We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, tasty Greek food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plato's Diner

Plato's Diner
7150 Baltimore Ave, College Park, MD 20740-3628
301-779-7070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 93 restaurants in College Park
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Friendly service, tasty Greek food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Very enjoyable break from working at Archives 2 in College Park (and much, much better than the Archives 2 cafeteria!). Old style diner with comfortable booth and very efficient and friendly waitress. Lots of choices on the menu both American and Greek food. Generous portions, although a bit pricier than I expected from a diner. Enjoyed the Greek salad and chocolate cake with chocolate mousse mouse!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    11
    15
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
HYATTSVILLE
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Worth a try!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a very understated, non-glitzy diner. The food is not superb but is very satisfying and filling. We've enjoyed it for breakfast and found it ok for dinner but not so good that we've rushed to go back. The atmosphere is relaxed and would be nice for a family of for a low-key lunch with a friend

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Typical diner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We arrived for a late dinner (after 10pm). Service was a little slow but the food was good. Being a college town, the prices were a little on the high side. I would return again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Diner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Extensive menu, great greek food, delicious desserts, and kid friendly. I have been here a few times and have never had anything I didn't like. Prepare to leave with left overs and desserts to go because there is so much food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Below Average Food, Silly PricesFraudulent website”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Not worth the visit. Bad dinner food at high prices. Staff is rude. This isn't authentic anything, Greek or otherwise. Too many quality choices nearby to put up with this. Yuck!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plato's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Plato's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plato's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.