We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dangerous roads into Washington DC attractions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Andrews A.F.B.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Andrews A.F.B. to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Andrews A.F.B.
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7851 Malcolm Rd., Clinton, MD 20735   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clinton
chertsey
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Dangerous roads into Washington DC attractions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

The hotel was good and clean with helpful staff situated on the outskirts of Washington DC. Breakfast is basic

Extreme caution needs to be exercised when driving into Washington DC attractions as 3 attempts were made to run us off the road and mug us. Gang culture is present at every inter-section and along the streets on ALL approach roads to the capital including that of Congress Library and Supreme Courts. Local Americans have told me that this is the same on ALL approach roads to the capital

Whilst we felt relatively safe within the confines of the hotel we did not feel safe enough to eat in the restaurants nearby after our experience in Washington

I have no complaints whatsoever about the hotel and genuinely felt that it was good value for money

Room Tip: Do not drive into Washington DC - take a cab and pick up an organised sight seeing tour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luvnthebeach71, Director of Sales at Econo Lodge Andrews A.F.B., responded to this review, January 27, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We aren't sure what roads you took into DC but assure you the roads we direct our guest to take to visit DC are extremely safe. We would love to see you back again soon and will be happy to print out directions into Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
1
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Look at reviews of this hotel, I was excited to stay because of such a good price. All of the reviews praised cleanliness. Do not let those deceive you. Walking in the receptionist was very friendly. I went to my room and sat on my bed I immediately noticed a Reese's cup wrapper by the bed. At closer look I noticed the carpet had not been vacuumed in a while. Splatters of unknown food items all over the wall. Carpet was stained. Blood stains on the linens. We're cleaned. But stained. The walls are PAPER THIN. Breakfast was a joke. All in all I wouldn't recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luvnthebeach71, Director of Sales at Econo Lodge Andrews A.F.B., responded to this review, September 22, 2014
I regret that we did not live up to the high standards we set for the hotel and we deliver on a daily basis. The deficiencies you noted were corrected immediately and quality assurance review was conducted with all parties involved. Thank for bringing the issues to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

An overall good stay for the price. Check in was quick and easy. Service desk was pleasant and friendly. Room was clean and comfortable. For the price, is was a very, very good stay. I would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luvnthebeach71, Director of Sales at Econo Lodge Andrews A.F.B., responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to say such kind words about our hotel. We have worked very hard trying to provide the best customer service we can to our guests and it means so much to us, when a guest takes the time to give us a great review. We hope to see you again soon..and again, thank you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with a small group of students. I must say for an Econo Lodge it was very nice. The rooms were great & comfortable. The kids enjoyed it and the staff was wonderful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thanks for the wonderful stay

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luvnthebeach71, Director of Sales at Econo Lodge Andrews A.F.B., responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. We strive to make every guest experience a great one. We truly enjoy have groups stay with us and thank you for choosing our hotel for your group experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I was visiting a sick friend a local hospital and needed a place to stay. I can't express how nice my room was at this hotel. Modern design, very clean, and the mattress was so comfortable. The staff was so helpful and friendly and I got a great rate. I was informed that the hotel is under new management and are really trying to spread the word about the their renovations, so I thought by putting my opinion on here, it might help. I will stay here again because my friend will be in the hospital for a month or two.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luvnthebeach71, Director of Sales at Econo Lodge Andrews A.F.B., responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Kathy,
Thank you so much for your great review, we really have worked so hard to make every guest experience a wonderful one. We are so pleased you liked our new renovated rooms. We hope to see you again soon...and again, thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is a moderately priced hotel in the area, and is fairly basic in appearance and comfort. The staff is outstanding--willing to help with any problems. Parking was cloe to the building and well lighted.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The place was over priced.The hotel lacked a lot. The staff was awesome!!!!
They carried my stuff upstairs while rest of my crew were at work. Always happy to bring towels. They went out of their way to be helpful even got pans and dishes for the kitchenette.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Andrews A.F.B.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Andrews A.F.B.

Address: 7851 Malcolm Rd., Clinton, MD 20735
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Clinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Andrews A.F.B. 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Andrews A.F.B. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clinton Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Clinton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Andrews A.F.B., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.