We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service means so much.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of College Park Hotel & Suites near Univ. of Maryland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added College Park Hotel & Suites near Univ. of Maryland to your Saves list
College Park Hotel & Suites near Univ. of Maryland
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9020 Baltimore Ave, College Park, MD 20740 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Laramie, Wyoming, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service means so much.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were in College Park for National History Day and stayed at this Comfort Inn for 5 days. The place was packed with kids, parents and teachers as were other venues in the city. This Comfort Inn would deserve 3 stars for average if it weren't for the how helpful and kind the staff were.. When I got there with my grandson, I was dismayed to get a room that had a mildew smell, One of the managers,, Bryan, I think, immediately did a computer search, which was difficult because there were so many rooms booked. He gave us a different room, but the air conditioner rattled. I came down to ask for a change. He got another man to help with a computer search, and found a room, but before giving it to me, he went upstairs to check it out first. It was a clean, comfortable room with good beds and a good shower. The two young women, Lana and another at the desk, both new were really sweet.. Then when I was in a rush to catch the metro to go to Reagan Intl., I got ready to get out of the motel van and couldn't find my wallet. The driver drove me back to the motel where Darius,, another manager, helped me look all over the lobby and gave me a bottle of water. It turned out that my wallet was on the floor of the van and the driver raced me back to the metro. By now, the reader probably thinks I'm a bit wacky, but National History Day is quite stressful and the team at the motel were really supportive. Thanks guys! If any of my grand kids place again, I'll be back - and I do have to mention that my 12 year old grand daugthter and her partner placed first in the nation in junior group performance.

Room Tip: first floor problematic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0le1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CICOLLEGEPARK, Front Office Manager at College Park Hotel & Suites near Univ. of Maryland, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Thanks for the great feedback and we so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable on your return.


Darrius West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Edgewood, New Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at the is hotel for 5 nights for National History Day competition at University of Maryland. The rooms were clean and quiet and large enough for four adults. We were on the backside of the hotel which had a beautiful view of a river and wooded walking trail. We had a car and the hotel is close to the metro. They provide a shuttle to the metro and university but it usually had a line waiting so glad we had the car. During the weekend, the hotel was full and they provided another room for breakfast. Even with that the server got overwhelmed but I saw the office staff and manager come out to help. The staff was very friendly and helpful!!! We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CICOLLEGEPARK, Front Office Manager at College Park Hotel & Suites near Univ. of Maryland, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Thanks for the great feedback and we so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable on your return

Darrius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Pros: Close to interstate and DC, price was good
Cons: Rooms are dirty and old, bathrooms are small and under equipped, poor temperature control, breakfast is terrible, pool was not open, kids were afraid of bed bugs
We arrived about 10:00 pm and left for DC early the next morning. I voiced all of my concerns before leaving for DC hoping to arrive back that night to a "fresh" room. When we arrived back late that night, the bed had been made. That was it. I expressed my concerns again that night and the next morning when we left. I gave my number to the clerk who assured me the manager would call and adjust our bill for the inconvience. One week later when we returned home, still no call from manager and credit card had been charged full amount.
I called the hotel and spoke to the manager. Supposedly, this was the first time he had heard of the concerns. My credit card was was adjusted for one night. I truly feel that both nights should have been refunded back to my credit card. The hotel was just that bad!

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CICOLLEGEPARK, Front Office Manager at College Park Hotel & Suites near Univ. of Maryland, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We would like to apologize for the issues you faced as a guest at our hotel. There is no explanation for this type of service. We had a meeting and explained to the staff how one mistake could make the difference with our hotel guest experience. The staff and I really care about our guest and we want every guest to feel that the money and time was well worth it.


