We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First timer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of College Park Diner

College Park Diner
9206 Baltimore Avenue, College Park, College Park, MD
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 93 restaurants in College Park
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: North of Univ of Maryland
Beltsville
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“First timer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Visited this place for the first time for late breakfast. The service was quick, the waitresses were friendly and food was good. I had the Belgium waffle with scrambled eggs and turkey sausage. It's way better than any of those chain restaurants (ie, Denny's). I would definitely go back again. Be prepared to wait for a seat. The place isn't that big.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    13
    11
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Busy for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A small diner, but very busy with quick service. The food was good and the staff was very friendly. We were there for breakfast on a Sunday morning. The french toast was excellent!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“chef ramsay could learn a few tips here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

stopped in for a saturday brunch, a had a few doughts, the place looks like a old howard johnson's from the outside, but we were starving.

as we were going to our seats we noticed two cildren giggling with delight over their hot chocolate. as soon we sat down, our waitress promptly delivered our menus and took our drink orders. we placed our order, and shortly thereafter our food arrived. the coffee was good and strong and the food was even better.

this place has the best wait staff i have ever seen. the teamwork between the staff and the cooks is incredible. did i mention, the kitchen is in the front of the restaurant so you watch your food being prepared.

checks are up at the cashier located at the entrance, so tables turned quickly and we did not have to wait for our check. the menu is small, comfort food, all winners.

the patrons were young and old, of every shape color and hue. additionally, the place is open 24 hours.

chef ramsay, come here and learn a few tricks

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Va
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Get the omelettes they are to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

That said I should lay out some other recommendations
1. AVOID THE NON-BREAKFAST FOODS AT ALL COSTS!! it is substandard fare and not really up to par with the rest of the menu.
2. If you need to use the restroom don't be shocked to find sexually explicit graffiti in the bathroom as it was there when I first ate there and last ate there
3. Go at night that is when the food is best
4. Bring a spare tummy as you will be pretty full by the time you stop eating.

The lady at the grill really knows what shes doing and the place serves breakfast for dinner which is a win :D

This place looks unassuming and is very easy to miss so if you are considering eating here KEEP YOUR EYES PEELED as you're driving
The staff are very friendly but the decor is very cheesy.

If I am ever in the area again I will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We arrived after 9 pm and it was mostly empty, but that changed fast and three more tables filled up. The staff were clearly accustomed to picking up the pace. The waitress didnt miss a beat and service overall was excellent. Between us we had steak, grilled chicken, and one of the lunch sandwiches. Everyone was pleased with their food, and we would definitely come back. The waitress also told us about the area. This is a very good option if you don't want the usual chain restaurant experience and prefer some local flavor.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed College Park Diner also viewed

 
College Park, MD
College Park, MD
 
College Park, MD
College Park, MD

Been to College Park Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage College Park Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.