We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front desk with Bulletproof window” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn College Park

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn College Park to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn College Park
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn College Park
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9113 Baltimore Avenue, Cherokee St and Rt 1, College Park, MD 20740   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 11 hotels in College Park
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Front desk with Bulletproof window”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I can't really say it's poor hotel, but I've never seen any hotel front desk with bulletproof window before. My husband and I arrived there over midnight, the front desk clerk was quite cautious, check-in took 5 to 10 minutes for him to verify our IDs, in the end he opened the door and showed us the way to our room. I don't have the feeling I'm welcome to the hotel at all. Fortunately, only one evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    19
    7
    16
See reviews for
18
6
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

this was one of the worst places we stayed at and we just visited 21 states. we paid $78 and there was no fridge no microwave, when we closed the door there was about an inch opening at the side of the door.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This is the cheapest hotel in the area and you get what you pay for. It is poorly maintained. The electronic key card did not work more often than it did work, and even after going down to the front desk to have the card rekeyed it often did not work. The clerk said that it was a recurring problem and that the management refused to fix it. The building is old and it shows. Howard Johnson says that all locations are independently owned and operated, but they should be ashamed to have their name associated with this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We recently took a trip to Washington DC and stayed here. The location was excellent, as it was less than a five minute drive to the College Park Parking Garage where we caught the subway every day. We had one minor issue during our stay which was quickly taken care of along with a discount from the manager. If you are looking for a resort hotel, this is not your place. If you are looking for a place to crash for the night that is just outside the big city, this place is perfect. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

I reserved the room at 10 am. Checked in at 3 PM. The service desk was friendly. The room was 29 degrees when I arrived. After the heat being on for two hours it only rose to 44 degrees. The walls were cold the entry door had a 1/4 inch crack in it. wind blew through the door. after complaining to th e desk i was told i had been there more then 1/2 hour so i still had to pay. i was offered another room but it was the sam. i went to a different hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. This is the quality (used generously) of hotel that would be suffice of a bachelor party and all of the things associated. The staff was courteous, but the room was at best questionable. 1. the door jam - broken, 2. the safety latch - broken, 3. the lock - broken. Seriously, I was sleeping with one eye open. This particular hotel posts in the lobby that they are independently owned, but HOJO you have to do quality assurance checks on properties with your name on them.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We booked this room back in March. It was not a particularly wonderful rate, but it was convenient, and when we looked at it, it listed a cancellation time of 6pm the day of the purported stay. There were other similar rates such as AAA shown, but we just chose the first one listed since they all had similar rates and cancellation policies listed. However, when we went to cancel it at the start of June, the web site now said it was a non-refundable rate. This was odd because we never choose such rates so we called the hotel itself -- they could not help because it was booked online. Then we called customer service and they insisted there were three areas which stated it was pre-paid and non-refundable. We protested that we saw no such warnings, so they put us on hold and then gave us another number to call. After a long hold period, we were given a "file number" and told they would get back in touch with us in 2-3 business days. We never got a call, and then my credit card showed the hotel bill. After a week we called again and got no satisfaction although they claim they called us (but we have no voice mail message on our cell).So BEWARE - they claim they state their refund policy online clearly but they DO NOT.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn College Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn College Park

Address: 9113 Baltimore Avenue, Cherokee St and Rt 1, College Park, MD 20740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 hotels in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn College Park 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn College Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn-College Park Hotel College Park
College Park Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson College Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn College Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.