We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Plans Turn Into Great Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlos Italian Bistro

Carlos Italian Bistro
9926 York Rd, Cockeysville, MD 21030 (Formerly Carlos Italian bistro)
+1 410-667-0002
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carlos Italian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 87 Restaurants in Cockeysville
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Vegetarian, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Church Lane Shopping Center
Transit: MTA #9 bus line (across from Cockeysville Target) Multiple Light-rail access
Description: In the early 1970's, Carlo and Felicia Schiattarella ventured from their small town in Naples, Italy & opened a quaint carryout pizzeria. Three decades later, The Schiattarella family is proudly introducing their 3rd full service restaurant in MD. Come join us for a delectable experience at Carlo's Italian Bistro and enjoy authentic, mouth watering Southern Italian cuisine. We take pride in serving top quality veal, chicken, seafood and shellfish specialties, along with salads, subs and sandwiches. With all of our menu items made fresh to order, we can gladly accommodate any dietary needs and preferences. Our casually elegant dining room is a perfect setting for a romantic dinner, friendly get-together or business luncheon, along with plenty of space for large parties & gatherings. Although we do not have a liquor license, we encourage our guests to bring their own alcoholic beverages to complete their dining experience.
Owings Mills, MD
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Last Minute Plans Turn Into Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Other plans for dinner went astray and we turned to Carlos Italian Bistro. The two couples shared the Garlic Shrimp appetizer which was wonderful--kept sopping up the sauce with our bread. Menu is extensive with lots of old favorites covering a wide range of Italian choices. After a side salad with a nice house dressing we moved on to our entrees which came from the specials offered that evening, the veal with lump crab hit the spot. The pasta that came with the meal along with my entree featured a vodka rose sauce (I believe). Service was prompt and professional. We skipped a sweet ending to our meal as we were full. As General MacArthur said we shall return--In our case back for another excellent meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Towson, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent once again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

A quiet Thursday evening, 7/3, when we returned yet again to Carlo's. July 4th is the next day. Kim, our waitress gave excellent and informed service. Water, bread, butter or oil delivered right away. Carlo's is BYOB. We brought a bottle of red, bottle of white, not knowing what dishes we'd choose. Opened the white to go with the mussels (which came in the usual delicious white wine sauce). House salad (that usually comes with mains) was ample and delicious. My wife had the veal francaise, while I had my favorite dish at Carlo's, chicken francaise. Both dishes were superb. The veal was soft enough to cut with a fork as was the chicken. Did I mention the Tartufo (called The Bombe) & delicious cappuchino? Carlo's = best Italian food in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A New Restaurant Experience for Me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Ambiance was lovely, service was excellent, so many yummy items on the menu that it was hard to choose....

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a great place to go and chill on a Saturday night. Great Italian food and BYOB. The have specials and regular menu items. All are great and fresh. Carlo is the chef. This is a special place and you need to go. Reservations are suggested. My wife and i go here on a regular basis. Expect to drop around $70.00 but it is worth every penny. The service is outstanding and we have a favorite server. I won't call him a waiter because he is more than that.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Italian Food in Suburban Baltimore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Haven't reviewed Carlo's [on Yelp] for several months though we've eaten there about 7 times since March. So what's new? First, service staff numbers seem to be increasing. I'd say the many menu choices have improved BUT they've were GREAT to begin with. Carlo's is BYOB, $4.00 service chg. per bottle opened. Mussels portion is dynamite, with small, sweet, and delicious mussels in a tasty white sauce. My wife had a shrimp/veal/ penne combo which was excellent and I had the usual [Chicken Francaise] which is so good, I find hard to order other dishes, but when I do, I'm never disappointed. Did I mention the Tartufo for dessert?? Try it, you'll love it! Nadji, our waiter, timed the course servings perfectly...not too fast, not too slow. Great meal!
By the way, good-to-excellent restaurants should also be judged by their consistency. Carlo's gets an A+.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlos Italian Bistro also viewed

 
Cockeysville, MD
 

Been to Carlos Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlos Italian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.