Darrius West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these College Park hotels

Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We like that this hotel is right near a park and walking trail and welcomes our medium-size dog (over the required limit). The staff is friendly, the breakfast pretty good. We had a suite this time which a bit expensive but was nice and roomy with two bathrooms. It is a bit hard to enter the hotel from the opposite side of the road due to traffic. It is close to the university, restaurants, and the Metro.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenmaryf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CICOLLEGEPARK, Director of Sales at College Park Hotel & Suites near Univ. of Maryland, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us, we’re happy to hear you enjoyed it. Thank you, we look forward to your return!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I loved the breakfast, the quiet neighborhood, the linens and bathroom is clean and lastly the convenience to the University where i was taking a 3 week course. Would return and recommend this place as it is pocket friendly for the standards that they have.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsKeshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CICOLLEGEPARK, Sales Manager at College Park Hotel & Suites near Univ. of Maryland, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
The staff and I wish to thank you for staying with us and giving us a chance to leave a lasting impression on you. If perhaps you are ever in our area again please feel free to make our hotel your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesconset, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

we stayed at this hotel for a college visit to U of MD on 4/19/13. its appearance matched the other choices in this neighborhood. a bit outdated, somewhat depressing, but adequate for one night. the clerk seemed tired and robotic, but not rude. i was looking for a complimentary cup of coffee that this chain is known for, but there was none. we made some in the room but poured out most of it because i can't stand powered creamer.

our room was clean, but dark and dingy. the sheets on the bed were made in such a way that they only came up to my waist so i spent the entire night tugging up on them, to no avail. bathroom was clean, with enough towels and minmal toiletries, though we brought our own.

breakfast was ok- made a waffle, slice of bacon and an apple.

this establishment is not luxurious by any means but was fine for a place to sleep overnight.
our exciting tour of the campus made up for what the hotel lacked.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TamEis8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CICOLLEGEPARK, Sales Manager at College Park Hotel & Suites near Univ. of Maryland, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide your feedback regarding your stay with us. Our goal is provide 100% guest satisfaction and we did not meet that with you. We hope that you can accept our apologies. We appreciate your business and wish that we could have provided a better stay for you and your family.

Thank you again for your providing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Decent enough for brief visit to Univ of MD College Park. Functional and charmless. Room was clean and very basic. We had 1 BR suite. First room we were given smelled of smoke - front desk had no issue moving us to another identical suite. King bedroom had ensuite full bath, and living room with sleep sofa had half bath. Sleep sofa had no pillows. Half bath had no towels, and only 2 sets in master. There were three of us and upon request, front desk delivered another set of towels first night. When we returned to hotel second nite, there were again just two sets of towels. We returned to front desk and got another set. They didn't have any extra pillows for the sleep sofa. Not sure how this is possible, but we made two requests and got same answer each time. Our room faced the road and was pretty noisy with sirens overnight.

Breakfast is included and is also functional and basic. The very basic workout room has one treadmill, one bicycle and one elliptical but only one power cord so only one person can work out at a time. There is one multi-function weight machine, and seems to be missing attachments, and no instructions/charts for using it. No weights, no bench.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the main road are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arc18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CICOLLEGEPARK, Sales Manager at College Park Hotel & Suites near Univ. of Maryland, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will return to us when you’re in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near College Park
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 11 in College Park
3.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 11 in College Park
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#5 of 11 in College Park
3.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to College Park Hotel & Suites near Univ. of Maryland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Park Hotel & Suites near Univ. of Maryland

Address: 9020 Baltimore Ave, College Park, MD 20740 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — College Park Hotel & Suites near Univ. of Maryland 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The College Park Hotel & Suites near Univ. of Maryland is less than one mile from the University of Maryland in College Park. Other nearby attractions include NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center, Georgetown University, Lake Artemesia Natural Area park, Laurel Park horse racetrack, and Riversdale historic house and museum. Washington D.C. and Georgetown University are only 10 miles away, and downtown Baltimore and Annapolis are also easily accessible by nearby highways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your College Park Hotel & Suites near Univ. of Maryland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel College Park
Comfort Inn College Park
College Park Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing