We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great People and Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FishNet

FishNet
5010 Berwyn Rd., College Park, MD 20781
(301) 220-1070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 99 Restaurants in College Park
Cuisines: Seafood, Fish & Chips, Sandwiches
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great People and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My daughter loves the fish sticks. Which are more like fish nuggets, lovely little jewels of lightly fried fresh fish. We bring along tartar sauce. The house selections are nice but a little too exotic for her palate (mine too). The Fish taco is perfection as served. Even our non fish eater enjoyed it.
Sunday Brunch is also very good. The pancakes are light and slightly sweet served with turkey bacon. This makes a fine meal. Two of our party had the egg breakfast. Both said it was good and the raved about the wheat toast. We give the Fish Net four and a half stars out of five. One half star was withheld due to the condiment issue.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“enjoy the soft shell crabs when they're around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

FishNet's soft shells are a quick-fried delight on ciabatta roll smeared with a not-too-hot, not-too-sweet red pepper sauce. Never greasy, just packed with crunch and tender meat.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I stopped in shortly after they opened several months (nearly a year?) ago--well after I had stopped eating fish (the last "food with a face"that I had hung onto for years after giving up meat and poultry) and become a "true" vegetarian. I was told I had to try a falafel, and thought this would be as good a place as any to "test the waters," if you will. I was pleasantly surprised by the generously stacked, delicious falafel sandwich that greeted my tastebuds with love in every bite.

Naturally, I went back again to re-experience this culinary high. The second time I was thoroughly disappointed. The sandwich lacked lettuce, tomato, sauce, and any taste to speak of. Sadly, it was accompanied by a soggy, inedible batch of french fries (how tragic to find fries inedible!). At $8 a pop, I will not return to see if the third time's a charm. Falafel me once...apparently.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Simple Seafood by an owner who cares about quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We saw the review of Fishnet in the Washingtonian magazine and decided to check this place out. We live in DC and normally don't frequent anything in College Park, but I was glad that I did.

The menu of the day's fish is on a blackboard and the owner let us know what was available. Several of the fish had come in that day from abroad. I don't remember the types of fish, but remember Canada and Scotland. Regardless, things are fresh here.

We both had Soft shell crab sandwiches and were glad we did. The presentation is done simply, on circular, metal trays, but the sandwich is put together with care. Sometimes the bread at restaurants is an afterthought, but this certainly wasn't the case here.

The sandwich didn't fill us up and since everyone around us was eating the fish tacos, we decided to share one. Really great choice!

The fries we ordered were soggy, but I was able to overlook this as the fish and experience were so good.

I was expecting my bill to be cheaper, but I did order the most expensive item on the menu at $16, which isn't bad. You're ordering from a counter and I always get confused if you're supposed to give a tip when you don't have a waiter. Anyway, I loved this place and we'll be back (likely tomorrow).

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“glorious fish tacos and lobster rolls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I am hooked on FishNet's simple, yet flavorful fare, swinging by on those evenings when I'm dining solo and too exhausted to rummage through cabinets and the fridge at home. Grown particularly fond of the fish tacos--thick strips of fish and a red cabbage slaw rolled in flour tortillas; and I cover the days when lobster outlasts the lunch crowd and can be snuggled in a thick piece of white bread for me to take home with a side of perfect golden fries.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FishNet also viewed

 

Been to FishNet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FishNet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.