We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the worst but not the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Colony South

Save Saved
You added Colony South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colony South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7401 Surratts Road, Clinton, MD 20735   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Clinton
North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not the worst but not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here in August 2014. Rooms were clean but very dated and beat up. Bed was great, and one friendly maid. Our meals were a part of the business trip and they were mediocre at best; I had to ask for condiments. Exercise classes were $10 a person, normally if you are a guest they are free? Not much in this area as far as eating establishments; you better have a car when you come. I guess being from the south I am used to meeting friendly people and you have to look hard to find them here. When I would say "thank you", they looked at me as if i had grown an additional nose.

Room Tip: Ask for a front view room with a porch and rockers. Also request to not be near the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
6
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The location is an easy commute into DC with free shuttle services to the metro. The beds were comfortable. Those are the only positive amenities!!!! The pictures are very misleading!! Room was never cleaned. Pool not open, and bar closes when it wants not on scheduled hours. We let management know so that they were aware of the problem. Felt they were not really concerned or worried about fixing these problems for future guest. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clinton hotels

Peru, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The first room they assigned us to have a smoke alarm that kept getting activated. The front desk and security told us it was normal for the moisture to trigger it. After the third time we demanded to be moved to another room.

The breakfast is terrible. The alleged buffet consists of three items. The pool and hot tub were not working. The bar closes at 10 but when we went into it at 9:15 we were told it was closed.

They never cleaned our room or made the bed. This place is terrible in the photos are misleading.

Every one of the terrible reviews is accurate. Stay away!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is worth the money. I came to DC for an internship during the summer and wasn't quite sure if this hotel would meet my needs. After all, I didn't know where Clinton, MD was and I needed direct access to the metro in order to get back and forth to work. I called the hotel and the front desk staff was extremely friendly; the receptionist made me less apprehensive when she told me that the hotel had free shuttle service to the metro station at Branch Avenue. This was great. I checked into my room and didn't find any problems. It was clean, spacious and had water pressure in the shower. The rooms come equipped with a coffee pot, mini fridge and microwave. The housekeeping staff is really nice. I ate at the restaurant bar one night while I was there because they had $.50 wings on sale. The wings weren't the best but you can't beat that price. Students, summer interns, working professionals, families: this hotel is for you. I got a great on Hotwire for a week and it was less than $500. You won't find better value anywhere else in the city.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is beautiful. There is an indoor pool. They even have water aerobics. Outside there is a sitting area and in the back there is a patio area with a grill, tables with umbrellas and a small pond. It was a great place to stay.Easy access to DC without the hassle of parking. They have shuttle service to take you to the metro and they will pick you up there as well. Metro takes you right to DC, baseball stadium, waterfront, etc. Room was very clean. Staff very friendly. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is beautiful inside and out, nice elegance in a convenient location - very close to DC, NASA, Six Flags, and other surrounding attractions on the DC beltway. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Beds are okay - double beds are a bit small and the mattresses could be better but beds are good enough for a good night's sleep. Breakfast is not necessarily included free with your room, ask about offers because the breakfast is very nice in the hotel restaurant but need pay if you don't have it included free. No worries because at the next exit down the road there are many places to eat including Starbucks, etc. Hotel has a pool and gym, free wi-fi and complimentary "business area" with printer but there is only one computer. Staff are very friendly and attentive, especially Angeline in housekeeping - very personable. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

In lack of better accomodation we booked this hotel 2 days prior to arrival. We stayed two nights. Check in was motel standard. Ordinary.

The rooms are clean and nice. No complaints there. The side door (into the hotel) card swipers does not work.

We decided to have breakfast at the hotel the first day. This was the most awkward experience ever. The hotel charges you 7 something dollars per person for the so called breakfast buffé. Apparently you can get coupons from the front desk, but this was not mentioned at check in. Anyway, the breakfast itself was extremly poor. This is what you get from the buffé: eggs, sauseage, toast, butter. THIS IS IT! Federal prisoners get more on their breakfast plate than what is offered at the "buffé". And the food itself tasted like microwaved goo. And for all this, the staff expected a tip. SERIOUSLY?!

If you are staying at this motel/hotel eat your breakfast elsewhere!

Also beware of the dresscode policy at this facility certain days of the week.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony South

Address: 7401 Surratts Road, Clinton, MD 20735
Location: United States > Maryland > Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Gateway to the Nation's Capital and all Southern Maryland has to offer The Colony features over 195 guest rooms and suites, which are spacious and newly decorated, just minutes from Andrews, Fed-Ex Field, Washington DC, Six Flags and more.With an indoor Pool, Spa and fitness center, you can end the day enjoying a relaxing and sumptuous dining experience in our Wayfarer Restaurant, enjoying a cocktail while listening to live bands in our Decoy Lounge, or begin the day with a fresh cup of coffee & pastry in the morning offered by our Cafe. The primary choice in our region for Weddings and Catered events our elegant Cotillion Ballroom is the perfect setting for a corporate business meeting or the most delicate and beautiful wedding featuring over 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for any type of event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Colony South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony South Clinton
Colony South Hotel Clinton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.