We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an excellent local pub / restaurant . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Hart Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The White Hart Inn to your Saves list
The White Hart Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Enbourne Road, Hamstead Marshall, Newbury RG20 0HW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Newbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“What an excellent local pub / restaurant . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I am unable to comment on the hotel side of The White Hart as I only live a couple of miles down the road, so in a way it could be termed "my local". .
However, we have now had several meals there and enjoyed each one, the fish chips and peas are excellent, beautifully served, very well presented upon the plate. Very tasty, good value for money . . The sausages and mash, Fantastic . . The fish pie, scrumptious.
During the meal the chef came to the table to make sure we were enjoying our meal and was very enthusiastic about his food and cooking.
Use it as a pub and it has a nice atmosphere, friendly staff, good selection of beers. . . Best of all it has Sky Sport on the TV !!! Yahoo!! . . But this does not dominate the room as it is located in an area tucked away to one side of the bar . . . . . Sssshhhhhh . . Don't tell everyone, it will become too popular!!, . .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
What a super review! Thank you. We are just finalising the new menu now – some new country inn “classics” for you to try, alongside the ones you have already enjoyed, and our table d’hote signature dishes, as well as glorious puddings – and Chef is in the kitchen preparing it. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    29
    9
    10
    6
See reviews for
21
44
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a lovely two night stay here. We've stayed at 3 other hotels in this area, two big chain ones, but this one has been the best by far. The staff are excellent and cannot do enough for you. We decided after a delicious breakfast and a chat with the new chef on the first day to stay and eat here in the evening despite some negative reviews from friends in the area (although they did admit it was a while since they had visited) and we were not disappointed the food was gorgeous and the two young waiting staff polite and attentive. The room we stayed in was large and comfortable although the bathroom needs a little bit of updating but this is an insignificant detail in what overall was great couple of days. The staff here all seem to be working hard to make the white hart a success and we have definitely found our home from home for our visits to Newbury. See you at Easter and thank you again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Fantastic! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we provided all the comforts of the traditional country inn, just as we should. We look forward to seeing you at Easter – and bring your friends along!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Popped in here last week for a quick lunch and had a long chat with the very passionate chef, Darren. I had smoked salmon wrapped scallops with micro herbs and some clever molecular additions which looked and tasted wonderful. My friend had the duck spring rolls, they were very good and I hope I can add the pictures which will show how lovely they were. So good in fact that the party that came in after us all had what we had. Welcome to the White Hart Darren and we look forward to eating your food as soon as possible. Darren was incredibly passionate about his food which is always a good sign.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed lunch. Come in soon and try our new menu – some new country inn “classics”, alongside the ones you have already enjoyed, and our table d’hote signature dishes, as well as glorious puddings. We look forward to your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-le-Clay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This lovely old Inn provided the perfect backdrop for Christmas stay, decorated with flair, The open log fire provided warmth and atmosphere whilst overnight cooked beef was perfection. We stayed overnight in one of the spacous family rooms which was tastefully decorated with all the expected facilities of a four star Hotel,lovely hot water and large towels,looking forward to a return visit to indulge in more of the Menu choices

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We can’t wait to welcome you back! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much; just as we want it to be. Don’t wait for next Christmas – we’ve got a super Winter Weekend breaks offer plus a terrific Mothering Sunday lunch coming up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I went for for supper on Valentine's Day. The place looked good, the staff were very welcoming and the food was delicious. Darren, the chef, may only have been there a few weeks, but he certainly can cook. They had put together a very interesting and varied menu for the occasion, and the staff were very attentive and discreet. It was an excellent evening and excellent value. We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
What a lovely review of our Valentine’s evening. Thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back to The White Hart Inn very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were fortunate enough to spend our evening here on Valentine's Day. The Inn is in a beautiful location with ample parking and there is a large log fire in the lovely bar. Wonderful food, beautifully presented and very polite and welcoming staff. We will be returning shortly for sure. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our Valentine’s evening. We are delighted you enjoyed your evening, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The White Hart Inn very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Just had lunch, absolutely smashing. Lovely afterburst of flavours. New chef attentive to detail and keen to please. Only been there for 10 days but will soon make his mark. A must if you are nearby and/or well worth a trip.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of lunch at The White Hart Inn. We are delighted you enjoyed it – exactly as you should! – and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Inn

Address: Enbourne Road, Hamstead Marshall, Newbury RG20 0HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury > Hamstead Marshall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hamstead Marshall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16Th-century coaching inn located in the historic village of Hamstead Marshall, The White Hart Inn is a 10-minute drive from both Newbury and Hungerford.Open throughout the day from 11.30Am, The White Hart Inn offers you a warm welcome and all the comforts of a traditional country inn, including outstanding pub food "classics", fantastic beers and wines and nine delightfully comfortable bedrooms. Food and drink features locally sourced and free-range produce, wherever possible, making the best use of seasonal availability.With simple decor and a modern bathroom, each room also has a flat-screen TV and facilities for making tea and coffee. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the building. A classic full English breakfast is provided each morning in the charming and relaxed inn.Heathrow Airport is around 45 minutes' drive from The White Hart Inn. Both Highclere Castle and Donnington Castle are a few miles away, and The Living Rainforest is about 10 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The White Hart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel Newbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Hart Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.