We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice as Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of College Park Diner

College Park Diner
9206 Baltimore Avenue, College Park, College Park, MD
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 93 Restaurants in College Park
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: North of Univ of Maryland
Herndon, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Twice as Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Been there twice. First time we had wonderful service and good solid diner food. Second time we had even friendlier service and when we asked for whipped cream on our hot cocoa were treated to a mountain of it with a little flair.

Denny's, this ain't. Support this family owned business and the wonderful people in it as we will each time we visit College Park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
College Park, MD
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Decent simple place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Nothing fancy but not degradation either. The seating is a bit narrow/cramped and there's not much in terms of side dishes that's not very starchy, but the food arrives promptly and with a smile. I haven't been by on a Sunday morning but I imagine it must be very crowded.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beltsville
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“First timer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Visited this place for the first time for late breakfast. The service was quick, the waitresses were friendly and food was good. I had the Belgium waffle with scrambled eggs and turkey sausage. It's way better than any of those chain restaurants (ie, Denny's). I would definitely go back again. Be prepared to wait for a seat. The place isn't that big.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Busy for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A small diner, but very busy with quick service. The food was good and the staff was very friendly. We were there for breakfast on a Sunday morning. The french toast was excellent!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“chef ramsay could learn a few tips here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

stopped in for a saturday brunch, a had a few doughts, the place looks like a old howard johnson's from the outside, but we were starving.

as we were going to our seats we noticed two cildren giggling with delight over their hot chocolate. as soon we sat down, our waitress promptly delivered our menus and took our drink orders. we placed our order, and shortly thereafter our food arrived. the coffee was good and strong and the food was even better.

this place has the best wait staff i have ever seen. the teamwork between the staff and the cooks is incredible. did i mention, the kitchen is in the front of the restaurant so you watch your food being prepared.

checks are up at the cashier located at the entrance, so tables turned quickly and we did not have to wait for our check. the menu is small, comfort food, all winners.

the patrons were young and old, of every shape color and hue. additionally, the place is open 24 hours.

chef ramsay, come here and learn a few tricks

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed College Park Diner also viewed

College Park, MD
College Park, MD
 
College Park, MD
College Park, MD
 

Been to College Park Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage College Park Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.