We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run for your life” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9020 Baltimore Ave., College Park, MD 20740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Newport News, VA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Run for your life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

This was by far one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. The location was close to the U of Md but that's the only plus I can give it. The rooms were dark and dingy, the ice machine did not work on floor we were on and when we tried to find another, that was a SCARY experience. Unsavory characters hanging out inside and outside the hotel. We were fortunate to only have a 1 night stay and we ran for our lives the next morning! Find accommodations elsewhere and save yourself!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    38
    39
    18
    19
See reviews for
53
15
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Pros:
Receptionist was very helpful and guided us on how we can plan our site seeing of DC
Free shuttle to the nearby metro
Free breakfast

Cons:
No bulbs in shades in room
Coffee maker didnt work in the room
Microwave also didnt work

  • Liked — Shuttle to metro
  • Disliked — Improper elec gadgets
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

I stayed here for a night while touring colleges with my son. Hotel was a little worn but just fine for what we paid. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast that was included even boasted waffles! My two complaints were the wireless internet service (which, while free, was very slow when multiple patrons were using it) and the air conditioner that was so loud I had to turn it off to sleep. Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

This hotel is not great. Don't expect it to be like the Hilton or anything. With that said, I paid $52.00 for the room on hotels.com for 8 nights and overall I was pleased with my stay. They have wireless internet - a little slow - bit it works. The room was fairly clean and so was the bathroom. The Desk could have used some improving... just a very small table. You get a nice tv, coffee machine, great air-conditioning. I could have used another power outlet and another light. But really. for the price, the location, you know what you are getting and therefore this place was a good value. I'd stay again if I couldn't afford the Hilton (which I can't.)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

I stayed here for 6 nights in December while doing work at the National Archives. The positives: Very close to the Archives with a free shuttle departing 8 am and returning 4:30. Cheap! My room wa $79/night.

The hotel is pretty run down in the public areas. My room, while clean enough, was a bit shabby-chipped paint, ragged carpet. There was plenty of pillows and good water pressure in the shower. The heating/cooling system in the room was a wall unit that seemed to have two speeds - blasts of hot air or blasts of cold air. I did not partake of the free contintental breakfast, though I checked it out one day - very basic cereals, donuts, juice and coffee.

There are two gentlemen who work the front desk who are most helpful and efficient. The woman who works at night is unhelpful (could or would not tell me what restaurants if any were nearby) and curt.

  • Liked — Free Wireless Internet
  • Disliked — Shabbiness
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2008

Booked this hotel because it was close to the University of Maryland. It is not walkable because you have to cross an expressway. The Quality Inn is walkable to the University. The staff was very friendly. I had booked a room for 2 nights. I booked a non-smoking room. When we walked into the room it smelled like stale smoke. During the night I had a severe allergic reaction to the room. In the morning I let the staff know about the room. The staff was very polite offering to change my room. I was afraid it would be the same, so I checked out and stayed at another hotel. It was a nice clean hotel, decent breakfast, mostly carbs and fresh fruit. I would not recommend if you have any allergies.

  • Liked — Clean, Breakfast
  • Disliked — Not recommended if you have allergies, Fitness equipment was run down or not working
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

Despite of other reactions on this website, we had a good experience at this hotel.

Room was clean and very spacious, and the staff was extremely helpful, especially the lady with the dreadlocks. She showed us were to park the car, to take the Metro to Washington and some other tips.

We stayed there for two nights, and did not experience any problems at all. Not with the staff, not with the room.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Hotel shutlle to trains stopped at 4 pm
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 9020 Baltimore Ave., College Park, MD 20740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Expedia and HostelBookers so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel College Park
Comfort Inn College Park
College Park Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.