We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn - College Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn - College Park to your Saves list
Hampton Inn - College Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9670 Baltimore Avenue, College Park, MD 20740   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I've stayed here twice now for business trips into the area and, while the location isn't exactly scenic, the property is conveniently located near several major thruways and restaurants, and the University of Maryland. The floor literally gleamed in the bathroom - very clean! The room had fridge, microwave, and coffee-maker, and an outlet bank on the bed stand. Check-in was friendly and efficient, and the breakfast area, somewhat small, was cozy with plenty of selections. A good place to stay for its price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    69
    36
    17
    10
See reviews for
94
21
12
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed here for business. The rooms are clean and the beds are good. I had a problem with hot water in the shower - read cold shower. They came up and had to adjust the valve and then the trick was to not scald myself!

It is located at the intersection of I495 so is very convenient to the highway and the metro is a $10 with tip cab ride away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My son and I recent stayed here for a weekend. Hotel was your typical Hampton inn. Free wifi and breakfast. We enjoyed our stay and had no problems. The hotel is in a great location to visit the University of Maryland. It was less than 5 minutes away and right off the highway. The only negative item I had was the room and a wall heater/ac unit that would go on and off.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

When i arrived to the hotel the front desk agents greeted me with the warmest welcome. the check in process was quick and easy.My room was beautiful, and the bed was very comfortable. i had the best night sleep. The breakfast in the moring was so good,and a nice variety to select from. you had choice from hot or cold breakfast. Im so pleased with my stay at the hampton in in college park md eveytime im in maryland this is where i am staying. i will also tell everyone i know to stay there as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The toilet cloged three times. It was embarrssing to have to call someone to fix it. The shower dial was slightly stirpped and took some fiddeling to get it to work. My husband had a cold shower before we discovered the trick to get it to work for hot water. The staff were very friendly and did there jobs well. The hotel was clean overall.The breakfast was good. The kids had a great time being with there friends for there swim meet for winterfest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our annual trek to College Park for Winterfest swim meet held at UMD. Third stay here at the Hampton Inn and always a successful adventure. The kids enjoy the breakfast and lounge area on a daily basis. Staff is always friendly and the hotel is very comfortable. Location is great with the University only 1 mile down the road. We will return next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed here over the years while visiting for swim meets at the nearby University of Maryland facilities. Huge plus is the location - but there's always some issue when we're there.

Last year it was a bathroom door latch that didn't work. This year the extractor fan didn't work and we had a super noisy fridge in the room. Can't remember three years ago, but I know there was something!

If you have allergies, take your meds before staying here, the air quality seems to be consistently bad in the rooms. Also, they seem to keep the hallways at tropical heat levels.

On the plus side, it is cheap, staff are helpful and the kids love the breakfast buffet. But the overall hotel does seem really tired and in need of a major renovation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn - College Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - College Park

Address: 9670 Baltimore Avenue, College Park, MD 20740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn - College Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to all new Hampton Inn - College Park, Maryland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn - College Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - College Park Hotel College Park
College Park Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn - College Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.