very nice and the breakfast room was pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for room in back of hotel, very quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My friend and I stayed at BW College Park for 3 nights. We were visiting DC and chose to stay here because it was cheaper for us to stay in CP and take the Metro than to spend $200+/night at a DC hotel.

Positives:
- Spacious & clean bedroom and bathroom
- Nice desk/work area with plenty of electrical outlets
- High speed Internet
- 46" TV
- Microwave and refrigerator
- Never heard the other people staying on our floor
- Continental breakfast with a variety of choices
- Within walking distance of the University of Maryland

Negatives:
- Not within walking distance to the Metro (had to take a taxi or catch the bus, which got expensive)


Overall, this is a great hotel if you are spending time in College Park, but not if you're going into DC every day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A big thank you to Kosa and Netta, the night desk clerks, who were every bit as helpful as a large hotel concierge. I am a single white woman in her late fifties and did NOT find the neighborhood sketchy. I was very comfortable and safe walking the 2-3 blocks in either direction from the hotel for a wide variety of eating opportunities at night....in the dark. This hotel's rooms are clean, large and every comfortable. I stayed in an odd-numbered room. These are not on Rt. 1 and are very quiet. Towels are thick and plentiful. Bed linens soft, and 4 regular sized pillows on my king-sized bed. The breakfast was real, not processed, scrambled eggs, apple pork breakfast sausage, and real home-style potatoes. Basic maybe, but I don't eat that way at home! An egg mcmuffin or croissanwich are a short walk away if you'd rather. There are many local restaurants that deliver, and their menus are all in the lobby. Mr. Patel, the owner, makes the guests feel as if they are inmhis own home. I will make this a regular stop when I'm in the college park area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very clean rooms, clean carpet, clean bathroom, comfortable bed with 4 pillows per bed, large tv, very nice continental breakfast!, small fridge, microwave, beautiful decor.
Cons: it was freezing as to adjust thermostat to warm couldn't seem to turn off, wifi was spotty initially but was then good thereafter.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

When you look at the pictures on the web site, it seems that the hotel is located in a quite spot until you get there. Not so. There is so much traffic, you have to wait for a few minutes to drive out on the street if you are leaving during rush hour. Now for the hotel. Good news, the hotel is very quiet if you ask for a room overlooking the parking lot. Very nice lobby, and there is a water cooler. Do not get back to the hotel after 10, parking is limited and you may have to park on the street beside the hotel. The walls and the floors need more padding. We had a very nice room, but someone was walking so hard on the floor above us that the room seemed to vibrate. But, the room was so nice that we tolerated the noise. The rooms are very big and I felt like I was in a mini suite, which was very nice, good size for a wheelchair person. The reservation desk staff was very nice and helpful. Very large tv and nice picture. The food was not so great, even though some people thought so. The eggs were crumbly, the link sausage was not brown. We only ate there one day out of a four day stay. We found an excellent restaurant called College Park Diner, which I highly recommend. Read my review on the diner. There are a lot of places to eat in walking distance of the hotel, because it's a college town (Maryland University) and security, so I felt safe. Overall, I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have always struggled when it was time to drive to the University to bring my son to school or pick him up. The hotels on rte 1 are so run down and the Marriott on campus us always booked and sooo expensive.
This Best Western is GREAT. Out room was HUGE (402) with 2 queen beds. The bathroom was spotless and so pretty! The bath tub was deep and clean...i even took a soak!
The bed was comfy and although there is noise from rte 1, you can leave the fan on all night and it is masked.
The front dest was great and friendly. I parked no problem although the lot is a little small, we got a spot.
They have a really cool electronic key system where you just pass your key over a pad and viola! you can open the door.
I really have no complaints or criticisms! We will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel

Address: 8419 Baltimore Ave, College Park, MD 20740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions and business locations. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.